The Academic Minute http://wamc.org en This Week on The Academic Minute http://wamc.org/post/week-academic-minute-2 <p><strong>Monday, July 21</strong><br />&nbsp;<br />Dr. Fred Jourdan of Curtin University discusses mass extinction through an analysis of ancient volcanic eruptions.<br /><br /><strong>Tuesday, July 22</strong><br />&nbsp;<br />Dr. Brian Wansink of Cornell University touts the long lasting health benefits of playing a high school sport.<br /><br /><strong>Wednesday, July 23</strong><br /><br />The University of Kansas' Dr. Paul Selden is using spider fossils to reconstruct ancient ecosystems.<br /><br /><strong>Thursday, July 24</strong><br />&nbsp; Mon, 21 Jul 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Matthew Pryce 94778 at http://wamc.org Dr. Daniel Müllensiefen, Goldsmiths, University of London – Measuring Musicality http://wamc.org/post/dr-daniel-m-llensiefen-goldsmiths-university-london-measuring-musicality <p>As with most art, musical ability and talent is difficult to measure.</p><p>However, Dr. Daniel Müllensiefen, Senior Lecturer in Psychology and co-director of the MSc in Music, Mind and Brain at Goldsmiths, University of London, is using some interesting metrics to quantify an individual's musicality.</p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Matthew Pryce 90332 at http://wamc.org Dr. Daniel Müllensiefen, Goldsmiths, University of London – Measuring Musicality Dr. Matt Lapierre, UNC Wilmington - Marketing to Kids http://wamc.org/post/dr-matt-lapierre-unc-wilmington-marketing-kids <p>There's a wide array of kid's products and videos claiming to be educational.</p><p>Matt Lapierre, assistant professor of communications at the University of North Carolina Wilmington, examines the effectiveness of marketing in spite of the lack of observable results.</p> Thu, 12 Jun 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Matthew Pryce 90331 at http://wamc.org Dr. Matt Lapierre, UNC Wilmington - Marketing to Kids Dr. Keith Humphreys, Stanford University - Alternative Tobacco Products http://wamc.org/post/dr-keith-humphreys-stanford-university-alternative-tobacco-products <p>Alternative tobacco products are on the rise.</p><p>Keith Humphreys, professor of psychiatry at Stanford University,&nbsp; discusses a form of smokeless tobacco that is catching on overseas.</p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Matthew Pryce 90330 at http://wamc.org Dr. Keith Humphreys, Stanford University - Alternative Tobacco Products Dr. Dennis O'Rourke, University of Utah - Life on the Bering Land Bridge http://wamc.org/post/dr-dennis-orourke-university-utah-life-bering-land-bridge <p>The Bering Strait is usually thought of as the migratory path whereby many of our ancestors found their way to America.</p><p>Dennis O'Rourke, professor of anthropology at the University of Utah, is hunting for clues that might indicate a people indigenous to this area.</p> Tue, 10 Jun 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Matthew Pryce 90329 at http://wamc.org Dr. Dennis O'Rourke, University of Utah - Life on the Bering Land Bridge Dr. Luis Zayas, UT Austin - Latina Suicide Rates http://wamc.org/post/dr-luis-zayas-ut-austin-latina-suicide-rates <p>One segment of the population commits suicide more than any other: Hispanics teens.</p><p>Dr. Luis Zayas, Dean of the School of Social Work at the University of Texas at Austin, shares some numbers and dissects the factors contributing to this troubling trend.</p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Matthew Pryce 90327 at http://wamc.org Dr. Luis Zayas, UT Austin - Latina Suicide Rates Dr. Julia Boehm, Chapman University - Happiness and Health http://wamc.org/post/dr-julia-boehm-chapman-university-happiness-and-health <p> Does being happy make you healthier? Is, perhaps, the inverse also true?</p><p>Dr. Julia Boehm, <span class="replace">assistant professor in psychology at Chapman University, is studying the correlation between mind and body. </span></p><p></p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Matthew Pryce 90315 at http://wamc.org Dr. Julia Boehm, Chapman University - Happiness and Health Dr. Jeremy Mould, Swinburne University of Technology - Gravity's Constant http://wamc.org/post/dr-jeremy-mould-swinburne-university-technology-gravitys-constant <p>Have the natural laws that govern the cosmos ever changed?</p><p>Dr. Jeremy Mould, professor of astrophysics and supercomputers at the Swinburne University of Technology, observes that gravity has remained unchanged for billions of years.</p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Matthew Pryce 90314 at http://wamc.org Dr. Jeremy Mould, Swinburne University of Technology - Gravity's Constant Dr. David Kaplan, Tufts University - Silk Biomedical Devices http://wamc.org/post/dr-david-kaplan-tufts-university-silk-biomedical-devices <p>Metallic screws and plates have long been used in reconstructive medical procedures.</p><p>Dr. David Kaplan, professor of biomedical engineering at Tufts University, touts the potential benefit of replacing metal with silk in these surgeries.</p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Matthew Pryce 90309 at http://wamc.org Dr. David Kaplan, Tufts University - Silk Biomedical Devices Dr. Megan Papesh, Louisiana State University - Flaws of Facial Recognition Tech http://wamc.org/post/dr-megan-papesh-louisiana-state-university-flaws-facial-recognition-tech <p>Facial recognition technology is still in its infancy.</p><p>Dr. Megan Papesh, assistant professor of psychology at Louisiana State University, is demonstrating weakness in a system many people may assume is completely secure.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Matthew Pryce 90306 at http://wamc.org Dr. Megan Papesh, Louisiana State University - Flaws of Facial Recognition Tech