Vermont Department of Corrections http://wamc.org en KY Prison With VT Inmates No Longer Locked Down http://wamc.org/post/ky-prison-vt-inmates-no-longer-locked-down <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont Department of Corrections Commissioner Andy Pallito says a security specialist who assessed a now-ended lockdown situation at a Kentucky facility housing Vermont inmates has returned but that officials will continue to have a presence in the facility. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 02:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 84541 at http://wamc.org KY Prison With VT Inmates No Longer Locked Down Audit Finds Health Costs Over Budget for VT Inmates http://wamc.org/post/audit-finds-health-costs-over-budget-vt-inmates <p></p><p></p><p>The state auditor says spending on health care for Vermont in-state prisoners was $4.2 million over budget for the last three years. Tue, 29 Oct 2013 01:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 76515 at http://wamc.org Audit Finds Health Costs Over Budget for VT Inmates Convicted Sex Offender Released in Vermont http://wamc.org/post/convicted-sex-offender-released-vermont <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont Governor Peter Shumlin says newly released sex offender Timothy Szad is heading to California. Fri, 26 Jul 2013 23:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 70118 at http://wamc.org Convicted Sex Offender Released in Vermont Cape Cod Cop to Do 10 Days on Vermont Work Crew http://wamc.org/post/cape-cod-cop-do-10-days-vermont-work-crew <p>A Cope Cod police officer is going to spend 10 days on a Vermont Department of Corrections work crew to settle charges he was caught driving drunk twice in the Burlington area.<br><br>Forty-eight-year-old Scott Kynoch, of Mashpee, Mass., pleaded guilty Friday to a single count of driving while intoxicated and negligent operation of a motor vehicle.<br><br>Kynoch is a former Burlington High School football standout. He was stopped by police in Chittenden County in May and July. In both cases he was over the legal limit for driving.<br> Fri, 16 Nov 2012 22:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 52196 at http://wamc.org Cape Cod Cop to Do 10 Days on Vermont Work Crew State Commission Says Vermont Discriminated on Pay http://wamc.org/post/state-commission-says-vermont-discriminated-pay <p>The Vermont Human Rights Commission has filed suit against the state over alleged gender discrimination it said showed up in a female Department of Corrections employee being paid significantly less than a man in the same job.<br><br>The commission said Thursday it had joined Lynne Silloway, an administrative services coordinator with the Corrections Department, in suing that department and the Department of Human Resources.<br> Thu, 15 Nov 2012 22:50:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 52109 at http://wamc.org Vermont Cancels Jail Contract http://wamc.org/post/vermont-cancels-jail-contract <p>A year after Vermont inmates at a Massachusetts jail rioted over conditions there, Vermont has discontinued the contract under which it sent inmates to the facility.<br /><br />Vermont Corrections Commissioner Andy Pallito says the Franklin County Jail and House of Detention in Greenfield reduced the number of Vermont inmates it would take from about 100 to below 50. He says at that point, it didn&#39;t make sense to continue the contract, which was allowed to expire on June 30.<br />Vermont inmates rioted at the jail last July, amid complaints about conditions at the facility. Wed, 18 Jul 2012 21:10:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 43438 at http://wamc.org