sales tax http://wamc.org en Governor Approves Essex County Sales Tax Increase http://wamc.org/post/governor-approves-essex-county-sales-tax-increase <p></p><p></p><p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo has approved a request that will allow Essex County to increase its sales tax by one-quarter of a percent. Wed, 21 Aug 2013 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 71928 at http://wamc.org Governor Approves Essex County Sales Tax Increase Counties Concerned Over Sales Tax Revenue Reports http://wamc.org/post/counties-concerned-over-sales-tax-revenue-reports <p></p><p></p><p>The New York State Association of Counties is concerned about sales tax revenue reports indicating negative growth in the second quarter. Wed, 17 Jul 2013 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 69418 at http://wamc.org Counties Concerned Over Sales Tax Revenue Reports Mass. Coalition Targets Amazon in Push for Tax Fairness http://wamc.org/post/mass-coalition-targets-amazon-push-tax-fairness <p>A coalition of elected officials, business owners, and associations in Massachusetts is pushing for online retailers to begin paying the state’s sales tax before the fourth fiscal quarter of 2012 begins. WAMC’s Berkshire Bureau Chief Lucas Willard reports…</p> Thu, 13 Sep 2012 22:00:21 +0000 Lucas Willard 47832 at http://wamc.org Mass. Coalition Targets Amazon in Push for Tax Fairness CT Sales Tax Holiday Begins on Sunday http://wamc.org/post/ct-sales-tax-holiday-begins-sunday <div><p>It's back to school, and Connecticut is kicking off its annual sales tax holiday. WAMC’s Lucas Willard reports…</p></div><p>Beginning Sunday and ending Aug. 25, items of clothing and footwear costing less than $300 are exempt from the 6.35 percent state sales tax.</p><p>Sports equipment, specialty clothing, jewelry and accessories are not included.</p><p>The tax-free holiday covers items valued at more than $300 and discounted with sales, coupons and other promotions.</p> Fri, 17 Aug 2012 00:00:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 45796 at http://wamc.org CT Sales Tax Holiday Begins on Sunday MA Tax Holiday Boosts Sales http://wamc.org/post/ma-tax-holiday-boosts-sales <p>Businesses are reporting huge jumps in sales from Massachusetts&rsquo; sales tax holiday over the weekend. WAMC&rsquo;s Berkshire Bureau Chief Lucas Willard reports&hellip;</p><p>A few weeks ago, the weekend of August 11<sup>th</sup> and 12<sup>th</sup> was approved for a waiver on the state&rsquo;s 6.25% sales tax, and, according to the Retailers Association of Massachusetts, was very successful.</p><p>President Jon Hurst says that Association members are reporting big increases in sales.</p> Mon, 13 Aug 2012 22:00:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 45466 at http://wamc.org MA Tax Holiday Boosts Sales Mass. Legislators Considering Sales Tax Holiday http://wamc.org/post/mass-legislators-considering-sales-tax-holiday <p>Massachusetts legislators are considering an August sales tax holiday. WAMC&rsquo;s Berkshire Bureau Chief Lucas took a look at the effect of the popular measure in the Bay State.</p> Thu, 19 Jul 2012 21:11:13 +0000 Lucas Willard 43542 at http://wamc.org Mass. Legislators Considering Sales Tax Holiday