homeless veterans http://wamc.org en Donation Secures Emergency Beds In Pittsfield http://wamc.org/post/donation-secures-emergency-beds-pittsfield <p>A donation of $45,000 from <a href="http://www.berkshirehealthsystems.org/" target="_blank">Berkshire Health Systems</a> will secure overnight crisis beds in Pittsfield this winter. Mon, 09 Dec 2013 18:57:34 +0000 Jim Levulis 79462 at http://wamc.org Donation Secures Emergency Beds In Pittsfield New Partnership To Help Homeless Veterans http://wamc.org/post/new-partnership-help-homeless-veterans <p>A Massachusetts-based veterans outreach organization and a Springfield anti-poverty agency have been awarded a federal grant for a partnership to help homeless veterans in western Massachusetts.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 16 Sep 2013 22:22:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 73730 at http://wamc.org New Partnership To Help Homeless Veterans VA To Fund $2 Million To Aid Homeless Veterans http://wamc.org/post/va-fund-2-million-aid-homeless-veterans <p>ELMSFORD – The Department of Veterans Affairs will spend $2.4 million to prevent at-risk Hudson Valley veterans from becoming homeless.&nbsp; A $1.89 allocation will go to the Westchester Community Opportunity Program to serve 450 families and a $500,000 investment will be used by Hudson River Housing to serve 250 families through the Supportive Services for Veteran Families Program.</p> Tue, 16 Jul 2013 12:09:50 +0000 Hank Gross 69296 at http://wamc.org VA To Fund $2 Million To Aid Homeless Veterans Homelessness Declining Among Vets in Mass. http://wamc.org/post/homelessness-declining-among-vets-mass <p></p><p>Yesterday, Lieutenant Gov. Timothy Murray announced that from January 2010 to January 2012, Massachusetts saw a drop in its homeless rate among veterans by 26%. That national rate of decline for the same period was 17%.</p><p> Thu, 10 Jan 2013 22:51:48 +0000 Lucas Willard 55504 at http://wamc.org Homelessness Declining Among Vets in Mass. Help Offered To Homeless Veterans In Western Massachusetts http://wamc.org/post/help-offered-homeless-veterans-western-massachusetts <p>The Department of Veterans Affairs says it is making progress in reducing the number of homeless veterans in the country. But the critical need was evident at an event Friday in Springfield Massachusetts.&nbsp; WAMC’s Pioneer Valley Bureau Chief Paul Tuthill reports.</p><p></p> Fri, 28 Sep 2012 19:45:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 48944 at http://wamc.org Help Offered To Homeless Veterans In Western Massachusetts Traveling Employment Office For Veterans Stops In Western Mass. http://wamc.org/post/traveling-employment-office-veterans-stops-western-mass <p>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Military veterans who risked their lives for their country are having an increasingly difficult time finding a job when they return home.&nbsp; Local organizations with help from federal agencies are trying to help unemployed veterans find jobs in western Massachusetts.&nbsp; WAMC&rdquo;s Pioneer Valley Bureau Chief Paul Tuthill reports.</p><p>&nbsp;</p> Tue, 03 Jul 2012 22:30:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 42403 at http://wamc.org Traveling Employment Office For Veterans Stops In Western Mass.