McGill University http://wamc.org en Dr. Nancy Low, McGill University - Inactivity and Depression http://wamc.org/post/dr-nancy-low-mcgill-university-inactivity-and-depression <p>Can leading a sedentary lifestyle contribute to depression?</p><p>Dr. Nancy Low, assistant professor in the department of psychiatry at McGill University, is studying the correlation between these two afflictions.</p><p>Nancy Low is an Assistant Professor of Psychiatry at McGill University, Clinician-Researcher at the Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre (MUHC), and Staff Physician in the Mood Disorders Program of the McGill University Health Centre (MUHC).</p> Thu, 29 May 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Matthew Pryce 90230 at http://wamc.org Dr. Nancy Low, McGill University - Inactivity and Depression Dr. Victoria Kaspi, McGill University - Neutron Star Movement http://wamc.org/post/dr-victoria-kaspi-mcgill-university-neutron-star-movement <p>What is left after a star explodes and dies? The answer is a <em>n</em><em>eutron star</em>.</p><p>Dr. Victoria Kaspi, professor of astrophysics and cosmology at McGill University, is piecing together the structure of a specific type of neutron star called a <em>magnetar.</em></p><p></p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Matthew Pryce 87901 at http://wamc.org Dr. Victoria Kaspi, McGill University - Neutron Star Movement Dr. Eric Galbraith, McGill University – The Ocean’s Nitrogen Cycle http://wamc.org/post/dr-eric-galbraith-mcgill-university-ocean-s-nitrogen-cycle <p>In today’s Academic Minute, Dr. Erick Galbraith of McGill University explains how climate change could alter ocean currents and the marine nitrogen cycle.&nbsp;</p><p></p> Mon, 09 Dec 2013 10:00:00 +0000 Bradley Cornelius 79233 at http://wamc.org Dr. Frank Elgar, McGill University – Psychological Health and Family Meals http://wamc.org/post/dr-frank-elgar-mcgill-university-psychological-health-and-family-meals <p>In today’s Academic Minute, Dr. Frank Elgar of McGill University explores the psychological benefits of making time for family meals.</p><p></p><p>Frank Elgar is an associate professor of psychiatry and Canada Research Chair in Social Inequalities in Child Health at McGill University. His research explores social and behavioral determinants of child mental health and well-being. He holds a PhD in psychology from Dalhousie University.</p><p><a href="http://www.psych.mcgill.ca/faculty/elgar.html">About Dr. Elgar</a></p> Wed, 15 May 2013 09:00:00 +0000 Bradley Cornelius 64352 at http://wamc.org Dr. Frank Elgar, McGill University – Psychological Health and Family Meals Dr. Hans Larsson, McGill University – Evolution of Birds http://wamc.org/post/dr-hans-larsson-mcgill-university-evolution-birds <p>In today’s Academic Minute, Dr. Hans Larsson of McGill University discusses the evolutionary pressures that influenced the development of flight in birds.</p><p></p> Thu, 25 Apr 2013 09:00:00 +0000 Bradley Cornelius 62557 at http://wamc.org Dr. Hans Larsson, McGill University – Evolution of Birds McGill Students Visit Emerging Economic City of Moscow http://wamc.org/post/mcgill-students-visit-emerging-economic-city-moscow <p></p><p></p> Mon, 01 Apr 2013 18:32:13 +0000 Pat Bradley 61189 at http://wamc.org McGill Students Visit Emerging Economic City of Moscow Dr. Jean-Philippe Lessard, McGill University – Mapping Biodiversity http://wamc.org/post/dr-jean-philippe-lessard-mcgill-university-mapping-biodiversity <p>In today’s Academic Minute, Dr. Jean-Philippe Lessard of McGill University explains how modern techniques are being used to refine an iconic map of the world’s biodiversity.</p><p></p> Thu, 21 Feb 2013 10:00:00 +0000 Bradley Cornelius 57833 at http://wamc.org Dr. Jean-Philippe Lessard, McGill University – Mapping Biodiversity Dr. Catherine Sabiston, McGill University – Post-Cancer Health http://wamc.org/post/dr-catherine-sabiston-mcgill-university-post-cancer-health <p>In today&rsquo;s Academic Minute, Dr. Catherine Sabistion of McGill University examines how readjusting goals about physical fitness can increase health in cancer survivors.<br /> Mon, 13 Aug 2012 09:00:00 +0000 Bradley Cornelius 45123 at http://wamc.org Dr. Catherine Sabiston, McGill University – Post-Cancer Health Dr. Amélie Quesnel-Vallée, McGill University – Depression and Education Level http://wamc.org/post/dr-am-lie-quesnel-vall-e-mcgill-university-depression-and-education-level <p>In today&rsquo;s Academic Minute, Dr. Amélie Quesnel-Vallée of McGill University reveals the multigenerational advantages of a college degree.<br /><br />Amélie Quesnel-Vallée is an associate professor at McGill University where she has a joint appointment in the Departments of Sociology and Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Occupational Health. Her research examines how social policies influence the development of social inequalities in health. Her work has been featured in a number of peer-reviewed journals and she holds a Ph.D. from Duke University.</p> Fri, 13 Jul 2012 09:00:00 +0000 Bradley Cornelius 42513 at http://wamc.org Dr. Amélie Quesnel-Vallée, McGill University – Depression and Education Level Dr. Michael Wasserman, McGill University – Soy Diets and Primate Evolution http://wamc.org/post/dr-michael-wasserman-mcgill-university-soy-diets-and-primate-evolution <p>In today&rsquo;s Academic Minute, Dr. Michael Wasserman of McGill University describes his research project examining the role of soy in primate diets.<br /> Fri, 29 Jun 2012 09:00:00 +0000 Bradley Cornelius 41344 at http://wamc.org Dr. Michael Wasserman, McGill University – Soy Diets and Primate Evolution