andrew cuomo http://wamc.org en Astorino Undeterred By Lopsided Poll http://wamc.org/post/astorino-undeterred-lopsided-poll <p>The Republican candidate Rob Astorino is 30 points behind incumbent New York Governor Andrew Cuomo in the polls. But the candidate is undeterred, he says has identified a path to victory in the fall elections. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 22:06:00 +0000 Karen DeWitt 88934 at http://wamc.org Astorino Undeterred By Lopsided Poll Study Finds New Yorkers Don't Want School Mergers http://wamc.org/post/study-finds-new-yorkers-dont-want-school-mergers <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo and the legislature approved a plan in the state budget to encourage local governments and schools to merge and share services over the next few years in an attempt to lower property taxes. &nbsp;But according to a study by school administrators, attempts at school district mergers in recent years have failed, partly because the public doesn’t want them. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 22:10:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 88671 at http://wamc.org Study Finds New Yorkers Don't Want School Mergers Documents Show New York's Fracking Health Study Is Ongoing http://wamc.org/post/documents-show-new-yorks-fracking-health-study-ongoing <p>Documents obtained by a group opposed to hydrofracking in New York show that the Cuomo Administration is conducting a thorough and comprehensive health study on the controversial natural gas drilling process. The Finger Lakes-based organization is wondering, why then, the review has been conducted almost entirely in secret. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 16:14:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 88635 at http://wamc.org Documents Show New York's Fracking Health Study Is Ongoing Cideries Now On Menu At New York Distillery Summit http://wamc.org/post/cideries-now-menu-new-york-distillery-summit <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo Tuesday hosted a second beer, wine, spirits — and now, cider —&nbsp;&nbsp; summit to showcase one of the state’s few growth industries. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 16:04:48 +0000 Karen Dewitt 87697 at http://wamc.org Cideries Now On Menu At New York Distillery Summit New York Lawmakers Closer To Budget Agreement http://wamc.org/post/new-york-lawmakers-closer-budget-agreement <p>New York legislative leaders say they are working together and are close to a budget agreement, after a blowup that left the Senate and Assembly leaders negotiating separately with Governor Andrew Cuomo. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 22:06:00 +0000 Karen DeWitt 86678 at http://wamc.org New York Lawmakers Closer To Budget Agreement Cuomo: No Decision On Lieutenant Governor http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-no-decision-lieutenant-governor <p>Speaking with reporters Tuesday in central New York,&nbsp; Governor Andrew Cuomo refuted reports that he has had discussions with Onondaga County Executive Joanie Mahoney about whether the Republican could replace Lieutenant Governor Robert Duffy on the ballot in November. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 20:13:41 +0000 Jessica Marshall 86665 at http://wamc.org Cuomo: No Decision On Lieutenant Governor Advocates Push For School Aid; Poll Shows Dissatisfaction http://wamc.org/post/advocates-push-school-aid-poll-shows-dissatisfaction <p>Education funding advocates, including actress Cynthia Nixon, made a last minute pitch for extra money for schools in the state budget. Meanwhile, a new poll finds many New Yorkers think the quality of education in the state is deteriorating. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 22:10:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 86596 at http://wamc.org Advocates Push For School Aid; Poll Shows Dissatisfaction Vox Pop : Open Forum on 3/11/14 : Charter Schools http://wamc.org/post/vox-pop-open-forum-31114-charter-schools <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Last week, New York City Mayor Bill de </span>Blasio<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> announced he would revoke the city's offer of free classrooms in public schools for three&nbsp;charter&nbsp;schools. Enraged parents filed a historic lawsuit against the city yesterday, re-igniting a firestorm debate over charter schools.</span></p><p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 16:30:00 +0000 85575 at http://wamc.org Vox Pop : Open Forum on 3/11/14 : Charter Schools NY Assembly, Senate Budget Plans Due http://wamc.org/post/ny-assembly-senate-budget-plans-due <p>Budget negotiations are expected to get serious at the New York State Capitol this week, with the spending plan due at the end of the month.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Senate and Assembly are due to put out their one house budget resolutions on Wednesday, the first step toward reaching a final deal with Governor Andrew Cuomo later this month.</span></p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 20:25:17 +0000 Karen Dewitt 85370 at http://wamc.org NY Assembly, Senate Budget Plans Due 3/5/14 Panel http://wamc.org/post/3514-panel <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Today's panelists are WAMC’s Alan Chartock, newsman Ray Graf and University at Albany Journalism Professor and Investigative Reporter, Rosemary Armao.</p><p>Ukraine<br />License Program<br />Cuomo V. De Blasio<br />Murder Trial</p><p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Joe Donahue 85156 at http://wamc.org 3/5/14 Panel