Central Hudson http://wamc.org en FERC Denies Rehearing On Capacity Zone Request http://wamc.org/post/ferc-denies-rehearing-capacity-zone-request <p></p><p>The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission issued an order relating to a newly-implemented energy capacity zone that is already raising electric rates. &nbsp;The order came one week before a scheduled day in court.</p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 16:29:34 +0000 Allison Dunne 91772 at http://wamc.org FERC Denies Rehearing On Capacity Zone Request Dutchess County Exec Supports Lawsuit Against FERC http://wamc.org/post/dutchess-county-exec-supports-lawsuit-against-ferc <p></p><p>The Dutchess County executive has joined the legal fight to dismantle a new capacity zone. He says county residents cannot afford to pay the price of higher electric bills resulting from the new zone and is calling on a federal agency to halt the zone’s implementation.</p><p>Dutchess County Executive Marc Molinaro Monday filed an amicus brief with the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, against the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.</p> Wed, 21 May 2014 17:03:01 +0000 Allison Dunne 90968 at http://wamc.org Dutchess County Exec Supports Lawsuit Against FERC Court Issues Order In Lawsuit Against FERC http://wamc.org/post/court-issues-order-lawsuit-against-ferc <p></p><p>A U.S. Court of Appeals has responded to a lawsuit filed earlier this week by a Dutchess County utility and the New York State Public Service Commission concerning a new capacity zone.</p> Sat, 17 May 2014 16:22:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 90689 at http://wamc.org Court Issues Order In Lawsuit Against FERC Court Orders FERC Response In Capacity Zone Case http://wamc.org/post/court-orders-ferc-response-capacity-zone-case <p></p><p>A U.S. Court of Appeals has responded to a lawsuit filed earlier this week by a Dutchess County utility and the New York State Public Service Commission concerning a new capacity zone.</p> Fri, 16 May 2014 19:04:48 +0000 Allison Dunne 90635 at http://wamc.org Court Orders FERC Response In Capacity Zone Case Central Hudson, PSC Take FERC Matter To Court http://wamc.org/post/central-hudson-psc-take-ferc-matter-court <p></p><p>A Dutchess County-based utility company is turning to legal action in its opposition to a new capacity zone that it says is already translating into higher electric rates. The New York State Public Service Commission has also filed an emergency motion with the court.</p> Wed, 14 May 2014 01:17:21 +0000 Allison Dunne 90376 at http://wamc.org Central Hudson, PSC Take FERC Matter To Court NY Congressman To Deliver Letters To FERC http://wamc.org/post/ny-congressman-deliver-letters-ferc <p></p><p>With a new capacity zone set to take effect May 1<sup>st</sup>, a New York Congressman Wednesday afternoon plans to deliver community concerns directly to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.</p> Wed, 30 Apr 2014 13:02:32 +0000 Allison Dunne 89355 at http://wamc.org NY Congressman To Deliver Letters To FERC NYS Senator Rolls Out Affordable Energy Plan http://wamc.org/post/nys-senator-rolls-out-affordable-energy-plan <p>A New York state Senator from the Hudson Valley has unveiled an energy plan he hopes will ease financial burdens and move the state forward.&nbsp;</p><p>State Senator Terry Gipson has an affordable energy plan he says would bring relief from taxes and rate hikes to families and businesses.</p><p>“I just can’t sit by any longer and watch hardworking families and business owners suffer under these regressive energy taxes,” says Gipson.</p><p>The Democrat from Rhinebeck says his plan has five points.</p> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 18:56:39 +0000 Allison Dunne 85783 at http://wamc.org NYS Senator Rolls Out Affordable Energy Plan Smart Meters Under Scrutiny http://wamc.org/post/smart-meters-under-scrutiny <p>The meter reader has gone the way of the milkman and the bread man — in some communities, "smart meters" wirelessly report your energy or water consumption back to the utility company. But fear of electric impulses transmitted by the devices has led to a consumer call for choice.&nbsp;</p><p>Digital smart meter technology has been around since the 1990s, but opposition has grown worldwide. Critics of the technology claim the radio emissions cause a variety of human health problems.</p> Thu, 23 Jan 2014 18:14:43 +0000 Dave Lucas 82411 at http://wamc.org Smart Meters Under Scrutiny PSC Staff Responds To Rehearing Request From Utility Merger Opponents http://wamc.org/post/psc-staff-responds-rehearing-request-utility-merger-opponents <p>Staff of the New York State Public Service Commission has weighed in on whether the PSC should reconsider its approval of a utility merger in the Hudson Valley.</p> Fri, 16 Aug 2013 01:14:52 +0000 Allison Dunne 71551 at http://wamc.org PSC Staff Responds To Rehearing Request From Utility Merger Opponents Utility Merger Opponents Ask The PSC For A Rehearing http://wamc.org/post/utility-merger-opponents-ask-psc-rehearing <p>Opponents of an approved utility merger in the Hudson Valley are asking the state Public Service Commission to reconsider its decision.</p> Mon, 29 Jul 2013 17:20:15 +0000 Allison Dunne 70248 at http://wamc.org Utility Merger Opponents Ask The PSC For A Rehearing