disabled care http://wamc.org en NYS Assemblyman Settles Suit Over Disabled Son's Care http://wamc.org/post/nys-assemblyman-settles-suit-over-disabled-sons-care <p>A New York assemblyman and longtime advocate for the disabled has settled a federal lawsuit claiming his disabled son was hit and verbally abused at the Long Island group home where he resides&hellip;</p><p>Terms of the settlement are being kept confidential ---</p><p>Assemblyman Harvey Weisenberg and his wife, Ellen, claimed AHRC Nassau was responsible for an employee they allege repeatedly abused their son Ricky, now 55.</p> Tue, 08 Oct 2013 00:02:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 75093 at http://wamc.org NYS Assemblyman Settles Suit Over Disabled Son's Care Study Finds Many Medical Practices Closed To Disabled Patients http://wamc.org/post/study-finds-many-medical-practices-closed-disabled-patients <p>A new survey of medical specialists by researchers in Springfield Massachusetts found many could not accommodate patients who use a wheelchair.&nbsp;&nbsp; The 1990 Americans with Disabilities Act &nbsp;mandates that all medical practitioners must provide full and equal access.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 18 Mar 2013 22:04:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 60117 at http://wamc.org Study Finds Many Medical Practices Closed To Disabled Patients Disabled Lobby for Funding Restoration in NY Budget http://wamc.org/post/disabled-lobby-funding-restoration-ny-budget <p>One of the areas of disagreement in the state budget centers on funding for services for New York’s developmentally disabled people. &nbsp;</p> Tue, 12 Mar 2013 22:00:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 59701 at http://wamc.org Disabled Lobby for Funding Restoration in NY Budget Mary Beth Pfeiffer - The Poughkeepsie Journal http://wamc.org/post/mary-beth-pfeiffer-poughkeepsie-journal <p>A congressional committee has been looking into why the federal government overpaid New York State by more than $10 billion for the care of developmentally disabled people in state developmental centers. Congress began its probe after reports in the Poughkeepsie Journal. Mary Beth Pfeiffer, projects writer with the journal, says even though the overpayments were first detected in 2007, they still continued. She spoke with WAMC’s Brian Shields.</p> Tue, 11 Sep 2012 16:40:47 +0000 Brian Shields 47598 at http://wamc.org NYS Assembly, Senate Agree to Sweeping Reform of Disabled Care http://wamc.org/post/nys-assembly-senate-agree-sweeping-reform-disabled-care <p>The Assembly and Senate have passed legislation they say will curb abuses against disabled people in state care.&nbsp; Capitol Correspondent Karen DeWitt reports&hellip;&nbsp;</p> Tue, 19 Jun 2012 10:57:58 +0000 Karen Dewitt 41310 at http://wamc.org NYS Assembly, Senate Agree to Sweeping Reform of Disabled Care NY Agrees to Sweeping Reform of Disabled Care http://wamc.org/post/ny-agrees-sweeping-reform-disabled-care <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo and legislative leaders say they have agreed on a sweeping reform of the state&#39;s system of caring for the disabled that has been marked for years by abuse and death.&nbsp; WAMC&rsquo;s Ian Pickus reports&hellip;</p><p>For Cuomo, the deal announced Sunday fulfills a major legislative goal.</p><p>Recent governors have been dogged for years by outcry from whistle blowers and a chilling New York Times series was published this year about abuse within the massive bureaucracy caring for 1 million people.</p> Mon, 18 Jun 2012 11:42:16 +0000 Ian Pickus 41232 at http://wamc.org NY Agrees to Sweeping Reform of Disabled Care