Lucas Willard http://wamc.org en GE Set To Launch Fuel Cell Startup In Malta http://wamc.org/post/ge-set-launch-fuel-cell-startup-malta <p>General Electric is wrapping up construction on its new center at the New York State Energy Research and Development Agency-operated Saratoga Technology + Energy Park in Malta.</p><p>Johanna Wellington, general manager and chief technical officer for GE Fuel Cells, said General Electric is about to launch operations at the pilot facility to develop hybrid fuel cell technology.</p><p>Wellington said the fuel cell program that began at GE’s Global Research Center in Niskayuna is expanding.</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 19:28:03 +0000 Lucas Willard 95691 at http://wamc.org GE Set To Launch Fuel Cell Startup In Malta DiNapoli: Civic Center Burden On Glens Falls http://wamc.org/post/dinapoli-civic-center-burden-glens-falls <p></p><p>New York State Comptroller Thomas DiNapoli was joined by local officials in Glens Falls today to unveil a new report that shows looming fiscal stress on the upstate city. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 19:56:26 +0000 Lucas Willard 95625 at http://wamc.org DiNapoli: Civic Center Burden On Glens Falls Lake George Mayor Will Run For 12th Term http://wamc.org/post/lake-george-mayor-will-run-12th-term <p>At 78-years old, Mayor Robert Blais is currently the second-longest serving mayor in New York. He has held office for 43 years, since being elected in &nbsp;1971.</p><p><a href="http://poststar.com/news/local/terms-not-enough-blais-says-he-ll-run-again/article_3da68708-11e5-11e4-9086-0019bb2963f4.html">The Glens Falls <em>Post-Star </em>reports </a>Blais&nbsp; is uncertain about whether he’d want to complete another full four-year-term, but said ,“Right now, I’m in a frame of mind that I’d like to continue.”</p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 01:00:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 95566 at http://wamc.org Gloversville Residents To Vote On Charter Change In November http://wamc.org/post/gloversville-residents-vote-charter-change-november <p></p><p>The Gloversville Common Council Tuesday approved a measure that would put the issue of charter change before voters this November. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 21:56:30 +0000 Lucas Willard 95565 at http://wamc.org Gloversville Residents To Vote On Charter Change In November Gillibrand Urges EPA To Ban Microplastics http://wamc.org/post/gillibrand-urges-epa-ban-microplastics <p>New York Senator Kristen Gillibrand is urging federal regulators to ban microplastics, a move that state environmental advocates are hoping can move legislation forward in Albany.&nbsp; Wed, 23 Jul 2014 16:30:57 +0000 Lucas Willard 95522 at http://wamc.org Gillibrand Urges EPA To Ban Microplastics Events Will Commemorate Solomon Northup http://wamc.org/post/events-will-commemorate-solomon-northup <p>Commemorations are scheduled for this weekend in Washington County and Saratoga Springs, New York in honor of a free man captured and sold into slavery in the 19<sup>th</sup> Century.</p><p>The story of Solomon Northup, as told in his 1853 narrative <em>Twelve Years A Slave</em>, has experienced a fresh round of attention thanks to last year’s Oscar-winning film of the same name. The story tells how Northup was lured away from his home in Saratoga Springs, and eventually sold into slavery.</p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 17:45:47 +0000 Lucas Willard 95194 at http://wamc.org Events Will Commemorate Solomon Northup Officials Kick Off Racing Season With New Markers, Signage In Saratoga Springs http://wamc.org/post/officials-kick-racing-season-new-markers-signage-saratoga-springs <p></p><p>Officials gathered in Saratoga Springs today to unveil some new features visitors will likely spot around the Spa City, as they celrbate the 146<sup>th</sup> meet at Saratoga Race Course. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 22:20:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 95126 at http://wamc.org Officials Kick Off Racing Season With New Markers, Signage In Saratoga Springs Bus Crash That Killed Teen Brings Calls For Increased Safety http://wamc.org/post/bus-crash-killed-teen-brings-calls-increased-safety <p>A crash earlier this month that killed a teenage boy in the Adirondacks has brought calls on New York state government to increase oversight of the rafting and tubing industries.&nbsp;</p><p>The crash that killed 15-year-old tubing guide Hunter Scofield on July 5<sup>th</sup> in Lake Luzerne is still under state police investigation, and many are now working to prevent similar accidents.</p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 16:10:30 +0000 Lucas Willard 95076 at http://wamc.org Bus Crash That Killed Teen Brings Calls For Increased Safety Community Mourns Loss Of Local Theater Legend http://wamc.org/post/community-mourns-loss-local-theater-legend <p>The Glens Falls region is remembering the life of William "Bill" Woodward, an active member of the community who was at the core of performing arts scene for decades. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 00:00:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 95033 at http://wamc.org Saratoga County Lawmakers Seek Increased PCB Monitoring http://wamc.org/post/saratoga-county-lawmakers-seek-increased-pcb-monitoring <p>Lawmakers in Saratoga County have passed a resolution calling on General Electric to monitor flood plains along the Hudson River for chemical contamination.&nbsp; Wed, 16 Jul 2014 21:44:11 +0000 Lucas Willard 95029 at http://wamc.org Saratoga County Lawmakers Seek Increased PCB Monitoring