lyme disease http://wamc.org en Study Finds One Tick Bite Can Deliver Multiple Infections http://wamc.org/post/study-finds-one-tick-bite-can-deliver-multiple-infections <p></p><p>A new study in New York reveals that ticks are more likely to be infected with several pathogens, not just the bacterium that causes Lyme disease. The ticks for the study were collected from Dutchess County.&nbsp;</p><p>People who are bitten by a blacklegged tick could be at higher risk of more than one infection. Felicia Keesing is a biology professor at Dutchess County-based Bard College and co-author of a new study.</p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 16:40:39 +0000 Allison Dunne 93331 at http://wamc.org Study Finds One Tick Bite Can Deliver Multiple Infections Morning Headlines With Mike Spain Of The Times Union http://wamc.org/post/morning-headlines-mike-spain-times-union-3 <p>WAMC's David Guistina talks with Mike Spain about potentially new diseases carried by deer ticks and late TV reporter Judy Sanders. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 11:37:00 +0000 Mike Spain 93299 at http://wamc.org Morning Headlines With Mike Spain Of The Times Union A Dutchess Institute Receives Grant To Study Lyme Disease http://wamc.org/post/dutchess-institute-receives-grant-study-lyme-disease <p></p><p>An ecological research center in the Hudson Valley has received federal funding for a study on Lyme disease.</p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 17:54:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 92044 at http://wamc.org A Dutchess Institute Receives Grant To Study Lyme Disease NY Congressman Introduces Lyme Disease Research Bill http://wamc.org/post/ny-congressman-introduces-lyme-disease-research-bill <p></p><p></p><p>A New York congressman has authored legislation to improve Lyme disease research efforts.</p> Sat, 24 May 2014 14:27:58 +0000 Allison Dunne 91220 at http://wamc.org NY Congressman Introduces Lyme Disease Research Bill Lyme Disease Forum Takes Place In Dutchess http://wamc.org/post/lyme-disease-forum-takes-place-dutchess <p></p><p></p><p>There will be an educational forum Wednesday morning in Dutchess County about Lyme disease prevention.</p> Wed, 14 May 2014 11:21:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 90377 at http://wamc.org Lyme Disease Forum Takes Place In Dutchess Lyme Disease Rx Legislation Passes NYS Assembly http://wamc.org/post/lyme-disease-rx-legislation-passes-nys-assembly <p></p><p></p><p>Legislation that authorizes physicians to prescribe long-term antibiotic therapy to a patient with symptoms of chronic Lyme disease has passed the New York State Assembly.</p> Wed, 14 May 2014 10:03:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 90378 at http://wamc.org Lyme Disease Rx Legislation Passes NYS Assembly Vermont Senate To Debate Lyme Disease Bill http://wamc.org/post/vermont-senate-debate-lyme-disease-bill <p></p><p></p><p>Doctors and other health professionals would be immune from professional conduct charges if they pursued a hotly debated course of treatment for Lyme disease under a bill given preliminary approval by the Vermont Senate. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 03:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 87950 at http://wamc.org Vermont Senate To Debate Lyme Disease Bill Vox Pop : Medical Monday - Dr. Richard Horowitz : 2/24/14 http://wamc.org/post/vox-pop-medical-monday-dr-richard-horowitz-22414 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Lyme disease affects 300,000 people each year in the United States, with many of those cases coming out of the northeast region. Joining us on this Medical Monday is Dr. Richard Horowitz, a board certified internist in private practice in the Hudson Valley who specializes in treating </span>lyme<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> disease—topic of great debate in the medical community in the last several years.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 17:32:00 +0000 84497 at http://wamc.org Vox Pop : Medical Monday - Dr. Richard Horowitz : 2/24/14 Lawmakers Host Forum On Lyme Disease Awareness http://wamc.org/post/lawmakers-host-forum-lyme-disease-awareness <p>State lawmakers hosted a forum in Glens Falls to raise awareness of Lyme disease in upstate New York today. The forum featured presentations from experts on the disease and its transmission.</p><p></p><p>Attendees packed the auditorium at the Crandall Public Library to hear from a panel of experts on the increasing prevalence of Lyme disease in New York. Presentations covered the disease and current research on tick-borne illness, and suggestions were made about what the state and federal government could do prevent infection in humans.</p> Fri, 04 Oct 2013 22:20:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 74962 at http://wamc.org Lawmakers Host Forum On Lyme Disease Awareness CDC Study Focuses on Spraying Pesticides and Tick-Borne Diseases http://wamc.org/post/cdc-study-focuses-spraying-pesticides-and-tick-borne-diseases <p>A new study from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention looks at whether spraying yards with pesticides reduces the risk of contracting a tick-borne disease. In New York, the study focused on Dutchess County.</p> Thu, 22 Aug 2013 17:22:55 +0000 Allison Dunne 72011 at http://wamc.org CDC Study Focuses on Spraying Pesticides and Tick-Borne Diseases