Central Hudson http://wamc.org en NYS Senator Rolls Out Affordable Energy Plan http://wamc.org/post/nys-senator-rolls-out-affordable-energy-plan <p>A New York state Senator from the Hudson Valley has unveiled an energy plan he hopes will ease financial burdens and move the state forward.&nbsp;</p><p>State Senator Terry Gipson has an affordable energy plan he says would bring relief from taxes and rate hikes to families and businesses.</p><p>“I just can’t sit by any longer and watch hardworking families and business owners suffer under these regressive energy taxes,” says Gipson.</p><p>The Democrat from Rhinebeck says his plan has five points.</p> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 18:56:39 +0000 Allison Dunne 85783 at http://wamc.org NYS Senator Rolls Out Affordable Energy Plan Smart Meters Under Scrutiny http://wamc.org/post/smart-meters-under-scrutiny <p>The meter reader has gone the way of the milkman and the bread man — in some communities, "smart meters" wirelessly report your energy or water consumption back to the utility company. But fear of electric impulses transmitted by the devices has led to a consumer call for choice.&nbsp;</p><p>Digital smart meter technology has been around since the 1990s, but opposition has grown worldwide. Critics of the technology claim the radio emissions cause a variety of human health problems.</p> Thu, 23 Jan 2014 18:14:43 +0000 Dave Lucas 82411 at http://wamc.org Smart Meters Under Scrutiny PSC Staff Responds To Rehearing Request From Utility Merger Opponents http://wamc.org/post/psc-staff-responds-rehearing-request-utility-merger-opponents <p>Staff of the New York State Public Service Commission has weighed in on whether the PSC should reconsider its approval of a utility merger in the Hudson Valley.</p> Fri, 16 Aug 2013 01:14:52 +0000 Allison Dunne 71551 at http://wamc.org PSC Staff Responds To Rehearing Request From Utility Merger Opponents Utility Merger Opponents Ask The PSC For A Rehearing http://wamc.org/post/utility-merger-opponents-ask-psc-rehearing <p>Opponents of an approved utility merger in the Hudson Valley are asking the state Public Service Commission to reconsider its decision.</p> Mon, 29 Jul 2013 17:20:15 +0000 Allison Dunne 70248 at http://wamc.org Utility Merger Opponents Ask The PSC For A Rehearing It's A Cruel Summer... http://wamc.org/post/its-cruel-summer <p>Forecasters say the Northeast is in for one of the <a href="http://www.wunderground.com/news/heat-wave-northeast-new-york-philadelphia-dc-20130713" target="_blank" title="Read about the heat wave in detail.">hottest</a> weeks on the books, and people are being urged to take precautions. High temperatures in many Northeastern cities through Friday will be in the 90s; 96 for Hartford, 95 in New York City and 92 in Albany.&nbsp; Anthony Loconto is a National Weather Service meteorologist stationed in Burlington, Vermont. Loconto says oppressive weather is here to stay for a few more days. Tue, 16 Jul 2013 16:45:55 +0000 Dave Lucas 69321 at http://wamc.org It's A Cruel Summer... CH Energy, Fortis Enhance Merger Proposal http://wamc.org/post/ch-energy-fortis-enhance-merger-proposal <p>The companies involved in a proposed utility merger in the Hudson Valley have offered enhancements to the merger proposal. Opponents say they are too little, too late. The controversial merger proposal has led both sides to pound the pavement to tell their sides of the story.</p> Fri, 31 May 2013 01:52:03 +0000 Allison Dunne 65983 at http://wamc.org CH Energy, Fortis Enhance Merger Proposal IBEW And CHEG Negotiate New Deal http://wamc.org/post/ibew-and-cheg-negotiate-new-deal <p>POUGHKEEPSIE – Central Hudson and IBEW Local 320 have negotiated a new contract for utility workers, who would become employees of Fortis, Inc. should the buyout of CH Energy Group be approved by the State Public Service Commission.</p><p>State Assemblyman Kevin Cahill (D- Kingston) said it is a good deal for the workers, but the proposed purchase leaves a lot to be desired.</p><p>Congressman Sean Patrick Maloney (D- 18) is thrilled with the contract agreement.</p> Mon, 20 May 2013 12:13:15 +0000 Hank Gross 65086 at http://wamc.org IBEW And CHEG Negotiate New Deal Part Two With CH Energy, Fortis Executives On Proposed Merger http://wamc.org/post/part-two-ch-energy-fortis-executives-proposed-merger <p>There has been a brighter public spotlight lately on the proposed merger between Canadian energy company Fortis and Poughkeepsie-based CH Energy Group, parent of Central Hudson Gas and Electric Corporation. In response, top executives from both companies have been making the rounds, trying to allay concerns and separate fiction from fact. Here is part two of their interview with WAMC’s Hudson Valley Bureau Chief Allison Dunne.</p> Sat, 18 May 2013 16:55:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 64965 at http://wamc.org Part Two With CH Energy, Fortis Executives On Proposed Merger CH Energy CEO and Fortis CFO Discuss Proposed Merger http://wamc.org/post/ch-energy-ceo-and-fortis-cfo-discuss-proposed-merger <p>The proposed merger between Canadian energy company Fortis and Poughkeepsie-based CH Energy Group, parent of Central Hudson Gas and Electric Corporation has sparked a lot of concern and opposition in the past few months. And now the top executives of each company have embarked on a public relations campaign to try and quell concerns.</p> Fri, 17 May 2013 17:03:54 +0000 Allison Dunne 64941 at http://wamc.org CH Energy CEO and Fortis CFO Discuss Proposed Merger Execs Respond To Schumer Re: Proposed Utility Merger http://wamc.org/post/execs-respond-schumer-re-proposed-utility-merger <p></p><p>Several elected officials have raised concerns over the past few months about a proposed utility merger in the Hudson Valley. Among them is U.S. Senator Charles Schumer.&nbsp; And now top executives of the two companies have responded.</p> Thu, 16 May 2013 23:59:29 +0000 Allison Dunne 64881 at http://wamc.org Execs Respond To Schumer Re: Proposed Utility Merger