mosquitoes http://wamc.org en The Best of Our Knowledge #1218 http://wamc.org/post/best-our-knowledge-1218 <p></p><p>As our understanding of the minds of children with autism continues to grow, new methods are being used to both evaluate and nurture those children. Today on the Best Of Our Knowledge, we’ll hear about research published last summer from scientists at Indiana University about new ways to interact with these young people.</p><p>We’ll also go to a science fair.&nbsp; And not one of those Mentos and Diet Coke volcano science fairs.&nbsp; This one has actual science.&nbsp; Plus we’ll spend an academic minute finding out how mosquitoes smell.</p> Wed, 22 Jan 2014 07:00:00 +0000 Bob Barrett 82194 at http://wamc.org West Nile Virus Confirmed in Pittsfield, Spraying Scheduled http://wamc.org/post/west-nile-virus-confirmed-pittsfield-spraying-scheduled <p>West Nile Virus has been detected in Pittsfield, and health officials are responding.</p> Mon, 26 Aug 2013 21:43:34 +0000 Jim Levulis 72255 at http://wamc.org West Nile Virus Confirmed in Pittsfield, Spraying Scheduled Officials Warn Against Increased Mosquito Activity, Disease http://wamc.org/post/officials-warn-against-increased-mosquito-activity-disease <p></p><p>Officials are warning that the recent wet weather in the Northeast could have an effect on the amount of mosquitoes, and precautions are being taken to control the risk of disease that could be passed on to people and animals.&nbsp;</p><p></p> Mon, 03 Jun 2013 16:30:08 +0000 Lucas Willard 66205 at http://wamc.org Officials Warn Against Increased Mosquito Activity, Disease Mosquito Monitoring Programs Under Review in Vermont http://wamc.org/post/mosquito-monitoring-programs-under-review-vermont <p>Vermont officials are reviewing the state mosquito monitoring program following two deaths from a rare disease carried by the insects.<br> Thu, 20 Sep 2012 16:20:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 48295 at http://wamc.org Mosquito Monitoring Programs Under Review in Vermont CT Officials Confirm West Nile Virus in Horses http://wamc.org/post/ct-officials-confirm-west-nile-virus-horses <p>Connecticut agriculture officials have reported the year's first domestic animal cases of West Nile virus. WAMC’s Lucas Willard reports…</p><p>The Department of Agriculture said Tuesday that a 4-year-old horse from Southbury showed symptoms of lethargy and stumbling on its front feet in late August. The horse developed a fever and became progressively more depressed and uncoordinated.</p><p>A blood sample was found positive for the virus. The horse was treated and is recovering.</p> Thu, 13 Sep 2012 00:00:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 47732 at http://wamc.org CT Officials Confirm West Nile Virus in Horses Eastern Equine Encephalitis Causes One Death in Vermont http://wamc.org/post/eastern-equine-encephalitis-causes-one-death-vermont <p>One of two people in Vermont infected with the mosquito-borne virus Eastern Equine Encephalitis has died.<br>The Vermont Health Department says 87-year-old Richard H. Breen of Brandon, who once served as head of the Vermont Principals' Association, is the state's first victim of Eastern Equine Encephalitis.</p> Wed, 05 Sep 2012 16:20:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 47168 at http://wamc.org Eastern Equine Encephalitis Causes One Death in Vermont