Vermont Department of Health http://wamc.org en Vermont Set To Ban Smoking In Cars With Kids http://wamc.org/post/vermont-set-ban-smoking-cars-kids <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont's top public health official is hopeful a series of new laws restricting smoking will encourage more people to quit. Sat, 28 Jun 2014 00:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 93658 at http://wamc.org Vermont Set To Ban Smoking In Cars With Kids VT Officials Say State Has Health Inequalities http://wamc.org/post/vt-officials-say-state-has-health-inequalities <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont Department of Health says there are health inequalities across the state. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 02:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 86772 at http://wamc.org VT Officials Say State Has Health Inequalities VT Warns Of Carbon Monoxide Poisoning http://wamc.org/post/vt-warns-carbon-monoxide-poisoning <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont Department of Health is warning residents to be careful with generators and other equipment after the weekend ice storm resulted in a spike in carbon monoxide poisonings. Tue, 24 Dec 2013 02:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 80507 at http://wamc.org VT Warns Of Carbon Monoxide Poisoning VT Tells Addicts: Time to Quit Smoking, Too http://wamc.org/post/vt-tells-addicts-time-quit-smoking-too <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont Department of Health is pushing to make state-funded addiction treatment centers tobacco-free by next year. Wed, 23 Oct 2013 03:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 76106 at http://wamc.org VT Tells Addicts: Time to Quit Smoking, Too Horse with EEE Euthanized in Vermont http://wamc.org/post/horse-eee-euthanized-vermont <p></p><p></p><p>The Vermont Department of Health says a horse in the town of Highgate has been euthanized as a result of becoming ill from Eastern equine encephalitis. Thu, 05 Sep 2013 01:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 72883 at http://wamc.org Horse with EEE Euthanized in Vermont Vermont Officials Break Ground on New Health Lab http://wamc.org/post/vermont-officials-break-ground-new-health-lab <p></p><p></p><p>A groundbreaking ceremony was held Monday&nbsp; for a state-of-the-art new laboratory for the Vermont Department of Health. Mon, 29 Apr 2013 23:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 63427 at http://wamc.org Vermont Officials Break Ground on New Health Lab Radon Testing at Child-Care Centers in 4 Vermont Towns http://wamc.org/post/radon-testing-child-care-centers-4-vermont-towns <p></p><p>The Vermont Department of Health is testing child-care centers for radon in four Northeast Kingdom communities.<br><br>The testing is mandated by Head Start and included in the EPA's plan to reduce the risk of radon in schools and other child-care facilities. Tue, 05 Mar 2013 04:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 59062 at http://wamc.org Health Department Changes Immunization Form Following Complaints http://wamc.org/post/health-department-changes-immunization-form-following-complaints <p>The Vermont Legislature’s Joint Committee on Administrative Rules held a hearing Thursday on new rules that will be implemented regarding immunization opt out rules for parents following new regulations passed by the state.<br> Fri, 30 Nov 2012 23:20:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 53097 at http://wamc.org Vermont Expands Ban on Bath Salts http://wamc.org/post/vermont-expands-ban-bath-salts <p>The Vermont Department of Health has issued an <a href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/regs/documents/regulated_drugs_emergency_rule_122912.pdf ">emergency rule</a> to further crack down on the sale of designer drugs known as bath salts.<br><br>Governor Peter Shumlin's office announced that the Health Department will expand the list of bath salt and compounds that are illegal to sell, make or possess in the state to include derivatives. &nbsp;<br> Thu, 06 Sep 2012 20:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 47297 at http://wamc.org