flood http://wamc.org en Benefit for Fort Plain Saturday http://wamc.org/post/benefit-fort-plain-saturday <div><p><a href="http://www.mohawkvalleycollective.com">The Mohawk Valley Collective</a> is organizing a full day of events, including live music, BBQ, open houses at historic locations, and an antique and craft fair, on Saturday, Aug. 10, 2013 to support those affected by recent severe flooding in Fort Plain and along the <span>Otsquago</span> Creek.</p></div><div><p></p> Fri, 09 Aug 2013 20:29:43 +0000 Dave Lucas 71145 at http://wamc.org Benefit for Fort Plain Saturday NY Gov. Gives Flood Update http://wamc.org/post/ny-gov-gives-flood-update <p>Governor Andrew Cuomo has provided an update on state assistance for residents in flood affected communities.</p><p> Wed, 03 Jul 2013 20:28:38 +0000 Dave Lucas 68448 at http://wamc.org NY Gov. Gives Flood Update Talk About Climate Change... http://wamc.org/post/talk-about-climate-change <div><p>Roger Hill with Weathering Heights Consulting in Vermont's Northeast Kingdom has been forecasting for more than 35 years. With the region struggling with rain and floods, Hill discussed the change in climate and the "new normal" with Capital Region Bureau Chief Dave Lucas.</p><br><p></p><p></p></div><p></p> Mon, 01 Jul 2013 20:58:21 +0000 Dave Lucas 68268 at http://wamc.org Talk About Climate Change... Storms, Flooding Wreaking Havoc http://wamc.org/post/storms-flooding-wreaking-havoc <p>It has been raining just about everywhere across the Capital Region, Catskills and Hudson and Mohawk Valleys, creating dangerous and even deadly conditions in some places.</p><p>The rain and the floods that came with it resulted in states of emergency being declared in several counties including Montgomery and Schoharie.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 01 Jul 2013 16:31:41 +0000 Dave Lucas 68244 at http://wamc.org Storms, Flooding Wreaking Havoc Flood buyouts for 646 upstate New York properties http://wamc.org/post/flood-buyouts-646-upstate-new-york-properties <p>ALBANY, N.Y. (AP) — With New York officials now proposing to spend $400 million to buy and demolish downstate homes damaged by October's Superstorm Sandy, they say 646 buyout applications have been federally approved for $55 million in a buyout program for upstate properties damaged in 2011 by the back-to-back storms Irene and Lee. Wed, 06 Feb 2013 22:30:17 +0000 Associated Press 57334 at http://wamc.org Flood buyouts for 646 upstate New York properties Federal Emergency Management Agency Senior Engineer Paul Weberg http://wamc.org/post/federal-emergency-management-agency-senior-engineer-paul-weberg <p>More than 1,100 homes in Dutchess County have been added to the government&rsquo;s list of being at a high-risk of flooding. That could mean that the homeowners will have to pay for mandated flood insurance that can cost more than $2,000 a year. After the recent study by the federal emergency management agency of the flood risk, more than 5,200 properties in Dutchess County are now designated in the high risk category. For more on the new flood maps, WAMC&rsquo;s Brian Shields spoke with Paul Weberg, senior engineer at FEMA&rsquo;S New York office.</p> Thu, 09 Aug 2012 16:20:00 +0000 Brian Shields 45146 at http://wamc.org Streamflow Gauges: Silent Sentinels http://wamc.org/post/streamflow-gauges-silent-sentinels <p>The New York City Department of Environmental Protection recently announced changes to its stream flow and snow monitoring network, stemming from a new alliance with the National Weather Service aimed toward improving streamflow forecasting.</p><p>Hudson Valley Bureau Chief Dave Lucas reports on the importance of stream gauges in weather forecasting and flood control...</p> Mon, 11 Jun 2012 16:00:07 +0000 Dave Lucas 40658 at http://wamc.org Streamflow Gauges: Silent Sentinels VT Sports Fields Mean More than Games after Flood http://wamc.org/post/vt-sports-fields-mean-more-games-after-flood <p>Across Vermont, many communities that were hit by flooding from Tropical Storm Irene are working to get their athletic fields back in shape.</p><p>For many schools, their fields are on flat land next to rivers, just the areas that were hit the hardest by the flooding in August.</p><p>In Bethel, parts of the fields that are used by the Whitcomb High School and the community were under 18 inches of silt and littered with other debris such as hot water and propane tanks.</p><p>Parts of the fields are ready for use. But some won&#39;t be ready until next year.</p> Mon, 07 May 2012 11:27:42 +0000 Tristan O'Neill 38403 at http://wamc.org VT Sports Fields Mean More than Games after Flood