Tar Sands http://wamc.org en Canadian Pipeline Ruling Worries New Englanders http://wamc.org/post/canadian-pipeline-ruling-worries-new-englanders <p></p><p></p><p>A ruling by the National Energy Board of Canada that will allow a pipeline to carry tar sands oil from Ontario to Montreal is raising concerns from New England environmental groups. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 85396 at http://wamc.org Canadian Pipeline Ruling Worries New Englanders Conservation Group Intends To Sue Over Oil Spill Response Plans http://wamc.org/post/conservation-group-intends-sue-over-oil-spill-response-plans <p></p><p>A national conservation organization has put the U.S. Coast Guard and Environmental Protection Agency on notice that it will follow through with a lawsuit if oil spill response plans along the Hudson River are not updated.</p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 18:45:22 +0000 Allison Dunne 85362 at http://wamc.org Conservation Group Intends To Sue Over Oil Spill Response Plans Environmental Advocates Warn Of Increased Use And Transport Of Tar Sands Oil http://wamc.org/post/environmental-advocates-warn-increased-use-and-transport-tar-sands-oil <p></p><p></p><p>Two environmental groups in the region are helping to distribute a report warning that gasoline processed from tar sands will soon be commonplace, undercutting the region’s efforts to reduce carbon pollution. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 82536 at http://wamc.org Environmental Advocates Warn Of Increased Use And Transport Of Tar Sands Oil Environmental Permitting Affirmed for Potential Pipeline Use http://wamc.org/post/environmental-permitting-affirmed-potential-pipeline-use <p></p><p></p><p>A Vermont Environmental official has upheld a ruling that Act 250 - the state land use permit - will be necessary if a pipeline company decides to change the flow of oil in a pipeline that cuts across a corner of the state. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 17:01:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 74395 at http://wamc.org Environmental Permitting Affirmed for Potential Pipeline Use Company Submits Federal Report in Pipeline Review http://wamc.org/post/company-submits-federal-report-pipeline-review <p></p><p></p><p>A new study published by the National Academy of Sciences says some environmentalists may be overstating fears about the corrosive effects of tar sands oil on pipelines like the one across northern New England. Thu, 04 Jul 2013 02:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 68453 at http://wamc.org Company Submits Federal Report in Pipeline Review Pipeline Owner Seeks Reconsideration of Commission Ruling http://wamc.org/post/pipeline-owner-seeks-reconsideration-commission-ruling <p></p><p></p><p>The owner of a crude oil pipeline that runs between Maine and Montreal, crossing a portion of Vermont’s Northeast Kingdom, wants Vermont environmental regulators to reconsider a ruling that determined if the company seeks to transport tar sands oil in the pipeline, it must receive approval under Vermont’s environmental review law know as Act 250. Fri, 17 May 2013 12:42:13 +0000 Pat Bradley 64867 at http://wamc.org Pipeline Owner Seeks Reconsideration of Commission Ruling NH Governor Asks For Review on Pipeline Issue http://wamc.org/post/nh-governor-asks-review-pipeline-issue <p></p><p></p><p>New Hampshire Governor Maggie Hassan has asked Secretary of State John Kerry for a thorough environmental and permitting process before allowing any existing pipelines in the state to transport tar sands oil. Tue, 23 Apr 2013 01:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 62844 at http://wamc.org NH Governor Asks For Review on Pipeline Issue Land Use Law Permitting Required If Northeast Pipeline Transports Tar Sands Oil Through Vermont http://wamc.org/post/land-use-law-permitting-required-if-northeast-pipeline-transports-tar-sands-oil-through-vermont <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont environmental regulators have ruled that Vermont’s Act 250 land use law would apply to any proposal to reverse the flow in an oil pipeline that crosses northern Vermont. Wed, 17 Apr 2013 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 62465 at http://wamc.org Land Use Law Permitting Required If Northeast Pipeline Transports Tar Sands Oil Through Vermont Environmental Groups Hail Vermont Pipeline Ruling http://wamc.org/post/environmental-groups-hail-vermont-pipeline-ruling <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont environmental groups and some northeastern Vermont land owners are hailing a ruling that the state's Act 250 land use law applies to the possible reversal of flow in the Portland-Montreal Pipe Line. Wed, 17 Apr 2013 01:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 62391 at http://wamc.org Environmental Groups Hail Vermont Pipeline Ruling Coalition Files Petition to Tighten Tar Sands Pipeline Transport Rules http://wamc.org/post/coalition-files-petition-tighten-tar-sands-pipeline-transport-rules <p></p><p></p><p>A coalition of conservation and environmental groups is asking the federal government to tighten regulations governing pipeline safety standards as concerns rise over the possibility that tar sands oil may be shipped through a line across New England. Tue, 26 Mar 2013 21:04:44 +0000 Pat Bradley 60751 at http://wamc.org Coalition Files Petition to Tighten Tar Sands Pipeline Transport Rules