Midday Magazine http://wamc.org en Rogovoy Report For July 25, 2014 http://wamc.org/post/rogovoy-report-july-25-2014 <p></p><p>I had the great pleasure last night of attending the opening night of Sam Shepard’s modern classic, “Fool for Love,” playing the Nikos Stage at Williamstown Theatre Festival for a limited run, only through next Saturday, August 2.</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 16:45:29 +0000 Jessica Marshall 95677 at http://wamc.org Bids Approved For Airport Terminal Expansion http://wamc.org/post/bids-approved-airport-terminal-expansion <p></p><p></p><p>Clinton County legislators this week approved bids for a $36 million expansion of the Plattsburgh International Airport terminal. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 16:31:23 +0000 Pat Bradley 95673 at http://wamc.org Bids Approved For Airport Terminal Expansion Deputy Secretary For Civil Rights On New Wage Board http://wamc.org/post/deputy-secretary-civil-rights-new-wage-board <p>The people who depend on the generosity of others for something extra in their paycheck may be getting a raise. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 16:29:58 +0000 Brian Shields 95676 at http://wamc.org Deputy Secretary For Civil Rights On New Wage Board Meteorologist Paul Caiano's Midday Forecast http://wamc.org/post/meteorologist-paul-caianos-midday-forecast-276 <p>Newschannel 13 meteorologist Paul Caiano delivers the Midday Weather Summary for Friday, July 25, 2014.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 16:26:00 +0000 Paul Caiano 95674 at http://wamc.org Meteorologist Paul Caiano's Midday Forecast Tele-Town Hall Highlights HV Transportation And Infrastructure http://wamc.org/post/tele-town-hall-highlights-hv-transportation-and-infrastructure <p></p><p>New York Congressman Sean Patrick Maloney recently held a telephone town hall on local transportation and infrastructure issues in the Hudson Valley.</p><p>Sean Patrick Maloney, a Democrat who sits on the House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, supported bipartisan legislation to prevent the bankruptcy of the Highway Trust Fund. The emergency measure passed last week by a vote of 367-55.</p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 23:39:12 +0000 Allison Dunne 95648 at http://wamc.org Tele-Town Hall Highlights HV Transportation And Infrastructure Meteorologist Paul Caiano's Midday Forecast http://wamc.org/post/meteorologist-paul-caianos-midday-forecast-275 <p>Newschannel 13 meteorologist Paul Caiano&nbsp;delivers the Midday Weather Summary for Thursday, July 24, 2014.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 16:33:31 +0000 Paul Caiano 95610 at http://wamc.org Meteorologist Paul Caiano's Midday Forecast Director Troy Waffner: 168th New York State Fair http://wamc.org/post/director-troy-waffner-168th-new-york-state-fair <p>The 168th edition of the New York State Fair begins in 28 days. The annual tradition in Syracuse attracts nearly a million visitors from all over the state and the region. This year the state fair will run for 12 days, from August 21-September 1. For an update on the event we spoke today with the acting Director of the New York State Fair, Troy Waffner, who says the fair maintains its agricultural foundation but has evolved over the years as well.</p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 16:30:00 +0000 Brian Shields 95604 at http://wamc.org Director Troy Waffner: 168th New York State Fair Clinton County Passes Fracking Waste Ban http://wamc.org/post/clinton-county-passes-fracking-waste-ban <p></p><p></p><p>The Clinton County Legislature has approved a law banning the sale, transport, storage and disposal of fracking and other waste. The League of Women Voters had pushed for its passage. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 95605 at http://wamc.org Clinton County Passes Fracking Waste Ban Oil Trains Under Political Microscope http://wamc.org/post/oil-trains-under-political-microscope <p>There have been several developments this week impacting oil trains, the subject of national and local debate.</p><p>The U.S. Department of Transportation on Wednesday issued new proposed rules on tankers transporting oil including quickly phasing out the use of old DOT-111 rail cars for moving crude oil and other hazardous liquids. The rules would include new operational requirements to lower operating speeds and enhance braking capabilities for high-hazard flammable trains.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 16:16:18 +0000 Dave Lucas 95606 at http://wamc.org Oil Trains Under Political Microscope Herbert London: Moral Equivalence In The Israeli War with Hamas? http://wamc.org/post/herbert-london-moral-equivalence-israeli-war-hamas <p>The winds of moral equivalence in the Middle East are persistent. As the war between terrorists in Gaza and the Israeli government escalates, the media resists the idea of taking sides. CNN contends there are valid positions on both sides of the divide. Ethan Bonner, The New York Times correspondent contends the wall separating Gaza from Israel and Israel from the West Bank is the real impediment to peace.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 16:51:00 +0000 Herbert London 95515 at http://wamc.org