Eleanor Beardsley http://wamc.org en Moscow Answers Ukrainian Offensive With Warning Of Its Own http://wamc.org/post/moscow-answers-ukrainian-offensive-warning-its-own Russian foreign minister Sergei Lavrov said his country would respond if its citizens or interests came under attack in Ukraine. At the same time, the interim Ukrainian government has called for a new offensive on pro-Russia militants holed up in government buildings across eastern Ukraine. Western diplomats are scrambling to find a way to de-escalate the crisis. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 20:21:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 88865 at http://wamc.org Amid Ukraine's Faltering Hopes For Peace, Biden Speaks In Kiev http://wamc.org/post/amid-ukraines-faltering-hopes-peace-biden-speaks-kiev Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Vice President Joe Biden warned Russia today that it must join in efforts to reduce tensions in Ukraine. Biden was in Ukraine's capital, Kiev, and it looks like last week's international agreement to disarm militant groups in that country is failing. Ukrainian president says the security service will resume an anti-terrorist operation following the discovery of two bodies in eastern Ukraine. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 88772 at http://wamc.org Eastern Ukraine Town Sent Reeling After Checkpoint Killings http://wamc.org/post/eastern-ukraine-town-sent-reeling-after-checkpoint-killings The killing of three people at a checkpoint in the eastern Ukrainian city of Slaviansk has increased tension in the town, where a government building is being occupied by pro-Moscow militants. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 20:05:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 88678 at http://wamc.org Ukraine's Divide, Too Broad For Easter To Bridge? http://wamc.org/post/ukraines-divide-may-be-too-broad-easter-bridge Transcript <p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR News. I'm Rachel Martin. Ukraine celebrates Easter today as a divided country. Last week, world leaders met in Geneva to try to tamp down the crisis and end the occupation of government buildings by pro-Russian militants. So far, nothing has happened. Hoping the holiday will calm tensions, Ukraine's interim defense minister called an Easter truce. But despite their common faith, many feel the divide between Ukrainians in the east and west may be too large to heal. Sun, 20 Apr 2014 12:07:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 88588 at http://wamc.org Despite Easter 'Truce,' Standoff In Ukraine Appears Steadfast http://wamc.org/post/despite-easter-truce-standoff-ukraine-appears-steadfast In the Ukrainian city of Donetsk, the opposing camps seem increasingly entrenched, despite a diplomatic effort to ease tensions. Pro-Russian forces refuse to leave occupied buildings and public squares in the east. It's an uneasy Easter weekend and neither side is willing to budge. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 21:09:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 88581 at http://wamc.org Both Sides Dig In Their Heels Over Crimea Crisis http://wamc.org/post/both-sides-dig-their-heels-over-crimea-crisis Ukraine shares a long history with Russia, but the latest crisis is driving a wedge between the two countries and reinforcing a sense of national identity among many Ukrainians. Sun, 06 Apr 2014 15:22:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 87551 at http://wamc.org A Culture Of Unchecked Abuse Thrives In Ukraine And Crimea http://wamc.org/post/culture-unchecked-abuse-thrives-ukraine-and-crimea <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F5GeBpZ5VHY</p> Sun, 23 Mar 2014 16:00:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 86498 at http://wamc.org A Culture Of Unchecked Abuse Thrives In Ukraine And Crimea As Russia And The West Trade Shots Across The Bow, Kiev Looks On http://wamc.org/post/russia-and-west-trade-shots-across-bow-kiev-looks Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>The U.S. and Europe imposed new sanctions on Russian leaders today in response to Russia's takeover of Crimea. The Russians responded with their own sanctions. The country's foreign minister accused Kiev of organizing attacks on Russian speakers in eastern Ukraine. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 20:36:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 86318 at http://wamc.org For Crimea, Split From Ukraine Would Be Complicated And Costly http://wamc.org/post/crimea-split-ukraine-would-be-complicated-and-costly Crimea is a poor region, heavily subsidized by Kiev, and gets all its gas, water and food from Ukraine. Russia doesn't even have a land link with the Crimean peninsula and absorbing it will affect banks, schools, tourism and pensions for residents. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 08:31:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 86251 at http://wamc.org Kiev Mobilizes Thousands Of Troops, Preparing For Worst http://wamc.org/post/kiev-mobilizes-thousands-troops-preparing-worst The Ukrainian parliament has voted to mobilize 40,000 reservists as Kiev tries to beef up its military following the referendum in Crimea. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 20:09:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 86036 at http://wamc.org