MTA http://wamc.org en Sen. Gipson Discusses State Of The State Tax Proposals http://wamc.org/post/sen-gipson-discusses-state-state-tax-proposals <p></p><p>In his recent State of the State Address, New York Governor Andrew Cuomo called for a zero percent &nbsp;corporate income tax for manufacturers&nbsp;tax that locate in upstate New York, but one state Senator from the Hudson Valley says part of his district is being left out. Democrat Terry Gipson of the 41st district says the zero tax should also be offered in the counties that must now pay the MTA payroll tax: Westchester, Putnam, Orange, Rockland and Dutchess. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 20:50:00 +0000 Brian Shields 81998 at http://wamc.org Sen. Gipson Discusses State Of The State Tax Proposals Nova Bus In Northern NY Inks Another Contract http://wamc.org/post/nova-bus-northern-ny-inks-another-contract <p></p><p></p><p>A northern New York bus manufacturer has landed a contract to build 414 buses for New York City's Metropolitan Transit Authority. Fri, 20 Dec 2013 01:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 80262 at http://wamc.org Nova Bus In Northern NY Inks Another Contract More Bus Manufacturing Coming to Plattsburgh http://wamc.org/post/more-bus-manufacturing-coming-plattsburgh <p></p><p></p><p>A Canadian company has been awarded a nearly $165 million contract to build 300 New York City transit buses at its planned Plattsburgh facility. Fri, 26 Jul 2013 21:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 70119 at http://wamc.org More Bus Manufacturing Coming to Plattsburgh Conn. MTA Train Crash Highlights Need For Rail Investment in Berkshires http://wamc.org/post/conn-mta-train-crash-highlights-need-rail-investment-berkshires <p></p><p>The MTA train collision near Fairfield that injured 72 last Friday is still under investigation.</p><p>Connecticut Congresswoman Elizabeth Esty, a Democrat from the 5<sup>th</sup> District, said that investigators are still attempting to determine if the derailment was caused by track in disrepair or another factor. Esty, who said that a Congressional hearing will be held on railway safety later today, also said that funding to maintain one of the busiest railway corridors in the Northeast has been “an issue.”</p><p> Esty spoke on WAMC’s Congressional Corner…</p> Tue, 21 May 2013 16:34:02 +0000 Lucas Willard 65194 at http://wamc.org Conn. MTA Train Crash Highlights Need For Rail Investment in Berkshires Metro-North Works on a Ticket App http://wamc.org/post/metro-north-works-ticket-app <p>Metro-North customers may have another way to purchase their train tickets next year. They could use an app.</p><p> Tue, 29 Jan 2013 22:34:20 +0000 Allison Dunne 56786 at http://wamc.org Metro-North Works on a Ticket App It's Official: Lhota Has Entered the NYC Mayoral Race http://wamc.org/post/its-official-lhota-has-entered-nyc-mayoral-race <p></p><p></p><p>NEW YORK (AP) —The former transit official who led the New York City subway system's recovery from Superstorm Sandy has filed paperwork to run for mayor.</p><p> Thu, 17 Jan 2013 22:28:07 +0000 Allison Dunne 56010 at http://wamc.org It's Official: Lhota Has Entered the NYC Mayoral Race New York City Transit Officials Visit Plattsburgh Transit Manufacturing Plant http://wamc.org/post/new-york-city-transit-officials-visit-plattsburgh-transit-manufacturing-plant <p>The heads of the Metropolitan Transportation Authority and New York City Transit were in Plattsburgh Wednesday afternoon. &nbsp;<br> Wed, 17 Oct 2012 22:25:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 50072 at http://wamc.org New York City Transit Officials Visit Plattsburgh Transit Manufacturing Plant MTA's CEO Visits Dutchess County http://wamc.org/post/mtas-ceo-visits-dutchess-county <div><p>Metropolitan Transportation Authority Chairman and CEO Joe Lhota visited Dutchess County this week on a "goodwill mission" of sorts - Hudson Valley Bureau Chief Dave Lucas reports:</p><p></p><p>The MTA owns the Metro-North Railroad which operates the Hudson and Harlem lines in Dutchess County. Joe Lhota&nbsp; told a crowd of about 200 business people at a County Regional Chamber of Commerce breakfast that "It's a new day at the MTA."</p><p></p> Thu, 16 Aug 2012 20:34:06 +0000 Dave Lucas 45776 at http://wamc.org MTA's CEO Visits Dutchess County