Hurricane Sandy http://wamc.org en Feds Give $102M For Storm Prevention To 11 States http://wamc.org/post/feds-give-102m-storm-prevention-11-states <p>Eleven states in the eastern U.S. will share $102.7 million in grants from the federal government to protect against future storms, with the greatest amount of funded projects in New Jersey and New York.</p><p>The money will fund a variety of projects to protect communities at risk from future big storms like the October 2012 one that pummeled the East Coast.</p><p>New Jersey has the largest number of approved projects at 13, including restoration of beaches, salt marshes and urban areas including Hoboken.</p><p>New York has 11 projects.</p> Mon, 16 Jun 2014 20:36:18 +0000 Jim Levulis 92737 at http://wamc.org Feds Give $102M For Storm Prevention To 11 States Conference Focuses On Future Storm Prep http://wamc.org/post/conference-focuses-future-storm-prep <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo gathered local leaders from around the state Wednesday in Albany to talk about reaction to past storms, and to plan for the next ones. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 16:10:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 88860 at http://wamc.org Conference Focuses On Future Storm Prep HV Congresswoman Calls For Funds To Stay In Sandy-Affected Areas http://wamc.org/post/hv-congresswoman-calls-funds-stay-sandy-affected-areas <p>A congresswoman from the Hudson Valley wants some federal disaster funding to stay in Hurricane Sandy-affected areas. She is among a number of federal lawmakers from New York City and the suburbs making such a call.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 12:16:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 88791 at http://wamc.org Cuomo, VP Biden Meet On Infrastructure Rebuilding Plans http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-vp-biden-meet-infrastructure-rebuilding-plans <p>Governor Cuomo hosted Vice President Joe Biden to talk about new ways of rebuilding infrastructure after damaging storms. The two are potential Presidential contenders in 2016, if Hillary Clinton doesn’t run, but they had nothing but praise for one another. &nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">New York State received $6 billion dollars in federal aid after </span>Superstorm<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Sandy, and Governor Cuomo invited Vice President Joe Biden to the State Capitol, to show him how he’s spending the money.</span></p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 23:10:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 81387 at http://wamc.org Cuomo, VP Biden Meet On Infrastructure Rebuilding Plans A Rockland Town Is Better Prepared One Year After Hurricane Sandy http://wamc.org/post/rockland-town-better-prepared-one-year-after-hurricane-sandy <p>Elected, labor and utility officials in Rockland County today marked the one-year anniversary of Hurricane Sandy, saying the area is better prepared to handle a devastating storm. They announced an agreement with local labor they say should prevent a repeat of one of the major problems.</p><p>They stood on a residential street in New City, in the Town of Clarkstown, New York state Senator David Carlucci among them.</p> Tue, 29 Oct 2013 22:35:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 76615 at http://wamc.org A Rockland Town Is Better Prepared One Year After Hurricane Sandy A Look Back At 'Superstorm' Sandy... http://wamc.org/post/look-back-superstorm-sandy <p></p><p>One year ago, Hurricane Sandy devastated the Eastern Seaboard with high winds, heavy rain and a storm surge of more than 13 feet, claiming 44 lives and displacing thousands. The Superstorm turned the greatest city in the world into a city of darkness and called new attention to climate change.</p> Tue, 29 Oct 2013 16:37:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 76575 at http://wamc.org A Look Back At 'Superstorm' Sandy... NY After The Storms: Planning For The Next One http://wamc.org/post/ny-after-storms-planning-next-one <p></p><p>One year ago, New Yorkers were bracing for Superstorm Sandy - today, state government officials are gathered in Albany to compare notes on the response and brainstorm about plans to respond to future crises and calamities.</p><p>Many struggle to recover one year after Superstorm Sandy.&nbsp; Republican New York State Assemblyman Pete Lopez says many of his constituents are still reeling from the one-two punch of Irene and Lee - along with others in his district impacted by Sandy.</p> Mon, 28 Oct 2013 16:17:07 +0000 Dave Lucas 76480 at http://wamc.org NY After The Storms: Planning For The Next One U.S. Department Awards Grants For Hurricane Sandy Research http://wamc.org/post/us-department-awards-grants-hurricane-sandy-research <p>The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has awarded grants for Hurricane Sandy recovery research.</p> Wed, 23 Oct 2013 21:45:52 +0000 Allison Dunne 76200 at http://wamc.org U.S. Department Awards Grants For Hurricane Sandy Research Governor Cuomo Visits Rockland Town As Part of NY Rising http://wamc.org/post/governor-cuomo-visits-rockland-town-part-ny-rising <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo was in the Hudson Valley this afternoon, his second stop of the day in communities that qualify for funding for recovery and rebuilding from Hurricane Sandy, Tropical Storm Lee, and Hurricane Irene under a new state program.</p><p>Governor Cuomo visited Stony Point, hit hard by storms before and after the bruising Hurricane Sandy last October. He says it is inarguable that we are living amid a new weather pattern.</p> Thu, 05 Sep 2013 01:22:35 +0000 Allison Dunne 72900 at http://wamc.org Governor Cuomo Visits Rockland Town As Part of NY Rising NY AG Settles With Hudson Valley Gas Station Retailer http://wamc.org/post/ny-ag-settles-hudson-valley-gas-station-retailer <p>New York’s attorney general says he has reached a settlement with a Hudson Valley gas retailer in the wake of price-gouging allegations after Hurricane Sandy.</p> Wed, 24 Jul 2013 23:14:02 +0000 Allison Dunne 69949 at http://wamc.org NY AG Settles With Hudson Valley Gas Station Retailer