casino referendum http://wamc.org en Gambling Commission Won't Wait On Referendum For Licensing Decision http://wamc.org/post/gambling-commission-wont-wait-referendum-licensing-decision <p>The Massachusetts Gaming Commission will not delay a decision on awarding the state’s most lucrative casino license until after the state’s voters weigh in on the fate of casino gambling.&nbsp; It means the locations of proposed casinos will likely be settled by the time voters go to the polls in November.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 22:27:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 93976 at http://wamc.org Gambling Commission Won't Wait On Referendum For Licensing Decision Casino Repeal Question Will Be On Massachusetts Ballot http://wamc.org/post/casino-repeal-question-will-be-massachusetts-ballot <p>Massachusetts’ highest court ruled today that a question asking voters to repeal the state’s casino law can go on the November ballot.&nbsp; It sets up what promises to be a hard-fought campaign to decide the fate of the fledgling gambling industry in Massachusetts.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 22:06:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 93364 at http://wamc.org Casino Repeal Question Will Be On Massachusetts Ballot Voters Decided The Fates Of Casino Projects In 2013 http://wamc.org/post/voters-decided-fates-casino-projects-2013 <p>More than any other factor, votes in cities and towns in 2013 shaped the casino competition landscape for the burgeoning gaming industry in Massachusetts</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p> In writing the Massachusetts gaming law in 2011 legislators and Governor Deval Patrick insisted that local control be paramount in determining where the state’s first casinos would be built. A successful outcome in a local referendum is a prerequisite for advancing in the state’s lengthy licensing process.</p> Tue, 24 Dec 2013 23:25:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 80559 at http://wamc.org Voters Decided The Fates Of Casino Projects In 2013 Arts Venues: Limit Casino Entertainment http://wamc.org/post/arts-venues-limit-casino-entertainment <p></p> Tue, 22 Oct 2013 18:58:24 +0000 Dave Lucas 76085 at http://wamc.org Arts Venues: Limit Casino Entertainment Saratoga Residents Question Casino Siting At Community Forum http://wamc.org/post/saratoga-residents-question-casino-siting-community-forum <p>Members of the public met with elected officials and people on both sides of New York&rsquo;s casino gambling amendment at a community forum Monday night in Saratoga Springs.&nbsp;</p><p></p> Tue, 15 Oct 2013 16:38:31 +0000 Lucas Willard 75597 at http://wamc.org Saratoga Residents Question Casino Siting At Community Forum Coalition Promotes Casino Amendment; Judge To Hear Lawsuit http://wamc.org/post/coalition-promotes-casino-amendment-judge-hear-lawsuit <p>The push for passage of a ballot amendment to allow up to seven new gambling casinos in New York has begun. A coalition of business leaders, labor unions, and local elected officials are holding press conferences across the state. They expect to run some TV ads, as well. Thu, 10 Oct 2013 22:06:00 +0000 Karen DeWitt 75352 at http://wamc.org Coalition Promotes Casino Amendment; Judge To Hear Lawsuit Casino Supporters, Opponents Prepare For Battle In Palmer http://wamc.org/post/casino-supporters-opponents-prepare-battle-palmer <p>The focus of the casino competition in western Massachusetts is now squarely on Palmer. People on both sides of the casino issue in the rural town are gearing up for a referendum with an eye toward what happened with Hard Rock’s casino project last week in West Springfield.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 17 Sep 2013 16:18:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 73781 at http://wamc.org Casino Supporters, Opponents Prepare For Battle In Palmer Vote Set On Mohegan Sun Palmer Casino Project http://wamc.org/post/vote-set-mohegan-sun-palmer-casino-project <p>The Town Council in Palmer, Massachusetts has endorsed a casino development agreement with Mohegan Sun.&nbsp; The Connecticut-based casino operator is proposing a $1 billion development in the rural town.&nbsp; It is one of three projects competing for the lone casino license available in western Massachusetts. WAMC’s Pioneer Valley Bureau Chief Paul Tuthill spoke with Town Councilor Paul Burns, who has been a long-time supporter of a casino project in Palmer.</p><p></p><p></p> Sat, 07 Sep 2013 16:45:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 73061 at http://wamc.org Vote Set On Mohegan Sun Palmer Casino Project New York City Voters May Decide Upstate Gambling Expansion http://wamc.org/post/new-york-city-voters-may-decide-upstate-gambling-expansion <p></p><p>This November, voters will get a chance to decide whether to expand gambling in upstate New York. But because of a quirk in the election calendar, it’s likely that downstate voters will be the ones to make that decision.</p><p> Tue, 27 Aug 2013 22:10:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 72316 at http://wamc.org New York City Voters May Decide Upstate Gambling Expansion Church Leader Pledges To Help People Impacted By Gambling http://wamc.org/post/church-leader-pledges-help-people-impacted-gambling <p>Some members of the faith-based community in western Massachusetts are starting to talk about ways to help people whom they believe will be harmed when a casino opens. The Massachusetts Gaming Commission is on track to award a casino license to one of three competitors in the region by April 2014. A casino could open in 2016.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; WAMC’s Pioneer Valley Bureau Chief Paul Tuthill spoke with Bishop Douglas Fisher of the Episcopal Diocese of Western Massachusetts.</p><p></p><p></p> Sun, 11 Aug 2013 16:50:00 +0000 Paul Tuthill 71143 at http://wamc.org Church Leader Pledges To Help People Impacted By Gambling