Clearwater http://wamc.org en Remembering Pete Seeger & His Music http://wamc.org/post/remembering-pete-seeger-his-music <p>His music catalog and social activism spanned six decades, but now a major folk voice has been silenced. Beacon resident Pete Seeger died Monday night in&nbsp; New York City&nbsp; after being hospitalized for six days.<br />&nbsp;</p><p></p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 17:53:41 +0000 Dave Lucas 82734 at http://wamc.org Remembering Pete Seeger & His Music A Bridge In His Honor http://wamc.org/post/bridge-his-honor <p></p><p>A town official in the Hudson Valley is writing to New York state officials, urging them to consider naming a bridge in honor and in memory of Pete Seeger, who passed away today.</p><p>Pete Seeger employed his music in a push for a cleaner river in the 1960s (long before others took on the cause).</p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 14:56:20 +0000 Dave Lucas 82713 at http://wamc.org A Bridge In His Honor Friends Remember Toshi Seeger http://wamc.org/post/friends-remember-toshi-seeger <p>Toshi Seeger died Tuesday at the age of 91. The wife of folk music legend Peter Seeger is being remembered as an activist, filmmaker, and a woman with a profound influence on her husband.</p><p>Hal Cohen is a founding member of Beacon-based Clearwater, an environmental organization of which Pete Seeger is also a founding member.</p><p>Cohen says she was a role model for him, and helped with such challenges like founding Clearwater.</p> Thu, 11 Jul 2013 17:49:02 +0000 Allison Dunne 68985 at http://wamc.org Friends Remember Toshi Seeger NRC Grades Indian Point; Plant Opponents Grade The NRC http://wamc.org/post/nrc-grades-indian-point-plant-opponents-grade-nrc <p>The Nuclear Regulatory Commission is holding a public meeting and open house this evening to discuss the Commission’s recent safety assessment of the Indian Point nuclear power plant in Westchester County. Earlier today, Indian Point opponents issued their own report card, grading the NRC.</p><p>A number of leaders of environmental and citizens’ groups stood near the Hudson River in Peekskill Tuesday, with the Indian Point power plant reactors in the background. Former Democratic New York State Assemblyman Richard Brodsky was among them.</p> Tue, 14 May 2013 22:52:56 +0000 Allison Dunne 64684 at http://wamc.org NRC Grades Indian Point; Plant Opponents Grade The NRC Anti-Fracking Initiative Launches in the Hudson Valley http://wamc.org/post/anti-fracking-initiative-launches-hudson-valley <p>In New York today, in Kingston, a new anti-fracking group announced its formation. A number of environmentalists and elected officials are on board with the initiative that stems from the Hudson Valley.</p> Tue, 09 Apr 2013 23:31:04 +0000 Allison Dunne 61854 at http://wamc.org Anti-Fracking Initiative Launches in the Hudson Valley A Winter Home For Clearwater http://wamc.org/post/winter-home-clearwater <p>A day-long barn-raising Saturday along the Rondout Creek puts the finishing touch on a winter homeport for the sloop Clearwater - Hudson Valley Bureau Chief Dave Lucas reports<br><br><br>In January, the state announced $400,000 would be given to the Hudson River Maritime Museum to help pay for the construction of a permanent homeport for the Hudson River Sloop Clearwater. The grant was to be matched by the Clearwater organization and the museum. An additional $125,000 grant was secured --- Clearwater Board President Allan Shope donated timber and architectural services<br> Fri, 14 Sep 2012 19:58:57 +0000 Dave Lucas 47904 at http://wamc.org A Winter Home For Clearwater