Karen Dewitt http://wamc.org en State Gaming Commission Hears Testimony On Problem Gambling http://wamc.org/post/state-gaming-commission-hears-testimony-problem-gambling <p>The New York State Gaming Commission is holding hearings on&nbsp;the issue of gambling addiction. It is part of a process that will allow the building of up to seven new casino gambling resorts in New York over the next several years. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 20:38:13 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87821 at http://wamc.org State Gaming Commission Hears Testimony On Problem Gambling Medical Marijuana Next Big Issue In New York http://wamc.org/post/medical-marijuana-next-big-issue-new-york <p>Now that the New York State budget is done, the focus at the Capitol shifts to some other priorities, including whether to allow medical marijuana. Advocates came to the Capitol to lobby lawmakers, but the bill is getting bogged down over political skirmishes. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 20:42:13 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87740 at http://wamc.org Medical Marijuana Next Big Issue In New York Cideries Now On Menu At New York Distillery Summit http://wamc.org/post/cideries-now-menu-new-york-distillery-summit <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo Tuesday hosted a second beer, wine, spirits — and now, cider —&nbsp;&nbsp; summit to showcase one of the state’s few growth industries. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 16:04:48 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87697 at http://wamc.org Cideries Now On Menu At New York Distillery Summit New Teachers Union President Wants to Increase Union's Political Potency http://wamc.org/post/new-teachers-union-president-wants-increase-unions-political-potency <p>There is a big change at New York State’s largest teachers union. Members of New York State United Teachers elected new leadership after months of unrest over the state’s flawed roll out of the new Common Core standards. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 20:50:31 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87640 at http://wamc.org New Teachers Union President Wants to Increase Union's Political Potency Comptroller Opts Out Of Public Finance, Says Program Flawed http://wamc.org/post/comptroller-opts-out-public-finance-says-program-flawed <p>The New York State Comptroller says he won’t be participating in a new pilot public campaign finance program agreed to in the state budget, and government reform groups say, they don’t blame him. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 16:24:26 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87607 at http://wamc.org Comptroller Opts Out Of Public Finance, Says Program Flawed Anti-Corruption Panel, Moreland Commission Ends http://wamc.org/post/anti-corruption-panel-moreland-commission-ends <p>The recently enacted state budget also marks the end of a commission that was investigating corruption in the legislature. New York Governor Andrew Cuomo agreed to dismantle the Moreland Act panel as part of a deal on ethics reform. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 16:15:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87338 at http://wamc.org Cuomo, Leaders Admit Some Unfinished Budget Issues http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-leaders-admit-some-unfinished-budget-issues <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo and legislative leaders are touting the virtues of the newly enacted state budget, but the spending plan has its share of critics. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 20:12:55 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87200 at http://wamc.org Cuomo, Leaders Admit Some Unfinished Budget Issues Trump, Paladino Speak At Albany Gun Rally http://wamc.org/post/trump-paladino-speak-albany-gun-rally <p>Protesters gathered for a gun rally at the capitol in Albany on Tuesday, including guest speakers Donald Trump, 2010 Republican gubernatorial nominee Carl Paladino, and Westchester County Executive Rob Astorino, a Republican candidate for governor. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 19:38:07 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87196 at http://wamc.org Trump, Paladino Speak At Albany Gun Rally New York Comptroller: Finance Plan "Seriously Flawed" http://wamc.org/post/new-york-comptroller-finance-plan-seriously-flawed <p>New York State Comptroller Tom DiNapoli says a test public campaign finance plan that would apply only to his office is “seriously flawed,” and might even be unworkable.</p><p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 19:12:38 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87092 at http://wamc.org New York Comptroller: Finance Plan "Seriously Flawed" New York State Budget Finalized, Voting on Monday http://wamc.org/post/new-york-state-budget-finalized-voting-monday <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo and legislative leaders have finalized the details on a $138 billion dollar state budget and say they are on track to meet the April 1 deadline. The budget includes a multi step plan that could &nbsp;lower property taxes, $340 million dollars for schools to start pre-K programs, and a limited test program for public campaign financing.</p> Sun, 30 Mar 2014 12:18:26 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87018 at http://wamc.org New York State Budget Finalized, Voting on Monday