Hudson Valley News http://wamc.org en Hudson Valley County Launches Clean Energy Program http://wamc.org/post/hudson-valley-county-launches-clean-energy-program <p></p><p>A county executive in the Hudson Valley says his county is the first in New York State to adopt a certain clean energy program.</p><p>Orange County Executive Steve Neuhuas says his county is the first to launch Energize NY. He also announced during an Orange County Chamber of Commerce breakfast that a recently received grant will go toward a solar farm at the county’s 9-1-1 center.</p> Sat, 12 Jul 2014 14:32:30 +0000 Allison Dunne 94718 at http://wamc.org Hudson Valley County Launches Clean Energy Program House Passes Legislation Curtailing FERC Enforcement Of Capacity Zone http://wamc.org/post/house-passes-legislation-curtailing-ferc-enforcement-capacity-zone <p></p><p>The House of Representatives has passed an amendment put forth by two New York congressmen who want to rein in the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and undo a new capacity zone.</p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 23:21:14 +0000 Allison Dunne 94696 at http://wamc.org House Passes Legislation Curtailing FERC Enforcement Of Capacity Zone Write-In Candidate For A NY Congressional Seat Returns http://wamc.org/post/write-candidate-ny-congressional-seat-returns <p></p><p>New York’s 19<sup>th</sup> congressional district race thus far includes an incumbent Republican and a well-heeled Democrat. Now, a write-in candidate from 2012 is trying once again to get on the ballot. WAMC’s Hudson Valley Bureau Chief Allison Dunne spoke with Thomas Jenkins.</p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 21:18:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 94680 at http://wamc.org NY Congressional Race Contenders Report Fundraising Amounts http://wamc.org/post/ny-congressional-race-contenders-report-fundraising-amounts <p></p><p></p><p>Contenders in a congressional race in the Hudson Valley are divulging their second-quarter campaign fundraising results, ahead of a July 15 deadline for federal filing.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 11:55:02 +0000 Allison Dunne 94590 at http://wamc.org NY Congressional Race Contenders Report Fundraising Amounts Bard SummerScape Presents World Premiere of Love in the Wars http://wamc.org/post/bard-summerscape-presents-world-premiere-love-wars-0 <p>Bard SummerScape is under way, and the performing arts festival will feature the world premiere of a play opening this weekend. WAMC’s Hudson Valley Bureau Chief Allison Dunne spoke with the play’s curator and lead actress.</p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 18:44:47 +0000 Allison Dunne 94551 at http://wamc.org Bard SummerScape Presents World Premiere of Love in the Wars NYS AG Announces Agreement With Bookseller Over Breastfeeding http://wamc.org/post/nys-ag-announces-agreement-bookseller-over-breastfeeding <p>The New York State attorney general has announced an agreement with a major bookseller to strengthen protections for mothers who breastfeed in its stores.</p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 18:42:29 +0000 Allison Dunne 94454 at http://wamc.org NYS AG Announces Agreement With Bookseller Over Breastfeeding PSC Cuts United Water's Proposed Rate Increase http://wamc.org/post/psc-cuts-united-waters-proposed-rate-increase <p></p><p>The New York State Public Service Commission has rejected a requested water-rate increase in the Hudson Valley. The PSC also wants a third party to independently review management and operation practices.</p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 14:29:49 +0000 Allison Dunne 94330 at http://wamc.org PSC Cuts United Water's Proposed Rate Increase Late Author's Westchester House Is On The Market http://wamc.org/post/late-authors-westchester-house-market <p></p><p></p><p>The historic Westchester County home of late author John Cheever is on the market for $525,000.</p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 10:36:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 94304 at http://wamc.org Catskills Group Launches Renewable Energy Campaign Online http://wamc.org/post/catskills-group-launches-renewable-energy-campaign-online <p></p><p>A grassroots advocacy group in the Catskills has begun a campaign focusing on renewable energy.</p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:28:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 94305 at http://wamc.org Catskills Group Launches Renewable Energy Campaign Online A Small Earthquake Is Recorded In Putnam County http://wamc.org/post/small-earthquake-recorded-putnam-county <p></p><p>Scientists say a small earthquake was recorded Saturday morning in Putnam County, just a few miles north of the Westchester County border. A local newspaper, <em>The Journal News</em>, reported that area residents did not hear or feel anything. Those near the epicenter however, were startled out of their homes.</p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 02:10:29 +0000 Allison Dunne 94303 at http://wamc.org A Small Earthquake Is Recorded In Putnam County