westchester http://wamc.org en Newspaper Chain Considers, Rejects Building Gun-owner Database http://wamc.org/post/newspaper-chain-considers-rejects-building-gun-owner-database <p></p><p>The publisher of a major newspaper chain has thrown cold water on a report that it was considering building state-by-state databases of people who have the right to carry concealed firearms.</p> Sun, 26 Jan 2014 17:01:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 82569 at http://wamc.org Newspaper Chain Considers, Rejects Building Gun-owner Database Con Ed Asks for Rate Hike http://wamc.org/post/con-ed-asks-rate-hike <p>Con Edison says it wants to collect just under $400 million in rate increases next year. Con Ed officials say some of the extra funds from ratepayers in New York City and Westchester County would go toward long-term protection against disasters like Superstorm Sandy.&nbsp;</p><p> Sat, 26 Jan 2013 14:45:56 +0000 Allison Dunne 56583 at http://wamc.org Con Ed Asks for Rate Hike A Former County Executive Dies http://wamc.org/post/former-county-executive-dies <p>A former county executive who ran unsuccessfully against Mario Cuomo for governor of New York in the 1980s, has died after a long illness.</p> Fri, 04 Jan 2013 21:46:32 +0000 Allison Dunne 55103 at http://wamc.org Putnam County Officials Say No to Releasing Gun Permit Records http://wamc.org/post/putnam-county-officials-say-no-releasing-gun-permit-records <p></p><p>Officials from Putnam County, supported by two state lawmakers, came together Thursday saying they will not release the names and addresses of legal, pistol permit holders in Putnam County, despite having been presented with a Freedom of Information Law request for the information. Their decision comes after The Journal News, a lower Hudson Valley newspaper, published such information from Rockland and Westchester Counties less than two weeks ago, using an online, interactive gun map. &nbsp;The issue has since become&nbsp;highly controversial.</p><p> Thu, 03 Jan 2013 23:57:21 +0000 Allison Dunne 55033 at http://wamc.org Putnam County Officials Say No to Releasing Gun Permit Records Publication of Gun Map Stirs Debate http://wamc.org/post/publication-gun-map-stirs-debate <p>A newspaper and online publication in the Hudson Valley has made headlines coast-to-coast for an interactive map it published online. That map indicates the names and addresses of all pistol permit holders in Westchester and Rockland counties, with Putnam County to come. The publication of the map has elicited outcry, and started a national discourse on many topics, ranging from privacy to safety to the public’s right to know.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 27 Dec 2012 20:01:42 +0000 Allison Dunne 54629 at http://wamc.org Publication of Gun Map Stirs Debate Three Arrests in Westchester, NY Home Invasion http://wamc.org/post/three-arrests-westchester-ny-home-invasion <p>Police say three Bronx men have been arrested in connection with a January home invasion in Westchester County. WAMC&#39;s Dave Lucas has more...</p><p>Brandishing weapons, the trio burst into the home of a Hastings restaurant owner and tied family members&#39; hands behind their backs. One robber claimed they were the police and flashed a badge.</p><p>They got away with about $5,000 in cash.</p><p>Hastings Police Lt. David Dosin tells the Journal News that the May 9 arrests were not made public at the time because the investigation is continuing. More arrests are expected.</p> Wed, 23 May 2012 11:54:53 +0000 Dave Lucas 39575 at http://wamc.org Three Arrests in Westchester, NY Home Invasion