Deborah Amos http://wamc.org en Iran's Culture Wars: Who's Winning These Days? http://wamc.org/post/irans-culture-wars-whos-winning-these-days In Iran, hardline critics are waging a campaign against President Hassan Rouhani to limit his campaign pledge of opening Iran to more social and cultural freedoms.<p>The "culture wars" are as old as the Islamic revolution that swept conservative clerics to power more than three decades ago. The latest chapter comes as Rouhani is negotiating a nuclear deal with six world powers. Sat, 12 Apr 2014 13:04:00 +0000 Deborah Amos 88060 at http://wamc.org Iran's Culture Wars: Who's Winning These Days? Iranians Begin To Feel The Heavy Burden Of Syria's War http://wamc.org/post/iranians-begin-feel-heavy-burden-syrias-war The Syrian civil war has been a major headache for President Obama. Critics at home and abroad, like Saudi Arabia, where the president was on Friday, have urged the U.S. to do more.<p>But the U.S. isn't the only country that's faced difficult choices over Syria. Iran and Syria have been close allies for decades. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 20:32:00 +0000 Deborah Amos 86949 at http://wamc.org Iranians Begin To Feel The Heavy Burden Of Syria's War Viral Photo Of Syrian War Victims Comes To Times Square http://wamc.org/post/viral-photo-syrian-war-victims-comes-times-square <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PLp_2QU1nmY</p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 20:36:00 +0000 Deborah Amos 86319 at http://wamc.org A Syrian Refugee Camp With Girl Scouts And A Safeway Store http://wamc.org/post/syrian-refugee-camp-girl-scouts-and-safeway-store On a sunny afternoon in the dusty, overcrowded Zaatari refugee camp in Jordan, a group of Syrian girls recites a familiar pledge and hope to change their future. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 20:17:00 +0000 Deborah Amos 86031 at http://wamc.org A Syrian Refugee Camp With Girl Scouts And A Safeway Store Syrian Conflict Marches Into Fourth Year http://wamc.org/post/syrian-conflict-marches-third-year The Syrian uprising started three years ago this week with protests and eventually a military crackdown that led to all-out civil war. More than 130,000 people have died. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 09:07:00 +0000 Deborah Amos 85978 at http://wamc.org Saudi Aid Boost To Syrian Rebels Puts Jordan At Risk http://wamc.org/post/saudi-aid-boost-syrian-rebels-puts-jordan-risk For months, a military stalemate has defined the war in Syria. Now, a new strategy is emerging as Western allies and Gulf states step up support for rebels in southern Syria.<p>Along Jordan's northern border, Syrian rebels say they are unifying their fractious ranks, urged to unite by Western and Arab intelligence operatives who work in a covert command center in Jordan's capital.<p>Rebel sources confirm pledges of stepped-up deliveries of arms and intelligence sharing. Sun, 16 Mar 2014 14:58:00 +0000 Deborah Amos 85955 at http://wamc.org Saudi Aid Boost To Syrian Rebels Puts Jordan At Risk 'Waiting For Godot' Strikes A Chord In Tehran http://wamc.org/post/waiting-godot-strikes-chord-tehran At the National Theater in downtown Tehran, "Waiting for Godot" seems to have captured the mood of a country.<p>The Irish playwright, Samuel Beckett dramatized endless waiting in vain for someone named Godot. The play, translated into Farsi, got a standing ovation on the night I attended. The characters, in classic white suits, black top hats and black shoes, took endless bows as the audience whistled and clapped.<p>Iran is also waiting. It is waiting for the outcome of negotiations with six world powers over the country's nuclear program. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 07:27:00 +0000 Deborah Amos 85829 at http://wamc.org 'Waiting For Godot' Strikes A Chord In Tehran Iranian Women Make A Push For Greater Opportunities http://wamc.org/post/iranian-women-push-tighten-gender-gap Iran is starting to see a re-launch of activist groups following the election last year of President Hassan Rouhani. Social movements were scarce after the government crushed public protests known as the Green Movement following the 2009 elections. After the decisive vote for Rouhani, a surge of hope in Iran has attracted activists back to the political arena. Iranian women, in particular, are seizing the opportunity.<p>On a recent afternoon in north Tehran, two professional women huddle with an adviser to the Ministry of Mines and Trade. Wed, 05 Mar 2014 08:08:00 +0000 Deborah Amos 85143 at http://wamc.org Iranian Women Make A Push For Greater Opportunities My (Brief) Detention By Iran's Morality Police http://wamc.org/post/my-brief-detention-irans-morality-police On my third day in Tehran last week, I was detained by Iran's notorious "morals police." This volunteer corps, with a presence in nearly every city and town, polices infractions against Islamic values. These guardians patrol parks, recreation centers, shopping malls and cafes where young people gather.<p>My introduction to the morality squad began with shouts and threats and ended with fruit juice and a hug from a lady cop in a black chador that covered bleached blond hair and a snug red leather jacket.<p>She headed the women's detention room in the gender-segregated station. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 20:52:19 +0000 Deborah Amos 85023 at http://wamc.org My (Brief) Detention By Iran's Morality Police What Comes Next In Syria? http://wamc.org/post/what-comes-next-syria For eight days, the Syrian regime and an opposition delegation sat face-to-face, but were not on speaking terms in Room 16 of the Palais des Nations in the sprawling complex of United Nations headquarters in Geneva.<p>Round one demonstrated the bitter divide with no breakthrough on the core issues of a political transition or access to humanitarian aid.<p>So what comes next?<p>An agreement to continue the talks remains on hold. The opposition delegates pledged to return to the table in early February. Sat, 01 Feb 2014 16:26:00 +0000 Deborah Amos 83055 at http://wamc.org What Comes Next In Syria?