F-35 http://wamc.org en F-35 Opponents File Lawsuit To Block Jet From Burlington Airport http://wamc.org/post/f-35-opponents-file-lawsuit-block-jet-burlington-airport <p></p><p></p><p>Opponents of the plan by the Air Force to base F-35 fighter planes at Vermont's Burlington International Airport have filed a lawsuit asking a federal district court to overturn the decision. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 94043 at http://wamc.org F-35 Opponents File Lawsuit To Block Jet From Burlington Airport State Environmental Review Not Required For F-35's http://wamc.org/post/state-environmental-review-not-required-f-35s <p></p><p></p><p>Opponents of a plan to bring a state-of-the-art fighter jet to Vermont are disputing a judge’s ruling that basing the F-35 in Burlington does not need state environmental review. Fri, 16 May 2014 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 90609 at http://wamc.org State Environmental Review Not Required For F-35's Vermont Guard Releases Noise Plan For New Jets http://wamc.org/post/vermont-guard-releases-noise-plan-new-jets <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont National Guard is outlining its plans to mitigate the noise of the new F-35 fighter jets due to arrive in Burlington in six years. Sat, 03 May 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 89554 at http://wamc.org Vermont Guard Releases Noise Plan For New Jets Opponents Continue Fight Against Jet, Supporters Pleased With F-35 Burlington Beddown http://wamc.org/post/opponents-continue-fight-against-jet-supporters-pleased-f-35-burlington-beddown <p></p><p></p><p>National Guard officials and Senator Patrick Leahy announced Tuesday that the U.S. Air Force will base 18 F-35 fighter jets at the Vermont air guard facility.&nbsp; Opponents plan to continue their efforts to stop the plane from coming to Vermont. Supporters, ecstatic with the selection, say it’s time to move forward. Wed, 04 Dec 2013 17:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 79130 at http://wamc.org Opponents Continue Fight Against Jet, Supporters Pleased With F-35 Burlington Beddown F-35 To Be Housed At Vermont Air Guard Base http://wamc.org/post/f-35-be-housed-vermont-air-guard-base <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont Air Guard Base at the Burlington International Airport has been chosen to host the new state of the art, and controversial, F-35 fighter jet. Tue, 03 Dec 2013 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 79079 at http://wamc.org F-35 To Be Housed At Vermont Air Guard Base Vermont Officials Welcome F-35 Basing Decision http://wamc.org/post/vermont-officials-welcome-f-35-basing-decision <p>Vermont’s top elected officials are hailing the Air Force’s decision to base the F-35 in Burlington. In a joint statement, U.S. Senators Patrick Leahy and Bernie Sanders, Rep. Peter Welch and Governor Peter Shumlin said: Tue, 03 Dec 2013 18:22:54 +0000 Pat Bradley 79041 at http://wamc.org Vermont Officials Welcome F-35 Basing Decision Council Defeats F-35 Resolutions http://wamc.org/post/council-defeats-f-35-resolutions <p></p><p></p><p>Days before the U.S. Air Force could make its decision whether to base new F-35 fighter jets at the Burlington International Airport, the Burlington City Council voted down resolutions aimed at preventing the planes from flying at the airport.&nbsp; But opponents are not giving up on their efforts. Thu, 31 Oct 2013 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 76785 at http://wamc.org Council Defeats F-35 Resolutions City Attorney Releases Opinion on F-35 Legal Issues http://wamc.org/post/city-attorney-releases-opinion-f-35-legal-issues <p></p><p></p><p>Burlington’s city attorney has released a report indicating the City Council has no authority to stop the military from basing F-35 fighter jets at the International Airport. Fri, 18 Oct 2013 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 75896 at http://wamc.org City Attorney Releases Opinion on F-35 Legal Issues With Liability Insurance Procured, F-35 Debate Returns to City Agenda http://wamc.org/post/liability-insurance-procured-f-35-debate-returns-city-agenda <p></p><p></p><p>The city of Burlington has purchased an insurance policy for protection against potential lawsuits in connection with its airport. Now that the policy has been obtained, a delayed plan by the City Council to debate and vote on two resolutions related to basing F-35 fighter jets at the airport can be re-scheduled. Tue, 15 Oct 2013 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 75589 at http://wamc.org With Liability Insurance Procured, F-35 Debate Returns to City Agenda City Council Postpones Discussion on F-35 http://wamc.org/post/city-council-postpones-discussion-f-35 <p></p><p></p><p>The latest controversy over the potential basing of F-35 fighter jets at the Burlington International Airport isn&rsquo;t over the plane. It&rsquo;s about why the Burlington City Council has cancelled a review of the matter. Fri, 04 Oct 2013 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 74918 at http://wamc.org City Council Postpones Discussion on F-35