bicycling http://wamc.org en Carey Institute For Global Good To Screen ‘The Armstrong Lie’ http://wamc.org/post/carey-institute-global-good-screen-armstrong-lie <p>The Carey Institute in Rensselaerville is organizing a large cycling festival, to take place this fall.&nbsp; To gear up for that, the Institute has taken a stand on doping in the sport of cycling: tonight they are screening the "Armstrong Lie" documentary to be followed by a panel discussion featuring professional cyclists.</p><p></p><p></p> Sat, 22 Mar 2014 16:36:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 86419 at http://wamc.org Carey Institute For Global Good To Screen ‘The Armstrong Lie’ Bicycles: Viable Automobile Alternatives http://wamc.org/post/bicycles-viable-automobile-alternatives <p></p><p>An analysis of the 100 largest urban areas in the country found that since 2000, fewer commuters are using cars to get to work. In fact, in most cities, the use of public transportation has been rising since 2005, and more people are biking to work — even in winter.</p> Mon, 16 Dec 2013 18:41:32 +0000 Dave Lucas 79962 at http://wamc.org Bicycles: Viable Automobile Alternatives First Bike Lanes Designated In Springfield http://wamc.org/post/first-bike-lanes-designated-springfield <p>Although bike lanes are a common sight on many urban streets, the third- largest city in Massachusetts only recently opened its first designated lanes for bicycles.&nbsp; But plans are in the works to make Springfield a more bicycle and pedestrian friendly city</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 25 Nov 2013 23:26:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 78555 at http://wamc.org First Bike Lanes Designated In Springfield Community Leaders Discuss Biking In The Northern Berkshires http://wamc.org/post/community-leaders-discuss-biking-northern-berkshires <p></p><p></p><p>A community forum focused on biking in the Northern Berkshires was recently held, where panelists discussed the challenges and future for expanding the potential for biking in the region.</p><p></p><p>Jonathan Butler, Adams Town Administrator, said that that the Ashuwillticook Rail Trail – an 11.2 mile railroad corridor turned bike path that runs from Lanesborough up through Adams – has had an impact on the town’s economy that he calls “nothing short of significant”.</p> Fri, 17 May 2013 21:35:21 +0000 Lucas Willard 64976 at http://wamc.org Community Leaders Discuss Biking In The Northern Berkshires Green Your Commute http://wamc.org/post/green-your-commute <p>Today is the day to embrace "People Power" across the land.<br><br>That "People Power" is being expressed as "pedal power" - it is <a href="http://www.icommutesd.com/events/bike-to-work-day">"National Bike To Work Day,"</a> celebrated annually coast-to-coast on the third Friday in May, which happens to be National Bike Month. The New York adaptation is "Green Your Commute Day" - it is being championed by New York State Department of Environmental Conservation Commissioner Joe Martens.<br> Fri, 17 May 2013 15:49:16 +0000 Dave Lucas 64934 at http://wamc.org Green Your Commute Safer Streets For Albany http://wamc.org/post/safer-streets-albany <p></p><p>Safe streets are the goal of every major city. Albany is no exception, as details begin to surface regarding plans to improve traffic flow while accomodating pedestrians and cyclists. Capital Region Bureau Chief Dave Lucas reports.</p> Fri, 08 Mar 2013 20:38:48 +0000 Dave Lucas 59455 at http://wamc.org Martin Daley - Parks and Trails New York http://wamc.org/post/martin-daley-parks-and-trails-new-york <p>If you are so inclined, and your legs are up to it, you could bicycle all the way from lower Manhattan to Albany with the help of a new booklet that outlines the routes and the points of interest along the way. The booklet, <em>Cycling the Hudson Valley - A Guide to History, Art and Nature on the East and West Sides of the Majestic Hudson River</em>, is published by Parks and Trails New York. Martin Daley is the organization’s project manager. He spoke with WAMC’s Brian Shields.</p> Thu, 13 Sep 2012 16:40:00 +0000 Brian Shields 47795 at http://wamc.org