New York News http://wamc.org en Cuomo Offers First Comments On Ethics Commission Controversy http://wamc.org/post/cuomo-offers-first-comments-ethics-commission-controversy <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">New York Governor Andrew Cuomo, in his first public appearance since potentially damaging news came out about his staff’s tampering with an ethics probe, tried to change the subject by talking about economic development.&nbsp; But the story continues to dog the governor.</span></p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 22:10:00 +0000 Karen Dewitt 95835 at http://wamc.org Cuomo Offers First Comments On Ethics Commission Controversy Officials Mull Schoharie Pipeline Proposals http://wamc.org/post/officials-mull-schoharie-pipeline-proposals <p>A proposed 157-mile natural gas pipeline that would run through several Schoharie County communities, parallel to the proposed Constitution Gas Pipeline, has pitted neighbor against neighbor.</p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 22:07:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 95834 at http://wamc.org Officials Mull Schoharie Pipeline Proposals Political Foe Faults NY Attorney General's Silence http://wamc.org/post/political-foe-faults-ny-attorney-generals-silence <p></p><p>The Republican challenger for New York attorney general is calling for incumbent Democrat Eric Schneiderman to break his silence on reports that the governor's office interfered with the corruption commission whose members were deputized by Schneiderman.</p><p>John Cahill, standing Monday outside the attorney general's office in Albany, says the deputies were obligated to report to the attorney general. He said Schneiderman hasn't said one word about the alleged interference or what he knew about it.</p><p>Cahill says New Yorkers deserve to know.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 21:02:18 +0000 Dave Lucas 95847 at http://wamc.org Political Foe Faults NY Attorney General's Silence Gov. Cuomo Addresses Times' Moreland Report http://wamc.org/post/gov-cuomo-addresses-times-moreland-report <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo, in his first public appearance since a potentially damaging news about his staff’s tampering with an ethics probe, tried to change the subject by talking about economic development Monday in Buffalo. But the story continues to dog the governor. Mon, 28 Jul 2014 20:07:43 +0000 Karen DeWitt 95832 at http://wamc.org Gov. Cuomo Addresses Times' Moreland Report Windham Rising; Prattsville, Not So Much http://wamc.org/post/windham-rising-prattsville-not-so-much <p>Responding to the “Rising to the Top” challenge issued by Governor Andrew Cuomo's office, Windham joins other New York communities striving to come up with ideas for long-term flood recovery following Irene, Lee and Sandy. Years after the three storms, people are still waiting for funds.</p><p>Grant money for the Greene County town of Windham was set aside by Governor Cuomo's office earlier this year, part of a $60 billion federal effort to assist areas hit hardest by Irene, Lee and Sandy.</p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 16:27:35 +0000 Dave Lucas 95809 at http://wamc.org Windham Rising; Prattsville, Not So Much Opponents Seize On Moreland Controversy http://wamc.org/post/opponents-seize-moreland-controversy <p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo has not held any public appearances since a potentially damaging <em>New York Times</em> story that says his top aide interfered in a corruption probe when it focused on Cuomo donors. The governor began the week with rosy poll numbers, and he still has a large advantage over his nearest competitor. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 20:32:32 +0000 Karen DeWitt 95701 at http://wamc.org Opponents Seize On Moreland Controversy GE Set To Launch Fuel Cell Startup In Malta http://wamc.org/post/ge-set-launch-fuel-cell-startup-malta <p>General Electric is wrapping up construction on its new center at the New York State Energy Research and Development Agency-operated Saratoga Technology + Energy Park in Malta.</p><p>Johanna Wellington, general manager and chief technical officer for GE Fuel Cells, said General Electric is about to launch operations at the pilot facility to develop hybrid fuel cell technology.</p><p>Wellington said the fuel cell program that began at GE’s Global Research Center in Niskayuna is expanding.</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 19:28:03 +0000 Lucas Willard 95691 at http://wamc.org GE Set To Launch Fuel Cell Startup In Malta Deputy Secretary For Civil Rights On New Wage Board http://wamc.org/post/deputy-secretary-civil-rights-new-wage-board <p>The people who depend on the generosity of others for something extra in their paycheck may be getting a raise. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 16:29:58 +0000 Brian Shields 95676 at http://wamc.org Deputy Secretary For Civil Rights On New Wage Board USDA Creates Rural Development Investment Fund http://wamc.org/post/usda-creates-rural-development-investment-fund <p></p><p></p><p>Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has announced the creation of a new U.S. Rural Infrastructure Opportunity Fund that will allow private entities to invest in rural infrastructure projects. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 95639 at http://wamc.org USDA Creates Rural Development Investment Fund DiNapoli: Civic Center Burden On Glens Falls http://wamc.org/post/dinapoli-civic-center-burden-glens-falls <p></p><p>New York State Comptroller Thomas DiNapoli was joined by local officials in Glens Falls today to unveil a new report that shows looming fiscal stress on the upstate city. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 19:56:26 +0000 Lucas Willard 95625 at http://wamc.org DiNapoli: Civic Center Burden On Glens Falls