Vermont State Police http://wamc.org en Man Found Dead In House Hours After Standoff http://wamc.org/post/man-found-dead-house-hours-after-standoff <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont State Police say a man has been found dead inside a house of a self-inflicted gunshot wound more than five hours after shots were fired at troopers and police negotiated with him. Wed, 20 Aug 2014 00:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 97405 at http://wamc.org Man Found Dead In House Hours After Standoff Police Say Man With Knife Shot In Station Lobby http://wamc.org/post/police-say-man-knife-shot-station-lobby <p></p><p>Vermont State Police say a 42-year-old man was hospitalized in stable condition Wednesday after being shot by a police officer when he refused to drop a knife while in the lobby of the Bennington police department. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 23:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88880 at http://wamc.org Pilot Parachutes from Small Plane Before Crash http://wamc.org/post/pilot-parachutes-small-plane-crash <p> Vermont State Police say the pilot of a small plane that crashed next to Interstate 89 in Highgate on Friday suffered minor injuries after parachuting out of the plane to safety. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 00:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 88534 at http://wamc.org VT Bill Calls For Study Of Rural Police Coverage http://wamc.org/post/vt-bill-calls-study-rural-police-coverage <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont House has endorsed a bill calling for a study of police coverage in rural parts of the state, backing away from immediately calling for an end to the practice of Vermont State Police contracting with small towns. Sat, 22 Mar 2014 14:10:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 86432 at http://wamc.org VT Bill Calls For Study Of Rural Police Coverage VT Trooper Says Cold Cases Are Important Issue http://wamc.org/post/vt-trooper-says-cold-cases-are-important-issue <p></p><p></p><p>A top Vermont State Police criminal investigator says unsolved homicides are an important issue for the state and supports the addition of a cold case investigator position. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 02:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 84209 at http://wamc.org VT Trooper Says Cold Cases Are Important Issue Vt. Looks At Strengthening Cold Case Probes http://wamc.org/post/vt-looks-strengthening-cold-case-probes <p>Lawmakers are considering a proposal to add a cold case investigator to the Vermont State Police.</p><p>Rep. Patti&nbsp;Lewis, a Berlin Republican, got an interested reception from the House Government Operations Committee this past week when she brought her proposal to the panel.</p><p>Lewis says her research indicates there at least 57 unsolved homicides and 32 missing-persons cases pending in Vermont, the oldest dating from the 1970s.</p><p>She's calling for one new investigator devoted to the cases, but says some lawmakers have suggested she should ask for two, given the caseload.</p> Tue, 18 Feb 2014 13:52:19 +0000 Jaired Crofut 84070 at http://wamc.org Vt. Looks At Strengthening Cold Case Probes VT Police Probe Dummerston Fire That Killed Two http://wamc.org/post/vt-police-probe-dummerston-fire-killed-two <p></p><p></p><p>Officials say two people are dead following an early morning fire in the southern Vermont town of Dummerston. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 04:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 81308 at http://wamc.org VT Police Probe Dummerston Fire That Killed Two VT Police ID Man Shot by Officer as City Resident http://wamc.org/post/vt-police-id-man-shot-officer-city-resident <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>A preliminary Vermont State Police investigation has found the man shot to death by a Burlington police officer was acting irrationally and destroying property. Fri, 08 Nov 2013 03:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 77303 at http://wamc.org VT Police ID Man Shot by Officer as City Resident Vermont State Police Start 'Operation Sober Summer' http://wamc.org/post/vermont-state-police-start-operation-sober-summer <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont State Police are taking part in a campaign to combat aggressive and impaired driving called "Operation Sober Summer." Tue, 16 Jul 2013 01:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 69251 at http://wamc.org Vermont State Police Start 'Operation Sober Summer' Vermont Police Say 33 Arrested in Springfield Sweep http://wamc.org/post/vermont-police-say-33-arrested-springfield-sweep <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont police say 33 people were taken into custody in the Springfield and Ludlow area as part of the latest in a continuing series of counter drug operations in the state. Thu, 20 Jun 2013 00:20:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 67431 at http://wamc.org Vermont Police Say 33 Arrested in Springfield Sweep