Tropical Storm Irene http://wamc.org en US EPA Uses Vermont Flood Planning To Help Others http://wamc.org/post/us-epa-uses-vermont-flood-planning-help-others <p></p><p></p><p>The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has developed a checklist to help communities prepare for floods based on the experiences of communities in Vermont's Mad River Valley. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 00:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 94399 at http://wamc.org US EPA Uses Vermont Flood Planning To Help Others MA Utilities Appeal Millions In Fines For 2011 Storms http://wamc.org/post/ma-utilities-appeal-millions-fines-2011-storms <p>Massachusetts’ highest court has heard arguments from three major utilities seeking to overturn record penalties stemming from their response to two major storms in 2011.</p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 20:19:46 +0000 Jim Levulis 87638 at http://wamc.org MA Utilities Appeal Millions In Fines For 2011 Storms Demolition Begins On Irene Flooded Homes http://wamc.org/post/demolition-begins-irene-flooded-homes <p></p><p></p><p>More than two and a half years after Tropical Storm Irene raged through the region, homes that were made unliveable are finally being demolished. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 86278 at http://wamc.org Demolition Begins On Irene Flooded Homes NYPA CEO On Preparations For Another Storm http://wamc.org/post/nypa-ceo-preparations-another-storm <p>With heavy snow expected, utility crews across northern New York and parts of Vermont are getting ready for what could be hours of repair and restoration work. With a series of severe weather events in recent years, power providers across the region have updated their plans to get ready for and respond to weather, and in some cases, man-made disasters. The New York Power Authority CEO, Gil Quiniones, spoke to WAMC about those changes. He says after Tropical Storms Irene and Lee, the Power Authority came up with 26 recommendations to improve communications during storms as part of its Lessons Learned Project. Wed, 12 Mar 2014 16:34:00 +0000 Brian Shields 85662 at http://wamc.org NYPA CEO On Preparations For Another Storm Reports Outline Steps For VT To Prepare For Next Disaster http://wamc.org/post/reports-outline-steps-vt-prepare-next-disaster <p></p><p></p><p>Two reports were issued Monday outlining policies and procedures that Vermont officials can implement to better prepare the state for natural disasters. Tue, 17 Dec 2013 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 80079 at http://wamc.org Reports Outline Steps For VT To Prepare For Next Disaster NY Governor Announces Irene Rebuilding Initiative http://wamc.org/post/ny-governor-announces-irene-rebuilding-initiative <p></p><p></p><p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo was in the Adirondack village of Ausable Forks this morning to announce a funding initiative for Tropical Storm Irene recovery and to present a check to rebuild a firehouse destroyed in that storm. Wed, 04 Sep 2013 21:01:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 72885 at http://wamc.org NY Governor Announces Irene Rebuilding Initiative Demolition of Irene-Damaged State Offices to Start http://wamc.org/post/demolition-irene-damaged-state-offices-start <p></p><p></p><p>Two years after floodwaters from Tropical Storm Irene inundated the Vermont state office complex in Waterbury, workers are preparing to demolish some of the buildings. Thu, 29 Aug 2013 02:20:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 72426 at http://wamc.org Demolition of Irene-Damaged State Offices to Start Labor Board: State Workers Don't Get Double Pay http://wamc.org/post/labor-board-state-workers-dont-get-double-pay <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont Labor Relations Board has denied 63 state workers who wanted double pay for working while displaced from their offices following Tropical Storm Irene. Tue, 09 Jul 2013 23:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 68818 at http://wamc.org Labor Board: State Workers Don't Get Double Pay 3 Vermont Towns Get Money for Irene-Damaged Buildings http://wamc.org/post/3-vermont-towns-get-money-irene-damaged-buildings <p></p><p></p><p>Three Vermont towns will get a total of $1.8 million from a federal grant to help replace municipal buildings made unusable by flooding from Tropical Storm Irene. Mon, 13 May 2013 23:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 64572 at http://wamc.org 3 Vermont Towns Get Money for Irene-Damaged Buildings Vermont Town Seeks Guidance Before Replacing Bridges http://wamc.org/post/vermont-town-seeks-guidance-replacing-bridges <p></p><p></p><p>Newfane officials are planning to meet with representatives of Vermont Emergency Management and the Agency of Natural Resources to get advice before issuing contracts to replace two bridges that were destroyed by flooding from Tropical Storm Irene. Wed, 24 Apr 2013 00:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 62943 at http://wamc.org Vermont Town Seeks Guidance Before Replacing Bridges