Greene County http://wamc.org en State Police Raid Town Muni Building http://wamc.org/post/state-police-raid-town-muni-building <p></p><p></p><p>People in a Greene County town are scratching their heads after state troopers swooped in on the municipal building.</p> Mon, 24 Mar 2014 22:07:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 86591 at http://wamc.org State Police Raid Town Muni Building Election Day In Most Of NY's Villages http://wamc.org/post/election-day-most-nys-villages <p></p><p>Many villages across New York are holding elections today. One of those contests is a showdown between a longtime incumbent Democratic mayor and a prominent local Republican business owner.</p> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 16:16:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 86092 at http://wamc.org Election Day In Most Of NY's Villages New Arts Center Coming To Greene County http://wamc.org/post/new-arts-center-coming-greene-county <p>A new center for the performing arts is coming to the Village of Catskill.<br /><br /><iframe allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/9WUm01ZFQvI?rel=0" width="420"></iframe></p> Tue, 04 Feb 2014 21:22:14 +0000 Dave Lucas 83198 at http://wamc.org Local Leader Hospitalized http://wamc.org/post/local-leader-hospitalized <p></p><p>The head of an area legislative body has been hospitalized.&nbsp; Greene County Administrator Shaun Groden tells the Catskill Daily Mail that County Legislature chairman Wayne Speenburgh was admitted to the emergency room at Albany Medical Center around 9 a.m. Tuesday. He is reportedly conscious and alert. The paper says little else is known about the 68-year old's illness or how long he will stay at the hospital.&nbsp; The legislature's next meeting is set to take place January 8th. Groden expects Speenburgh have returned to his duties by that time.</p> Fri, 20 Dec 2013 18:56:22 +0000 Dave Lucas 80345 at http://wamc.org NY Program On Flood & Climate Change Preparedness A Success http://wamc.org/post/ny-program-flood-climate-change-preparedness-success <p></p><p>The Hudson Estuary Watershed Resiliency Project is an educational initiative designed to help municipal officials and stream-side landowners throughout the Hudson Valley prepare for floods and climate change. The program has been moving forward, and is being heralded as a successful one.</p><p>Educators from the Cornell Cooperative Extension associations in Columbia, Greene, Dutchess, Orange and Putnam counties have been teaching flood preparedness to officials and landowners in 37 Hudson Valley municipalities.</p> Tue, 15 Oct 2013 14:50:54 +0000 Dave Lucas 75585 at http://wamc.org NY Program On Flood & Climate Change Preparedness A Success Windham Mobile Service On "Hold" http://wamc.org/post/windham-mobile-service-hold <p><span style="font-family: monospace; font-size: 16px; line-height: normal; ">Officials in Windham concede telecommunication capabilities in the community are NOT likely to improve in the immediate future...&nbsp;</span><br style="font-family: monospace; font-size: 16px; line-height: normal; " /><br style="font-family: monospace; font-size: 16px; line-height: normal; " /><span style="font-family: monospace; font-size: 16px; line-height: normal; ">Recovery has been a slow process in the wake of Hurricane Irene, which devastated the Greene County town a few years ago.&nbsp;</span><br style="fo Sun, 13 Oct 2013 10:55:21 +0000 Dave Lucas 75481 at http://wamc.org Windham Mobile Service On "Hold" Services Set For 3 NYers Killed In Afghanistan http://wamc.org/post/services-set-3-nyers-killed-afghanistan <p>Funeral services are set for the three New Yorkers who were killed by a man they were training in the Afghan security forces.</p><p>The funeral for 54-year-old Joseph Morabito will be held this morning at a church in Haines Falls in Greene County.</p><p>The military funeral for 40-year-old Lt. Col. Todd Clark will be Tuesday afternoon at a church in the Albany suburb of Guilderland. He'll be buried at Fort Sam Houston National Cemetery in San Antonio, Texas.</p> Mon, 17 Jun 2013 11:52:32 +0000 Jaired Crofut 67178 at http://wamc.org Services Set For 3 NYers Killed In Afghanistan Prattsville Flood Recovery: A Progress Report http://wamc.org/post/prattsville-flood-recovery-progress-report <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Most Catskill Mountain communities have recovered from the damage wrought by twin storms Irene and Lee nearly two years ago. Things are not quite back to normal for hard-hit </span>Prattsville<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> —&nbsp; the town that, for a time, became a poster child for hurricane destruction in New York.</span></p> Tue, 26 Feb 2013 17:16:07 +0000 Dave Lucas 58603 at http://wamc.org Prattsville Flood Recovery: A Progress Report Gary Harvey - Superintendant, Greene County Highway Department http://wamc.org/post/gary-harvey-superintendant-greene-county-highway-department <p>One year after Tropical Storm Irene, repair crews remain busy in Greene County New York, where the reconstruction is expected to cost as much as $15 million on roads, bridges and culverts. For an update, WAMC’s Brian Shields spoke with Gary Harvey, the superintendent of the Greene County Highway Department.</p> Thu, 30 Aug 2012 16:35:00 +0000 Brian Shields 46783 at http://wamc.org Gary Harvey - Superintendant, Greene County Highway Department