Michael Jacques http://wamc.org en Man Sentenced To Life For Killing Niece http://wamc.org/post/man-sentenced-life-killing-niece <p></p><p></p><p>A convicted sex offender who has admitted kidnapping and killing his 12-year-old niece in Vermont has been sentenced to life without parole. Wed, 21 May 2014 01:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 90910 at http://wamc.org Man Sentenced To Life For Killing Niece VT Man Pleads Guilty to Kidnapping, Killing Niece http://wamc.org/post/vt-man-pleads-guilty-kidnapping-killing-niece <p></p><p></p><p>A Vermont man has pleaded guilty to kidnapping, sexually assaulting and killing his 12-year-old niece, avoiding a federal death penalty trial. Wed, 28 Aug 2013 00:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 72330 at http://wamc.org VT Man Pleads Guilty to Kidnapping, Killing Niece Vermont Man Expected to Plead Guilty on Aug. 27 http://wamc.org/post/vermont-man-expected-plead-guilty-aug-27 <p></p><p></p><p>A court hearing has been scheduled for Aug. 27 for a Vermont man who is expected to plead guilty to the abduction, sexual assault and killing of his 12-year-old niece Brooke Bennett five years ago. Tue, 13 Aug 2013 23:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 71363 at http://wamc.org Vermont Man Expected to Plead Guilty on Aug. 27 Lawyers Preparing for U.S. Death Penalty Trial in Vermont http://wamc.org/post/lawyers-preparing-us-death-penalty-trial-vermont <p></p><p></p><p>Lawyers in the case of the Vermont man facing the federal death penalty on charges he sexually assaulted and killed his niece five years ago are asking for more time to prepare their jury-selection procedures. Tue, 18 Jun 2013 01:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 67234 at http://wamc.org Lawyers Preparing for U.S. Death Penalty Trial in Vermont Case of Man Charged with Killing Niece Back in Vermont http://wamc.org/post/case-man-charged-killing-niece-back-vermont <p>The trial for a Vermont man charged with kidnapping and killing his 12-year-old niece in 2008 is at least a year away.<br><br>A federal appeals court in New York has sent the case of Michael Jacques back to Vermont for trial.<br><br>Jacques has pleaded not guilty to the death of Brooke Bennett. Federal prosecutors are seeking the death penalty.<br><br>The 2nd U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals in New York recently turned down a defense request to reconsider its decision allowing prosecutors<br> Tue, 11 Sep 2012 21:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 47629 at http://wamc.org Case of Man Charged with Killing Niece Back in Vermont Lawyers Ask Court to Reverse Decision in Vermont Case http://wamc.org/post/lawyers-ask-court-reverse-decision-vermont-case <p>Lawyers for a Vermont man charged with kidnapping and killing his 12-year-old niece have asked a federal court to reverse its decision allowing prosecutors to use evidence that he tried to shift the blame to a make-believe international sex ring.<br /><br />Michael Jacques has pleaded not guilty to the death of Brooke Bennett in 2008. Federal prosecutors are seeking the death penalty.<br /> Wed, 25 Jul 2012 21:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 43967 at http://wamc.org Lawyers Ask Court to Reverse Decision in Vermont Case