skiing http://wamc.org en Gold Medal Skier Greets Fans In Pittsfield http://wamc.org/post/gold-medal-skier-greets-fans-pittsfield <p>Olympic gold medal skier Mikaela Shiffrin was in Pittsfield, Massachusetts Wednesday meeting fans and ski enthusiasts.</p><p>Matthew Shields was just one in the line of people twisted around the confines of <a href="http://plaines.com/" target="_blank">Plaine’s Bike, Ski &amp; Snowboard</a> shop and out the door.</p><p>“Can you sign this, a postcard and my arm?” Shields asked Shiffrin, who obliged. &nbsp;</p> Thu, 10 Apr 2014 22:10:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 87946 at http://wamc.org Gold Medal Skier Greets Fans In Pittsfield Ski Deaths Spike This Season In Northeast http://wamc.org/post/ski-deaths-spike-season-northeast <p></p><p></p><p>There have been several deaths at ski areas across the region this season. But is it an unusual number? Thu, 27 Mar 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 86871 at http://wamc.org Ski Deaths Spike This Season In Northeast Thunderbolt Ski Race Celebrates History Of Mountain's Trailblazers http://wamc.org/post/thunderbolt-ski-race-celebrates-history-mountains-trailblazers <p>A unique ski race on Mount Greylock Saturday celebrates the history of those who braved the mountain’s trails years ago.</p><p>Art Bourdon grew up skiing the Thunderbolt Trail on Mount Greylock in Adams, Massachusetts.</p><p>“It’s a rough trail and when we were skiing it, the equipment we had was practically nothing, you know?” Bourdon said chuckling. “Just a strap around the ski.”</p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 17:50:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 84864 at http://wamc.org Thunderbolt Ski Race Celebrates History Of Mountain's Trailblazers Adirondack Senator Discusses Effort To Open Ski Museum In North Creek http://wamc.org/post/adirondack-senator-discusses-effort-open-ski-museum-north-creek <p></p><p>State Senator Betty Little is leading an effort to establish a museum showcasing the history of skiing in New York in the town of North Creek, home of Gore Mountain.</p><p></p><p>WAMC's Southern Adirondack Bureau Chief Lucas Willard spoke with Senator Little about the ongoing effort.</p> Thu, 26 Dec 2013 23:20:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 80684 at http://wamc.org Adirondack Senator Discusses Effort To Open Ski Museum In North Creek Record Number of Ski Areas Open Early http://wamc.org/post/record-number-ski-areas-open-early <p></p><p></p><p>A record number of ski areas in the region have opened before Thanksgiving this year. And it’s not just alpine areas. Nordic ski centers are among the resorts capitalizing on early winter conditions. Tue, 26 Nov 2013 22:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 78668 at http://wamc.org Record Number of Ski Areas Open Early Resorts Begin Opening Slopes for Ski Season http://wamc.org/post/resorts-begin-opening-slopes-ski-season <p></p><p></p><p>It may be mid-October, but the ski season is beginning. Resorts in the Northeast are announcing that trails will be open this weekend. Fri, 25 Oct 2013 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 76370 at http://wamc.org Resorts Begin Opening Slopes for Ski Season New Hampshire Ski Resorts Report More Than 2.5M Visitors in 2012-2013 http://wamc.org/post/new-hampshire-ski-resorts-report-more-25m-visitors-2012-2013 <p></p><p></p><p>An association representing New Hampshire's ski resorts says they hosted more than 2.5 million skier, snowboarder and snowtubing visits last winter. Fri, 14 Jun 2013 00:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 66961 at http://wamc.org New Hampshire Ski Resorts Report More Than 2.5M Visitors in 2012-2013 NH Lawmakers to Vote on Ski Pass Bill http://wamc.org/post/nh-lawmakers-vote-ski-pass-bill <p></p><p>Lawmakers in New Hampshire are set to determine the fate of a bill that would grant themselves free ski passes.</p><p>WMUR-TV reports that the Legislative Administration Committee is leaning towards a decision to halt a bill that would provide lawmakers with ski passes to the Cannon Mountain ski area.</p><p>For adults, a one-day pass at Cannon runs $70.</p><p>Supporters of the bill say the free-pass for lawmakers would promote New Hampshire culture, parks, and business. Opponents are arguing that enough use of a free pass would eclipse lawmakers’ own salary.</p> Wed, 20 Feb 2013 02:00:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 58142 at http://wamc.org Ski Areas Eagerly Anticipate Heavy Snow Fall http://wamc.org/post/ski-areas-eagerly-anticipate-heavy-snow-fall <p>A forecasted heavy winter storm is good news for area ski resorts and winter sports enthusiasts.<br><br>The winter storm that is expected to bring up to a foot and a half of snow to the region is coming during a key weekend for ski resorts.&nbsp; The Christmas to New Year holiday week accounts for substantial revenues, and Mad River Glen Spokesman Eric Friedman says a deep natural snowfall will bring more skiiers to the slopes.<br> Wed, 26 Dec 2012 17:20:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 54547 at http://wamc.org Ski Areas Eagerly Anticipate Heavy Snow Fall Ski Areas Across the Region Opening Early http://wamc.org/post/ski-areas-across-region-opening-early <p>Several of the larger ski areas in Vermont and northern New York have opened, ahead of the&nbsp; scheduled, and traditional, Thanksgiving Day weekend.<br> Tue, 20 Nov 2012 17:20:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 52404 at http://wamc.org