Alliance for Quality Education http://wamc.org en Advocates Push For School Aid; Poll Shows Dissatisfaction http://wamc.org/post/advocates-push-school-aid-poll-shows-dissatisfaction <p>Education funding advocates, including actress Cynthia Nixon, made a last minute pitch for extra money for schools in the state budget. Meanwhile, a new poll finds many New Yorkers think the quality of education in the state is deteriorating. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 22:10:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 86596 at http://wamc.org Advocates Push For School Aid; Poll Shows Dissatisfaction Advocates Say Lack Of Money At Core of Schools Struggles http://wamc.org/post/advocates-say-lack-money-core-schools-struggles <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>The deadline for the state budget is approaching, and education issues are taking center stage. One day before massive rallies for universal pre-K and charter schools, other advocates say they’ve gathered evidence for potentially another lawsuit for more state aid for schools.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Alliance for Quality Education has been touring schools around the state to document what they say is erosion in districts in economically depressed areas.</span></p> Mon, 03 Mar 2014 23:10:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 85040 at http://wamc.org Advocates Say Lack Of Money At Core of Schools Struggles Education Fact Finding Tour Crosses NY http://wamc.org/post/education-fact-finding-tour-crosses-ny <p></p><p>Two education-oriented activist groups have embarked upon a statewide tour of schools to "gather evidence" in preparation to file a new lawsuit against New York. At issue, they say, is the state’s failure to fulfill its constitutional obligation of providing every student with a “sound basic education.”</p><p>The Alliance for Quality Education and the Campaign for Fiscal Equity are taking a “fact finding tour,” visiting schools and trying to find "what's missing" at those hallowed halls of learning.</p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 17:28:45 +0000 Dave Lucas 84588 at http://wamc.org Education Fact Finding Tour Crosses NY Advocates to Cuomo: Increase Education Aid http://wamc.org/post/advocates-cuomo-increase-education-aid <p></p><p>A day after New York Governor Andrew Cuomo unveiled his budget, the Alliance for Quality of Education and Citizen Action of New York held eight rallies across New York Wednesday, including one in Kingston, calling on Albany to increase state funding for education.</p> Thu, 23 Jan 2014 23:31:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 82422 at http://wamc.org Advocates to Cuomo: Increase Education Aid Report: NY Gets Good Grades For Student Data Tracking http://wamc.org/post/report-ny-gets-good-grades-student-data-tracking <p></p> Tue, 19 Nov 2013 17:38:40 +0000 Dave Lucas 78125 at http://wamc.org Report: NY Gets Good Grades For Student Data Tracking NYS Senator Urges Passage Of Bill To Restrict Standardized Testing http://wamc.org/post/nys-senator-urges-passage-bill-restrict-standardized-testing <p>A New York state senator says it is time to pass his legislation to restrict standardized testing for the youngest students.</p> Tue, 19 Nov 2013 12:45:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 78083 at http://wamc.org NYS Senator Urges Passage Of Bill To Restrict Standardized Testing Petition Calls For Testing Ban For State’s Youngest Students http://wamc.org/post/petition-calls-testing-ban-state-s-youngest-students <p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Education advocates across New York are calling for a ban on standardized testing in pre-K through second grade.</p><p>Michael Mulgrew, president of the United Federation of Teachers, kicked off a Thursday conference call to launch a&nbsp; statewide petition drive to stop expansion of standardized tests in children’s early years.</p><p>The petition comes as the union continues to call for a three-year moratorium on using tests aligned to the rigorous Common Core standards for “high stakes” decisions affecting teachers and students.</p> Sat, 16 Nov 2013 18:01:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 77897 at http://wamc.org Petition Calls For Testing Ban For State’s Youngest Students Report: Educators Must Target Kids' First Eight Years http://wamc.org/post/report-educators-must-target-kids-first-eight-years <p></p><p>A new report released Monday says investing in the first eight years of a child's life pays big dividends, and that’s especially true for New York kids 8 and younger who come from low-income families.</p><p></p> Tue, 05 Nov 2013 20:26:26 +0000 Dave Lucas 77101 at http://wamc.org Report: Educators Must Target Kids' First Eight Years Ed Officials Announce "Shocking" Drop In Student Test Scores http://wamc.org/post/ed-officials-announce-shocking-drop-student-test-scores <div class="card-content"><div class="field field-name-body field-type-text-with-summary field-label-hidden "><div class="field-items"><div class="field-item even"><p></p><p>Test scores for third through eighth graders were released Wednesday, and they show a dramatic drop in the number of New York students who received passing grades.</p> Wed, 07 Aug 2013 22:10:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 70961 at http://wamc.org Ed Officials Announce "Shocking" Drop In Student Test Scores AQE Releases College & Career Readiness Report Card http://wamc.org/post/aqe-releases-college-career-readiness-report-card <p>Now that New York’s public schools have sent students – and report cards — home for the summer, New York education reformers have issued the state a "report card" of their own... with two plusses, four minuses and an "incomplete."<br> Wed, 03 Jul 2013 19:30:24 +0000 Dave Lucas 68441 at http://wamc.org AQE Releases College & Career Readiness Report Card