Gun Control http://wamc.org en Congressional Corner With Elizabeth Esty http://wamc.org/post/congressional-corner-elizabeth-esty-7 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>The killings at Newtown were supposed to change America.</p><p>In today’s Congressional Corner, Connecticut representative Elizabeth Esty tells WAMC’s Alan Chartock that reforming gun laws can take a long time.</p><p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 14:50:00 +0000 Alan Chartock 87071 at http://wamc.org Congressional Corner With Elizabeth Esty Burlington Councillors Hold Last Hearing on Proposed Gun Control Measures http://wamc.org/post/burlington-councillors-hold-last-hearing-proposed-gun-control-measures <p></p><p></p><p>A large crowd was at City Hall Monday night for the last public hearing on three gun-control provisions proposed by the Burlington City Council.&nbsp; Tue, 28 Jan 2014 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 82769 at http://wamc.org Burlington Councillors Hold Last Hearing on Proposed Gun Control Measures Judge Dismisses Lawsuit Against Conn. Gun Law http://wamc.org/post/judge-dismisses-lawsuit-against-conn-gun-law <p>HARTFORD, Conn. (AP) — A federal judge has dismissed a national gun industry group's lawsuit challenging a wide-ranging firearms law passed by Connecticut in response to the shooting deaths of 20 children and six adults at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown.</p><p>U.S. District Judge Janet C. Hall in New Haven ruled Monday that the Newtown-based <a href="http://www.nssf.org/" target="_blank">National Shooting Sports Foundation Inc.</a> doesn't have legal standing to challenge how state officials approved the law.</p> Tue, 03 Dec 2013 20:45:46 +0000 Jim Levulis 79061 at http://wamc.org Judge Dismisses Lawsuit Against Conn. Gun Law Burlington City Council Acts on Gun Measures http://wamc.org/post/burlington-city-council-acts-gun-measures <p></p><p></p><p>The Burlington City Council has approved two gun control measures and sent a third back to committee. Tue, 19 Nov 2013 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 78156 at http://wamc.org Burlington City Council Acts on Gun Measures Burlington City Council Passes 3 of 4 Gun Control Resolutions http://wamc.org/post/burlington-city-council-passes-3-4-gun-control-resolutions <p></p><p></p><p>The Burlington City Council voted Monday night to approve several gun-control measures. Tue, 22 Oct 2013 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 76069 at http://wamc.org Burlington City Council Passes 3 of 4 Gun Control Resolutions Gun Buyback To Be Held In Western Massachusetts http://wamc.org/post/gun-buyback-be-held-western-massachusetts <p>A first-ever gun buy-back is taking place Saturday in two mostly rural counties in western Massachusetts&mdash;Hampshire and Franklin counties.&nbsp; People will have&nbsp; chance to dispose of guns at the police stations in Northampton and Greenfield from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; WAMC&rsquo;s Pioneer Valley Bureau Chief Paul Tuthill spoke with Northwestern District Attorney David Sullivan, whose office organized the gun buy-back.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 04 Oct 2013 16:31:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 74908 at http://wamc.org Gun Buyback To Be Held In Western Massachusetts Gun Control Hearing Draws Large Crowd http://wamc.org/post/gun-control-hearing-draws-large-crowd <p>Massachusetts legislators weighing dozens of proposals to reduce gun violence held a public hearing in Springfield today. They heard from people concerned about the loss of life, and also from people concerned about the potential loss of their livelihoods.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 02 Aug 2013 20:17:22 +0000 Paul Tuthill 70636 at http://wamc.org Gun Control Hearing Draws Large Crowd New Group Takes Aim At Pro-Gun Law Pols http://wamc.org/post/new-group-takes-aim-pro-gun-law-pols <p></p><p>A coalition of gun rights advocates and others are forming a new political movement, to get what they say are disaffected and disenfranchised New Yorkers to vote. Thu, 11 Jul 2013 16:15:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 68971 at http://wamc.org New Group Takes Aim At Pro-Gun Law Pols Massachusetts Lawmakers Hold Hearings On Gun Bills http://wamc.org/post/massachusetts-lawmakers-hold-hearings-gun-bills <p>The state legislature in Massachusetts is inching closer to acting on new gun laws more than six months after the school shooting in Newtown Connecticut.&nbsp; A legislative committee is holding a series of public hearings around the state this summer.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 05 Jul 2013 19:50:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 68560 at http://wamc.org Massachusetts Lawmakers Hold Hearings On Gun Bills Berkshire Forum Focuses on Gun Violence http://wamc.org/post/berkshire-forum-focuses-gun-violence <p></p><p>A community discussion in the Berkshires Thursday focused on gun violence revealed a range of opinions that mirrors the debate at the national level.</p><p></p><p>The gun violence forum, hosted by the Norman Rockwell Museum in Stockbridge, brought together members of the public on both sides of the gun control debate, and three guest speakers.</p> Fri, 26 Apr 2013 21:10:36 +0000 Lucas Willard 63248 at http://wamc.org Berkshire Forum Focuses on Gun Violence