WAMC Northeast Report http://wamc.org en Gov. Patrick Said He Is Hearing Support For Plan To Shelter Immigrant Children http://wamc.org/post/gov-patrick-said-he-hearing-support-plan-shelter-immigrant-children <p></p><p></p><p>Emotions remain high over Gov. Deval Patrick’s offer to temporarily house unaccompanied immigrant children in Massachusetts.&nbsp; No final decision has been made about where the children would stay, if federal authorities accept the offer.</p> Tue, 29 Jul 2014 22:28:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 95916 at http://wamc.org Gov. Patrick Said He Is Hearing Support For Plan To Shelter Immigrant Children Long Lines Greet Hillary Clinton In Saratoga Springs http://wamc.org/post/long-lines-greet-hillary-clinton-saratoga-springs <p>More than a thousand supporters and a few protesters greeted former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, who signed copies of her memoir <em>Hard Choices</em> at Northshire Bookstore in Saratoga Springs.</p><p>The line outside stretched down Broadway and around the corner. More than 1,000 gathered in the Spa City to greet the former Secretary of State and Democratic U.S. Senator.</p><p>Deb Fasser was standing near the back of the line with her daughter.</p> Tue, 29 Jul 2014 21:08:27 +0000 Lucas Willard 95934 at http://wamc.org Long Lines Greet Hillary Clinton In Saratoga Springs Stephen Gottlieb: A Blessing On Both Their Houses http://wamc.org/post/stephen-gottlieb-blessing-both-their-houses <p>Commentator Stephen Gottlieb discusses war, dehumanization and public opinion in times of war.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 29 Jul 2014 19:59:24 +0000 Stephen Gottlieb 95915 at http://wamc.org Meteorologist Garett Argianas' Evening Forecast http://wamc.org/post/meteorologist-garett-argianas-evening-forecast-268 <p>Meteorologist Garett Argianas delivers the evening weather forecast for Tuesday, July 29, 2014.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 29 Jul 2014 19:46:00 +0000 Garett Argianas 95909 at http://wamc.org Meteorologist Garett Argianas' Evening Forecast Cuomo Offers First Comments On Ethics Commission Controversy http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-offers-first-comments-ethics-commission-controversy <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">New York Governor Andrew Cuomo, in his first public appearance since potentially damaging news came out about his staff’s tampering with an ethics probe, tried to change the subject by talking about economic development.&nbsp; But the story continues to dog the governor.</span></p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 22:10:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 95835 at http://wamc.org Cuomo Offers First Comments On Ethics Commission Controversy Officials Mull Schoharie Pipeline Proposals http://wamc.org/post/officials-mull-schoharie-pipeline-proposals <p>A proposed 157-mile natural gas pipeline that would run through several Schoharie County communities, parallel to the proposed Constitution Gas Pipeline, has pitted neighbor against neighbor.</p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 22:07:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 95834 at http://wamc.org Officials Mull Schoharie Pipeline Proposals Blair Horner: The Cuomo Administration Is Stuck In The Ethics Muck http://wamc.org/post/blair-horner-cuomo-administration-stuck-ethics-muck <p>The big news last week was the blockbuster story by the New York Times that carefully examined Governor Cuomo’s involvement in the activities of the Moreland Commission to Investigate Public Corruption.</p><p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 19:52:00 +0000 Blair Horner 95824 at http://wamc.org Meteorologist Garett Argianas' Evening Forecast http://wamc.org/post/meteorologist-garett-argianas-evening-forecast-267 <p>Meteorologist Garett Argianas&nbsp;delivers the evening weather forecast for Monday, July 28, 2014.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 19:46:00 +0000 Garett Argianas 95823 at http://wamc.org Meteorologist Garett Argianas' Evening Forecast State Economists Revise Revenue Forecast, Governor Seeks Cuts http://wamc.org/post/state-economists-revise-revenue-forecast-governor-seeks-cuts <p></p><p></p><p>The two economists for the state of Vermont told the Emergency Board Thursday that the national economic downturn in the first quarter of this year has resulted in softer-than-expected state revenues. As a result, Governor Shumlin is asking state agencies to recommend cuts in their budgets averaging 4 percent. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 95712 at http://wamc.org State Economists Revise Revenue Forecast, Governor Seeks Cuts Opponents Seize On Moreland Controversy http://wamc.org/post/opponents-seize-moreland-controversy <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo has not held any public appearances since a potentially damaging <em>New York Times</em> story that says his top aide interfered in a corruption probe when it focused on Cuomo donors. The governor began the week with rosy poll numbers, and he still has a large advantage over his nearest competitor. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 20:32:32 +0000 Karen DeWitt 95701 at http://wamc.org Opponents Seize On Moreland Controversy