Morning Edition http://wamc.org en Wal-Mart To Offer Money-Transfer Service http://wamc.org/post/wal-mart-offer-money-transfer-service Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>NPR's business news starts with wiring from Wal-Mart.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC)<p>MONTAGNE: The giant retailer is taking another step into banking. The company says it's launching a money transfer service next week. It'll go head-to-head with Western Union and MoneyGram in a market worth about $900 billion. But Wal-Mart says it will offer lower fees. Western Union and MoneyGram's stock both dropped on the news. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 15:10:00 +0000 editor 88482 at http://wamc.org Stephanie Miner Steps Down As Democratic Party Co-Chair http://wamc.org/post/stephanie-miner-steps-down-democratic-party-co-chair <p>Syracuse Mayor Stephanie Miner is resigning from her position as co-chair of New York state's Democratic Party. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 12:25:40 +0000 Patrick Garrett 88467 at http://wamc.org Metro-North Railroad Fined Over A Half Million Dollars For Safety Violations http://wamc.org/post/metro-north-railroad-fined-over-half-million-dollars-safety-violations <p>U.S. Sen. Richard Blumenthal says Metro-North Railroad has been fined $552,000 dollars over the past decade for safety violations and defects. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 12:18:13 +0000 Patrick Garrett 88466 at http://wamc.org Dr. Alan Chartock's Morning Commentary http://wamc.org/post/dr-alan-chartocks-morning-commentary-156 <p>WAMC's Dr. Alan Chartock discusses an agreement reached in Ukraine, Chelsea Clinton's pregnancy, and Stephanie Miner stepping down as the co-chair of the Democratic Party. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 11:37:00 +0000 Alan Chartock 88463 at http://wamc.org Dr. Alan Chartock's Morning Commentary Indiana Man Lets Buyer Keep His Stolen Car http://wamc.org/post/indiana-man-lets-buyer-keep-his-stolen-car Transcript <p>KELLY MCEVERS, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Kelly McEvers with the story of not one, but two, good Samaritans in Boonville, Indiana. A Chrysler belonging to Derk West was stolen last week. The thief then sold the car to a 72-year-old man for 300 bucks. That buyer started feeling like the deal was too good to be true.<p>So he looked up the car's rightful owner, Mr. West, gave him a call. Derk West decided the older man needed the car more than he did so he let him keep it. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 11:21:00 +0000 editor 88465 at http://wamc.org Meteorologist Paul Caiano's Forecast http://wamc.org/post/meteorologist-paul-caianos-forecast-300 <p>Here's NewsChannel 13 Meteorologist Paul Caiano's WAMC Regional Forecast: Fri, 18 Apr 2014 10:55:37 +0000 Paul Caiano 88462 at http://wamc.org Meteorologist Paul Caiano's Forecast Chelsea Clinton Announces She's Pregnant http://wamc.org/post/chelsea-clinton-announces-shes-pregnant Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Good morning, I'm David Greene.<p>Well, the tabloids have been reporting it for years but now it is official: Chelsea Clinton is actually pregnant this time. New York magazine proclaimed that America's version of a royal baby is on the way. Chelsea's parents, Bill and Hillary, sent out tweets confirming the news. The former president wrote that he is excited to add a new line to his Twitter bio: grandfather-to-be. And, of course, now speculation on the 2064 presidential race can begin.<p>It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 10:36:00 +0000 editor 88459 at http://wamc.org Sports Report: Union Parade; Chad Johnson Joins CFL http://wamc.org/post/sports-report-union-parade-chad-johnson-joins-cfl <p>The Union College skating Dutchmen got to celebrate their NCAA title victory with a parade in Schenectady yesterday after Saturday’s landmark win. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 10:23:55 +0000 Patrick Garrett 88456 at http://wamc.org Sports Report: Union Parade; Chad Johnson Joins CFL Many Sunken Ferry Victims Believed To Be Trapped Below Deck http://wamc.org/post/many-sunken-ferry-victims-believed-be-trapped-below-deck Transcript <p>KELLY MCEVERS, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Kelly McEvers.<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And I'm David Greene. Good morning. In South Korea today, officials have requested arrest warrants for the captain and also two crew members of the ferry that capsized off the country's southern coast. At least 28 people are dead and nearly 300 people remain unaccounted for. Many of them are believed to be trapped below deck, but divers have so far not been able to get inside that vessel. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 09:26:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 88461 at http://wamc.org Colombia Mourns Death Of Favorite Son: Gabriel Garcia Marquez http://wamc.org/post/colombia-mourns-death-favorite-son-gabriel-garcia-marquez Transcript <p>KELLY MCEVERS, HOST: <p>If you think about the country of Columbia, you might think about turmoil - drug trafficking and violence - but a native son countered those notions with dream-like, whimsical storytelling. Nobel Prize-winning author, Gabriel Garcia Marquez died yesterday at the age of 87. Juan Forero visited his hometown.<p>JUAN FORERO, BYLINE: A few years back, Gabriel Garcia Marquez returned to tiny, forlorn Aracataca on Colombia's Caribbean coast and was warmly welcomed by brass band and big, cheering crowds. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 09:09:00 +0000 editor 88454 at http://wamc.org