Karen Dewitt http://wamc.org en Moreland Fallout Continues For Cuomo http://wamc.org/post/moreland-fallout-continues-cuomo <p>A new poll finds that New York Governor Andrew Cuomo is still feeling the fallout from the demise of his Moreland Commission, a&nbsp;panel that was investigating corruption in the legislature. Cuomo disbanded the commission as part of the state budget deal. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 22:06:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 88756 at http://wamc.org Moreland Fallout Continues For Cuomo Poll Shows Cuomo Vulnerable On The Left http://wamc.org/post/poll-shows-cuomo-vulnerable-left <p>A new poll finds New York Governor Andrew Cuomo in a double-digit lead against his republican opponent for the fall elections. But the survey finds that ratio changes, if a progressive third party candidate emerges. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 09:30:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 88699 at http://wamc.org Poll Shows Cuomo Vulnerable On The Left Study Finds New Yorkers Don't Want School Mergers http://wamc.org/post/study-finds-new-yorkers-dont-want-school-mergers <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo and the legislature approved a plan in the state budget to encourage local governments and schools to merge and share services over the next few years in an attempt to lower property taxes. &nbsp;But according to a study by school administrators, attempts at school district mergers in recent years have failed, partly because the public doesn’t want them. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 22:10:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 88671 at http://wamc.org Study Finds New Yorkers Don't Want School Mergers Documents Show New York's Fracking Health Study Is Ongoing http://wamc.org/post/documents-show-new-yorks-fracking-health-study-ongoing <p>Documents obtained by a group opposed to hydrofracking in New York show that the Cuomo Administration is conducting a thorough and comprehensive health study on the controversial natural gas drilling process. The Finger Lakes-based organization is wondering, why then, the review has been conducted almost entirely in secret. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 16:14:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 88635 at http://wamc.org Documents Show New York's Fracking Health Study Is Ongoing State Gaming Commission Hears Testimony On Problem Gambling http://wamc.org/post/state-gaming-commission-hears-testimony-problem-gambling <p>The New York State Gaming Commission is holding hearings on&nbsp;the issue of gambling addiction. It is part of a process that will allow the building of up to seven new casino gambling resorts in New York over the next several years. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 20:38:13 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87821 at http://wamc.org State Gaming Commission Hears Testimony On Problem Gambling Medical Marijuana Next Big Issue In New York http://wamc.org/post/medical-marijuana-next-big-issue-new-york <p>Now that the New York State budget is done, the focus at the Capitol shifts to some other priorities, including whether to allow medical marijuana. Advocates came to the Capitol to lobby lawmakers, but the bill is getting bogged down over political skirmishes. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 20:42:13 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87740 at http://wamc.org Medical Marijuana Next Big Issue In New York Cideries Now On Menu At New York Distillery Summit http://wamc.org/post/cideries-now-menu-new-york-distillery-summit <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo Tuesday hosted a second beer, wine, spirits — and now, cider —&nbsp;&nbsp; summit to showcase one of the state’s few growth industries. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 16:04:48 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87697 at http://wamc.org Cideries Now On Menu At New York Distillery Summit New Teachers Union President Wants to Increase Union's Political Potency http://wamc.org/post/new-teachers-union-president-wants-increase-unions-political-potency <p>There is a big change at New York State’s largest teachers union. Members of New York State United Teachers elected new leadership after months of unrest over the state’s flawed roll out of the new Common Core standards. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 20:50:31 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87640 at http://wamc.org New Teachers Union President Wants to Increase Union's Political Potency Comptroller Opts Out Of Public Finance, Says Program Flawed http://wamc.org/post/comptroller-opts-out-public-finance-says-program-flawed <p>The New York State Comptroller says he won’t be participating in a new pilot public campaign finance program agreed to in the state budget, and government reform groups say, they don’t blame him. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 16:24:26 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87607 at http://wamc.org Comptroller Opts Out Of Public Finance, Says Program Flawed Anti-Corruption Panel, Moreland Commission Ends http://wamc.org/post/anti-corruption-panel-moreland-commission-ends <p>The recently enacted state budget also marks the end of a commission that was investigating corruption in the legislature. New York Governor Andrew Cuomo agreed to dismantle the Moreland Act panel as part of a deal on ethics reform. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 16:15:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87338 at http://wamc.org