Dutchess County http://wamc.org en Dutchess County Welcomes Warrior Hikers http://wamc.org/post/dutchess-county-welcomes-warrior-hikers <p></p><p>Dutchess County will welcome combat veterans as they hike through the area Sunday afternoon.</p> Sun, 13 Jul 2014 15:20:16 +0000 Allison Dunne 94739 at http://wamc.org Dutchess County Welcomes Warrior Hikers Memorial Eve Ceremony Scheduled For Walkway http://wamc.org/post/memorial-eve-ceremony-scheduled-walkway <p></p><p></p><p>On Sunday, there will be a Memorial Eve ceremony in the mid-Hudson Valley, on the pedestrian bridge Walkway Over the Hudson.</p> Sun, 25 May 2014 13:32:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 91223 at http://wamc.org Memorial Eve Ceremony Scheduled For Walkway Lyme Disease Forum Takes Place In Dutchess http://wamc.org/post/lyme-disease-forum-takes-place-dutchess <p></p><p></p><p>There will be an educational forum Wednesday morning in Dutchess County about Lyme disease prevention.</p> Wed, 14 May 2014 11:21:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 90377 at http://wamc.org Lyme Disease Forum Takes Place In Dutchess Dutchess Intersection Officials Call Dangerous Will Get A Flashing Light http://wamc.org/post/dutchess-intersection-officials-call-dangerous-will-get-flashing-light <p>A northern Dutchess County intersection considered dangerous will soon be getting a flashing traffic light. This comes after calls from local officials and residents following two fatal accidents this year.</p> Sun, 23 Mar 2014 00:44:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 86479 at http://wamc.org Dutchess Intersection Officials Call Dangerous Will Get A Flashing Light Smart Meters Under Scrutiny http://wamc.org/post/smart-meters-under-scrutiny <p>The meter reader has gone the way of the milkman and the bread man — in some communities, "smart meters" wirelessly report your energy or water consumption back to the utility company. But fear of electric impulses transmitted by the devices has led to a consumer call for choice.&nbsp;</p><p>Digital smart meter technology has been around since the 1990s, but opposition has grown worldwide. Critics of the technology claim the radio emissions cause a variety of human health problems.</p> Thu, 23 Jan 2014 18:14:43 +0000 Dave Lucas 82411 at http://wamc.org Smart Meters Under Scrutiny HV Surgeon Pleads Guilty To Fraud Scheme http://wamc.org/post/hv-surgeon-pleads-guilty-fraud-scheme <p>An orthopedic surgeon in the Hudson Valley has pleaded guilty to a health-care fraud scheme.</p> Fri, 01 Nov 2013 18:36:34 +0000 Allison Dunne 76869 at http://wamc.org HV Surgeon Pleads Guilty To Fraud Scheme NY Program On Flood & Climate Change Preparedness A Success http://wamc.org/post/ny-program-flood-climate-change-preparedness-success <p></p><p>The Hudson Estuary Watershed Resiliency Project is an educational initiative designed to help municipal officials and stream-side landowners throughout the Hudson Valley prepare for floods and climate change. The program has been moving forward, and is being heralded as a successful one.</p><p>Educators from the Cornell Cooperative Extension associations in Columbia, Greene, Dutchess, Orange and Putnam counties have been teaching flood preparedness to officials and landowners in 37 Hudson Valley municipalities.</p> Tue, 15 Oct 2013 14:50:54 +0000 Dave Lucas 75585 at http://wamc.org NY Program On Flood & Climate Change Preparedness A Success Shooting Suspect's SUV Is Found In Putnam County, Manhunt Is Underway http://wamc.org/post/shooting-suspects-suv-found-putnam-county-manhunt-underway <p></p><p>GARDEN CITY, N.Y. (AP), PHILIPSTOWN, N.Y. (WAMC) &mdash; Authorities say the getaway vehicle of a man wanted in the fatal shooting at a Long Island light fixture company was found abandoned in a Hudson Valley county.</p> Thu, 26 Sep 2013 13:57:25 +0000 Allison Dunne 74389 at http://wamc.org Dutchess County's Oldest Resident Turns 109 http://wamc.org/post/dutchess-countys-oldest-resident-turns-109 <p>A Dutchess County native is celebrating her 109<sup>th</sup> birthday Thursday. County officials say she is the oldest county resident.</p><p>Florence or “Flo” Williams, is the oldest resident of both Poughkeepsie and Dutchess County. Joseph Ryan is outreach coordinator for the Dutchess County Office for the Aging. He says that’s according to county records.</p><p>Ryan says Williams has shared with him her secret to celebrating more than 100 birthdays.</p><p>There will be a party to celebrate the occasion in the main lobby of the Lutheran Care Center in Poughkeepsie, in the afternoon.</p> Thu, 29 Aug 2013 11:14:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 72433 at http://wamc.org Dutchess County's Oldest Resident Turns 109 Bronx Man Is Convicted Of Robberies In The Hudson Valley http://wamc.org/post/bronx-man-convicted-robberies-hudson-valley <p>A New York City man has been convicted of firearm and robbery offenses, including in the Hudson Valley.</p> Mon, 26 Aug 2013 01:13:04 +0000 Allison Dunne 72190 at http://wamc.org