department of homeland security http://wamc.org en Border Fee Study Blocked http://wamc.org/post/border-fee-study-blocked <p></p><p></p><p>Two of the region’s Congressional representatives say a proposed land border fee proposal has been defeated. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 01:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 82003 at http://wamc.org Border Fee Study Blocked Peace Activists Issue "Order of Protection" Against Drone Attacks on Civilians http://wamc.org/post/peace-activists-issue-order-protection-against-drone-attacks-civilians <p></p><p>Two Yale students and a long-time peace activist from New England were arrested Monday in a unusual protest at a Central New York air base.&nbsp; The trio are bent on stopping drone strikes on civilians in distant lands.</p> Fri, 13 Dec 2013 17:32:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 79797 at http://wamc.org Peace Activists Issue "Order of Protection" Against Drone Attacks on Civilians Amendment to Block Border Crossing Fee Passes http://wamc.org/post/amendment-block-border-crossing-fee-passes <p></p><p></p><p>An amendment introduced by NY Congressman Bill Owens to block a border fee proposed by the Department of Homeland Security in its 2014 budget request was passed in the Appropriations committee Wednesday. Wed, 22 May 2013 23:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 65326 at http://wamc.org Amendment to Block Border Crossing Fee Passes Border Fee Idea Scorned Along Vermont-Canada Border http://wamc.org/post/border-fee-idea-scorned-along-vermont-canada-border <p></p><p></p><p>Vermonters are joining the chorus of criticism over a Department of Homeland Security proposal to study charging a fee to enter the United States at land border crossings. Fri, 26 Apr 2013 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 63247 at http://wamc.org Border Fee Idea Scorned Along Vermont-Canada Border Negative Response to Proposed Fee to Cross Border http://wamc.org/post/negative-response-proposed-fee-cross-border <p></p><p></p><p>The Department of Homeland Security is including in its 2014 budget a request for a feasibility study to charge people to cross the border.&nbsp; Tourism, business and legislative interests in New York’s north country say the idea could harm economic ties between the U.S. and Canada. Thu, 25 Apr 2013 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 63096 at http://wamc.org Negative Response to Proposed Fee to Cross Border Area Dems Urge Reversal of TSA's New Knife Policy http://wamc.org/post/area-dems-urge-reversal-tsas-new-knife-policy <p></p><p>Area democrats are urging Homeland Security Secretary Janet Napolitano to reverse a decision that would allow passengers to bring small knives onto airplanes</p><p> Tue, 12 Mar 2013 22:25:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 59706 at http://wamc.org Area Dems Urge Reversal of TSA's New Knife Policy Feds to Launch Secure Communities Program in MA http://wamc.org/post/feds-launch-secure-communities-program-ma <p>The U.S. Department of Homeland Security has notified state officials that they plan to launch the federal Secure Communities program in Massachusetts over the objections of Governor Deval Patrick and immigration activists.&nbsp; WAMC&rsquo;s Tristan O&rsquo;Neill reports&hellip;</p><p>Massachusetts Public Safety Secretary Mary Beth Heffernan described Secure Communities as an information sharing program between federal agencies that can only be implemented by the federal government.</p> Wed, 09 May 2012 11:36:40 +0000 Tristan O'Neill 38585 at http://wamc.org Feds to Launch Secure Communities Program in MA