west nile virus http://wamc.org en Westchester Reports First Human Case of West Nile For 2013 http://wamc.org/post/westchester-reports-first-human-case-west-nile-2013 <p>A Hudson Valley county has its first human case of West Nile Virus this year.</p> Thu, 12 Sep 2013 12:27:57 +0000 Allison Dunne 73435 at http://wamc.org Westchester Reports First Human Case of West Nile For 2013 Vt. Has 1st Human Illness from West Nile this Year http://wamc.org/post/vt-has-1st-human-illness-west-nile-year <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont Health Department says it has confirmed that one person has been sickened by West Nile virus spread by mosquitoes this year. Wed, 28 Aug 2013 23:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 72423 at http://wamc.org Vt. Has 1st Human Illness from West Nile this Year West Nile Virus Confirmed in Pittsfield, Spraying Scheduled http://wamc.org/post/west-nile-virus-confirmed-pittsfield-spraying-scheduled <p>West Nile Virus has been detected in Pittsfield, and health officials are responding.</p> Mon, 26 Aug 2013 21:43:34 +0000 Jim Levulis 72255 at http://wamc.org West Nile Virus Confirmed in Pittsfield, Spraying Scheduled NY Health Officials: Beware Mosquitoes And Disease http://wamc.org/post/ny-health-officials-beware-mosquitoes-and-disease <p>Health officials are urging New York residents to take precautions after mosquitoes carrying West&nbsp;Nile virus and Eastern Equine Encephalitis virus were found in the state.</p><p>Two human cases of West&nbsp;Nile virus have been identified in Staten Island and one case has been identified in a horse in Oneida County. Most people infected with the mosquito-borne virus either show no symptoms or suffer a flu-like illness. A small number develop a serious illness that can lead to neurological damage.</p> Wed, 21 Aug 2013 12:47:41 +0000 Jaired Crofut 71871 at http://wamc.org NY Health Officials: Beware Mosquitoes And Disease Westchester Gives Away More Free Fish http://wamc.org/post/westchester-gives-away-more-free-fish <p>A county health department in New York’s Hudson Valley had such success the first time with a giveaway in the battle against West Nile Virus that it has planned a second distribution.</p> Fri, 17 May 2013 03:09:28 +0000 Allison Dunne 64886 at http://wamc.org Westchester Gives Away More Free Fish Westchester Offers Free Fish To Fight West Nile http://wamc.org/post/westchester-offers-free-fish-fight-west-nile <p>A county health department in New York’s Hudson Valley is trying a natural way to minimize the chances of becoming infected with West Nile Virus.</p> Wed, 08 May 2013 13:14:05 +0000 Allison Dunne 64146 at http://wamc.org Westchester Offers Free Fish To Fight West Nile CT Officials Confirm West Nile Virus in Horses http://wamc.org/post/ct-officials-confirm-west-nile-virus-horses <p>Connecticut agriculture officials have reported the year's first domestic animal cases of West Nile virus. WAMC’s Lucas Willard reports…</p><p>The Department of Agriculture said Tuesday that a 4-year-old horse from Southbury showed symptoms of lethargy and stumbling on its front feet in late August. The horse developed a fever and became progressively more depressed and uncoordinated.</p><p>A blood sample was found positive for the virus. The horse was treated and is recovering.</p> Thu, 13 Sep 2012 00:00:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 47732 at http://wamc.org CT Officials Confirm West Nile Virus in Horses West Nile Virus Confirmed in Pittsfield Mosquito - No Human Cases Found http://wamc.org/post/west-nile-virus-confirmed-pittsfield-mosquito-no-human-cases-found <p>A mosquito infected with West Nile Virus was recently found in Pittsfield. WAMC&rsquo;s Berkshire Bureau chief Lucas Willard spoke with regional health officials to get more information on the disease in the region.</p><p>The mosquito carrying West Nile virus was obtained in Pittsfield by the Berkshire County Mosquito Control Project and was confirmed by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health.</p> Thu, 05 Jul 2012 22:00:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 42536 at http://wamc.org West Nile Virus Confirmed in Pittsfield Mosquito - No Human Cases Found