Vermont Emergency Management http://wamc.org en Vermonters Warned Of Weakening Ice On Lakes http://wamc.org/post/vermonters-warned-weakening-ice-lakes <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Vermonters are being warned to stay off the ice on the state's lakes and ponds. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 00:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 86771 at http://wamc.org Vermonters Warned Of Weakening Ice On Lakes Vermont Utilities Work To Restore Power http://wamc.org/post/vermont-utilities-work-restore-power <p></p><p></p><p>Power companies across northern New England have struggled to restore power to rural locations since last weekend’s ice storm. Nearly a week after an ice storm coated parts of northern Vermont, some remain without power, and some areas that have been restored are experiencing spot outages. Fri, 27 Dec 2013 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 80761 at http://wamc.org Vermont Utilities Work To Restore Power VT Governor Shumlin Unveils 5-Year Emergency Plan http://wamc.org/post/vt-governor-shumlin-unveils-5-year-emergency-plan <p></p><p></p><p>Governor Peter Shumlin has signed Vermont's new five-year emergency plan, molded by the state's experiences in responding to and recovering from 2011's Tropical Storm Irene. Fri, 06 Dec 2013 02:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 79264 at http://wamc.org VT Governor Shumlin Unveils 5-Year Emergency Plan FEMA Approves VT Hazard Mitigation Plan http://wamc.org/post/fema-approves-vt-hazard-mitigation-plan <p></p><p></p><p>Vermont Emergency Management officials say the federal government has approved the state's new hazard mitigation plan. Thu, 28 Nov 2013 02:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 78744 at http://wamc.org FEMA Approves VT Hazard Mitigation Plan More Rain Floods Vermont Roads, Spills Over Rivers http://wamc.org/post/more-rain-floods-vermont-roads-spills-over-rivers <p></p><p></p><p>With multiple drownings in fast-moving rivers in recent days, Vermont Governor Peter Shumlin is warning people to be extremely cautious about trying to beat the heat at their favorite swimming hole. Fri, 05 Jul 2013 23:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 68576 at http://wamc.org More Rain Floods Vermont Roads, Spills Over Rivers Constant Rain Leads to Numerous Problems Across North Country http://wamc.org/post/constant-rain-leads-numerous-problems-across-north-country <p></p><p></p><p>The incessant rain is causing scores of problems in northern New York and Vermont - from flash flooding and road wash outs to train delays.&nbsp; With two drownings in the past 72 hours, officials are reiterating their call for caution. Fri, 05 Jul 2013 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 68578 at http://wamc.org Constant Rain Leads to Numerous Problems Across North Country Vermont Town Seeks Guidance Before Replacing Bridges http://wamc.org/post/vermont-town-seeks-guidance-replacing-bridges <p></p><p></p><p>Newfane officials are planning to meet with representatives of Vermont Emergency Management and the Agency of Natural Resources to get advice before issuing contracts to replace two bridges that were destroyed by flooding from Tropical Storm Irene. Wed, 24 Apr 2013 00:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 62943 at http://wamc.org Vermont Town Seeks Guidance Before Replacing Bridges Vermont And the North Country Brace for Second Major Storm in Two Years http://wamc.org/post/vermont-and-north-country-brace-second-major-storm-two-years <p>Vermont and the North Country are preparing for another mega-storm 14 months after Tropical Storm Irene devastated the region.<br><br>Vermont Emergency Management is preparing the state for any possible damage from Hurricane Sandy and spokesman Mark Bosma says they’re advising residents to be prepared.&nbsp;<br><br>Mark Bosma says it’s human nature to compare this storm to Irene.<br><br>The lessons of Irene are affecting how Vermont is preparing for this oncoming storm. Fri, 26 Oct 2012 16:20:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 50679 at http://wamc.org Vermont And the North Country Brace for Second Major Storm in Two Years