Pat Bradley http://wamc.org en Vermont Unemployment Rate Drops to 3.4 Percent http://wamc.org/post/vermont-unemployment-rate-drops-34-percent <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont Department of Labor says the state's unemployment rate dropped three-tenths of a percent last month to 3.4 percent, the fourth lowest unemployment rate in the country. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88532 at http://wamc.org Vermont Unemployment Rate Drops to 3.4 Percent Pilot Parachutes from Small Plane Before Crash http://wamc.org/post/pilot-parachutes-small-plane-crash <p> Vermont State Police say the pilot of a small plane that crashed next to Interstate 89 in Highgate on Friday suffered minor injuries after parachuting out of the plane to safety. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 00:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88534 at http://wamc.org Spring Snowmelt Brings Minor Flooding To Region http://wamc.org/post/spring-snowmelt-brings-minor-flooding-region <p></p><p></p><p>Spring flooding has been occurring across the North Country this week as snowmelt runs into the region’s rivers and then flows into Lake Champlain. But most waters have receded and damage, if any, has been minor. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88531 at http://wamc.org Spring Snowmelt Brings Minor Flooding To Region Health Care Memo Stirs Critique http://wamc.org/post/health-care-memo-stirs-critique <p></p><p></p><p>As Vermont moves toward a single-payer health care system, legislators must consider numerous infrastructure and fiscal changes. This week, a memo from one of the legislature’s consultants outlining suggestions to retool the health system revamp emerged. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88493 at http://wamc.org Health Care Memo Stirs Critique Regional Police Agencies Plan Coordinated Easter Enforcement http://wamc.org/post/regional-police-agencies-plan-coordinated-easter-enforcement <p></p><p></p><p>Police agencies along the northern border will work together during Easter weekend for a joint traffic enforcement initiative. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 03:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88439 at http://wamc.org Regional Police Agencies Plan Coordinated Easter Enforcement NH Senate Refuses To Consider Marijuana Bill http://wamc.org/post/nh-senate-refuses-consider-marijuana-bill <p></p><p></p><p>New Hampshire's Senate has refused to consider a House bill that would have decriminalized possession of up to an ounce of marijuana. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 01:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88438 at http://wamc.org NH Senate Refuses To Consider Marijuana Bill Vermont Senate Committee Hears Challenge Of Opiate Treatment http://wamc.org/post/vermont-senate-committee-hears-challenge-opiate-treatment <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont lawmakers are learning of the challenges of meeting the needs of people in the state who are addicted to heroin and other drugs. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 23:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88437 at http://wamc.org Vermont Senate Committee Hears Challenge Of Opiate Treatment Committee Proposes Hard Deadline For Single-Payer Financing Plan http://wamc.org/post/committee-proposes-hard-deadline-single-payer-financing-plan <p></p><p></p><p>Some Vermont legislators are proposing to cut funding for the state’s transition to universal health care if the governor fails to provide a financial plan for the system by next January. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88436 at http://wamc.org Committee Proposes Hard Deadline For Single-Payer Financing Plan Immigrant Rights Advocates Rally In Boston Over Deportation Policy http://wamc.org/post/immigrant-rights-advocates-rally-boston-over-deportation-policy <p></p><p></p><p>Advocates, workers, and faith leaders from across New England have gathered today in Boston to rally against the rising number of deportations across the country. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 16:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88398 at http://wamc.org Immigrant Rights Advocates Rally In Boston Over Deportation Policy Shumlin Says Transportation Funds Critical http://wamc.org/post/shumlin-says-transportation-funds-critical <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont Governor Peter Shumlin is urging leaders in Congress to replenish the federal Highway Trust Fund so that Vermont can move forward with road and bridge projects that he says are critical to job growth, public safety and the health of the state. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 02:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88338 at http://wamc.org Shumlin Says Transportation Funds Critical