elections 2012 http://wamc.org en Question of the Day - Who Will Win? http://wamc.org/post/question-day-who-will-win Since all the public opinion polls and experts are predicting a close race between President Barack Obama and Republican challenger Mitt Romney Tuesday, we though our question of the day would put you on the spot and ask – Who do you predict is going to win the Presidential Election? <p> We are not asking who should, or who you want – just who you think is going to win. Tue, 06 Nov 2012 13:58:48 +0000 Joe Donahue 51405 at http://wamc.org Boss Rove by Craig Unger http://wamc.org/post/boss-rove-craig-unger <p>The 2012 presidential contest between President Barack Obama and Republican candidate Mitt Romney represents the comeback of GOP boss Karl Rove, according to Vanity Fair investigative reporter Craig Unger. Tue, 30 Oct 2012 14:10:00 +0000 Joe Donahue 50907 at http://wamc.org Boss Rove by Craig Unger Fact Check: Romney's Stance on Gun Control http://wamc.org/post/fact-check-romneys-stance-gun-control <p>In last night’s presidential debate, former Governor of Massachusetts Mitt Romney stated that while in Boston both sides came together to create an assault weapons ban. But is that statement accurate? WAMC’s Lucas Willard did some fact-checking and filed this report.</p><p>In last night’s presidential debate, moderator Candy Crowley pressed Mitt Romney’s stance on a federal assault weapons ban – asking why he came from supporting an assault weapons ban in Massachusetts to not supporting a federal ban. This was his response.</p> Wed, 17 Oct 2012 22:00:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 50065 at http://wamc.org Fact Check: Romney's Stance on Gun Control Question of the Day - Debate Reaction? http://wamc.org/post/question-day-debate-reaction <p>What are your reactions to last night's Presidential Debate?</p> Wed, 17 Oct 2012 13:15:39 +0000 Joe Donahue 50018 at http://wamc.org Question of the Day - How Close is the Presidential Election? http://wamc.org/post/question-day-how-close-presidential-election <p>How close do you think the 2012 Presidential Election is, really?</p> Mon, 15 Oct 2012 13:15:00 +0000 Joe Donahue 49836 at http://wamc.org Political Action Committee Sends Absentee Ballot Mailings for Scott Brown http://wamc.org/post/political-action-committee-sends-absentee-ballot-mailings-scott-brown <p>A political action committee backing Republican U.S. Sen. Scott Brown is sending out a new mailing telling voters how to cast absentee ballots in Massachusetts.</p><p>The group America 360 announced earlier this week that it was ramping up its efforts on behalf of Brown, who is facing a challenge from Democratic candidate Elizabeth Warren.</p><p>The mailing, which includes forms voters can use to request absentee ballots, calls Brown a "new independent voice" and says Warren is "hyper-partisan" and out of touch.</p> Fri, 12 Oct 2012 23:00:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 49763 at http://wamc.org Political Action Committee Sends Absentee Ballot Mailings for Scott Brown Undocumented Youths Advocate for DREAM Act Ahead of Elections http://wamc.org/post/undocumented-youths-advocate-dream-act-ahead-elections <p>Undocumented youths across the country are seeking to bring attention to Congressional candidates who oppose the DREAM Act. WAMC’s Lucas Willard reports…</p><p>The DRM Action Coalition hosted a conference call this week where young undocumented activists announced the candidates they wish to bring attention to for their opposition to the DREAM Act. In 2010, the House of Representatives passed the original DREAM Act, but the bill was filibustered in the Senate. Now, ahead of the upcoming election, young DREAMers are speaking out.</p> Thu, 11 Oct 2012 20:28:42 +0000 Lucas Willard 49664 at http://wamc.org Mass. Senate Candidates Differ Sharply on Taxes http://wamc.org/post/mass-senate-candidates-differ-sharply-taxes <p>Republican Senator Scott Brown and Democratic challenger Elizabeth Warren have sharp differences when it comes to taxes, with both claiming their policies would lower taxes for the middle class.</p><p>Brown and Warren both support extending Bush-era tax cuts for families earning less than $250,000 per year. Warren, however, wants the cuts to expire after December 31 for those above that income level, while Brown would extend cuts for Americans in all tax brackets.</p> Mon, 08 Oct 2012 19:17:36 +0000 Lucas Willard 49448 at http://wamc.org Mass. Senate Candidates Differ Sharply on Taxes Groups Urge Candidates Be Questioned About Money in Politics During Debate http://wamc.org/post/groups-urge-candidates-be-questioned-about-money-politics-during-debate <p>During tonight’s presidential debate, citizen groups are calling for the issue of campaign financing to be raised to candidates Mitt Romney and President Barack Obama. WAMC’s Berkshire Bureau Chief Lucas Willard reports…</p> Wed, 03 Oct 2012 20:43:09 +0000 Lucas Willard 49217 at http://wamc.org Groups Urge Candidates Be Questioned About Money in Politics During Debate Advocacy Group Compares Obama and Romney on Health Care http://wamc.org/post/advocacy-group-compares-obama-and-romney-health-care <p>A non-partisan group has determined that families buying health insurance would pay about twice as much under Mitt Romney than President Barack Obama. WAMC’s Lucas Willard reports…</p><p>In a study completed by the national non-profit Familes USA, researches determined that families buying health insurance would pay far more under Mitt Romney’s proposals than President Obama’s signature health care law by 2016, the last year of the next elected president’s term.</p> Thu, 27 Sep 2012 22:16:46 +0000 Lucas Willard 48878 at http://wamc.org Advocacy Group Compares Obama and Romney on Health Care