Vermont Primary http://wamc.org en Candidates File Campaign Finance Reports http://wamc.org/post/candidates-file-campaign-finance-reports <p></p><p>Republican candidate for governor, Scott Milne of Pomfret has logged contributions of more than $20,000 for his campaign this reporting period. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 00:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 94934 at http://wamc.org Candidates File Campaign Finance Reports Republican Milne Says Governor Bid A 'Long Shot' http://wamc.org/post/republican-milne-says-governor-bid-long-shot <p></p><p></p><p>The Republican businessman who hopes to unseat Democratic incumbent Governor Peter Shumlin in November says he knows it's a long shot. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 00:40:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 92496 at http://wamc.org Republican Milne Says Governor Bid A 'Long Shot' Bill Would Move Vermont Primary to Early August http://wamc.org/post/bill-would-move-vermont-primary-early-august <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont Senate is considering a bill that would move up the state's primary election to early August. Tue, 09 Apr 2013 23:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 61839 at http://wamc.org Bill Would Move Vermont Primary to Early August Vermont Secretary of State Calls for Earlier State Primary http://wamc.org/post/vermont-secretary-state-calls-earlier-state-primary <p>Vermont Secretary of State Jim Condos plans in the upcoming session to ask lawmakers to move Vermont's primary for state offices to an earlier date.<br>&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp;<br>General election ballots must be mailed 45 days before Election Day to military and other overseas voters. This is the second election cycle in a row in Vermont in which a gubernatorial primary recount has raised fears the state won't make that federal deadline. Secretary of State Jim Condos says the August primary needs to be moved to an earlier date, perhaps as early as May or June.<br> Tue, 18 Sep 2012 22:20:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 48161 at http://wamc.org Donovan Concedes AG Primary Race to Sorrell http://wamc.org/post/donovan-concedes-ag-primary-race-sorrell <p>Republican attorney general candidate Jack McMullen says he is going to focus his campaign and the attorney general's office more on fighting crime.<br><br>He says Attorney General Bill Sorrell has focused his efforts on consumer protection and civil matters.<br><br>McMullen held a press conference on Wednesday in the yard of a Burlington homeowner whose neighborhood has seen a rash of drug-related property crimes.<br><br>Sorrell won the Democratic nomination in a close primary with challenger T.J. Donovan.<br><br><em>Copyright 2012 Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.</em></p> Wed, 29 Aug 2012 21:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 46718 at http://wamc.org Vermont Votes in Primary to Decide AG, GOP Senate http://wamc.org/post/vermont-votes-primary-decide-ag-gop-senate <p>Secretary of State Jim Condos says turnout is light as Vermonters head to the polls for the state's primary election.<br><br>Condos estimates between 8 and 10 percent of Vermont's registered voters will go to the polls Tuesday.<br><br>He attributes the light turnout to the lack of high-profile contests.<br><br>The interest that has drawn the most outside interest is the Democratic race for attorney general.<br><br>Chittenden County State's Attorney T.J. Donovan is challenging incumbent William Sorrell.<br> Tue, 28 Aug 2012 21:20:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 46619 at http://wamc.org