Adirondack Park Agency http://wamc.org en Court Rejects Challenge To Adirondack Club And Resort Project http://wamc.org/post/court-rejects-challenge-adirondack-club-and-resort-project <p></p><p></p><p>A New York State court has ruled against a challenge to the Adirondack Park Agency's approval of a proposed 6,200-acre, year-round resort development in Tupper Lake. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 94341 at http://wamc.org Court Rejects Challenge To Adirondack Club And Resort Project Court Rejects Challenge To Adirondack Resort http://wamc.org/post/court-rejects-challenge-adirondack-resort <p></p><p></p><p>A state appeals court has ruled against a challenge to the Adirondack Park Agency's approval of a proposed 6,200-acre, year-round resort and residential development in Tupper Lake. Fri, 04 Jul 2014 01:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 94097 at http://wamc.org Court Rejects Challenge To Adirondack Resort Classifications For New Adirondack Lands Approved By Governor http://wamc.org/post/classifications-new-adirondack-lands-approved-governor <p></p><p></p><p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo has approved the land classifications recommended by the Adirondack Park Agency for 42,000 acres of land acquired by the state in 2012. Tue, 11 Feb 2014 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 83662 at http://wamc.org Classifications For New Adirondack Lands Approved By Governor Poll Gauges Support For Tupper Lake Development Project http://wamc.org/post/poll-gauges-support-tupper-lake-development-project <p></p><p></p><p>The contentious debate over a large development project in the Adirondacks continues as supporters have released a poll showing residents want the jobs that could result if the Adirondack Club and Resort breaks ground. Fri, 27 Dec 2013 19:00:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 80744 at http://wamc.org Poll Gauges Support For Tupper Lake Development Project Cuomo Seeks Balance in Adirondack Land Use http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-seeks-balance-adirondack-land-use <p></p><p></p><p>Governor Andrew Cuomo says he will try to strike a balance between economic development and preservation as he weighs the fate of the state&#39;s latest forestland acquisition in the Adirondack Park. Sat, 28 Sep 2013 14:00:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 74498 at http://wamc.org Cuomo Seeks Balance in Adirondack Land Use APA Commissioner Recommends Delay on Adirondack Land Classification http://wamc.org/post/apa-commissioner-recommends-delay-adirondack-land-classification <p></p><p></p><p>It may be a few more months before the state agency that oversees the Adirondack Park decides the classification of newly obtained lands in the Adirondack Forest Preserve. Wed, 14 Aug 2013 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 71425 at http://wamc.org APA Commissioner Recommends Delay on Adirondack Land Classification Debate Over Adirondack Land Classification Continues as Public Hearings Near Close http://wamc.org/post/debate-over-adirondack-land-classification-continues-public-hearings-near-close <p></p><p></p><p>Last year New York State acquired 69-thousand acres of forest lands in the Adirondacks, and the lands must now be classified. The Adirondack Park Agency has been holding public hearings regarding the first three tracts of land and the final hearings are being held today in Albany and Queensbury. WAMC’s North Country Bureau Chief Pat Bradley looks at the debate between conservationists and residents over the potential land designations. Tue, 02 Jul 2013 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 68330 at http://wamc.org Debate Over Adirondack Land Classification Continues as Public Hearings Near Close NY Senate Confirms Park Agency Commissioners http://wamc.org/post/ny-senate-confirms-park-agency-commissioners <p></p><p></p><p>Before wrapping up its business for the session, the New York state Legislature has acted upon a number of agency nominations. On Wednesday, the Senate confirmed two new Adirondack Park Agency board members and renewed the terms of others. Thu, 20 Jun 2013 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 67524 at http://wamc.org NY Senate Confirms Park Agency Commissioners Group Requests Hearing on Chemical Treatment of Lake Invasive http://wamc.org/post/group-requests-hearing-chemical-treatment-lake-invasive <p></p><p></p><p>The Adirondack Council wants the Adirondack Park Agency to hold a formal public hearing before deciding whether to allow the use of a chemical herbicide in a lake to kill an invasive plant. Wed, 13 Mar 2013 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 59748 at http://wamc.org Group Requests Hearing on Chemical Treatment of Lake Invasive Park Agency Restricts General Use of Invasive Smothering Mats http://wamc.org/post/park-agency-restricts-general-use-invasive-smothering-mats <p></p><p></p><p>Adirondack Park Agency commissioners have approved a General Permit for management of aquatic invasive species.&nbsp; The permit restricts the use of mats that are used to smother non-native species like the Asian Clam, due to concerns that native shoreline ecosystems are being adversely affected. Wed, 16 Jan 2013 17:13:45 +0000 Pat Bradley 55866 at http://wamc.org Park Agency Restricts General Use of Invasive Smothering Mats