Adirondacks http://wamc.org en New York Obtains Additional Finch Pruyn Adirondack Lands http://wamc.org/post/new-york-obtains-additional-finch-pruyn-adirondack-lands <p></p><p></p><p>New York State has purchased an additional 8,451 acres of former timber company land in the Adirondacks. Wed, 12 Mar 2014 21:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 85707 at http://wamc.org New York Obtains Additional Finch Pruyn Adirondack Lands Governor Promotes Winter Tourism With Adirondack Challenge http://wamc.org/post/governor-promotes-winter-tourism-adirondack-challenge <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Lake Placid was filled with state legislators, regional and local officials and their families Sunday. They had accepted New York Governor Andrew Cuomo's challenge to try winter sports activities available in the North Country in order to showcase upstate recreational tourism opportunities. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 22:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 85532 at http://wamc.org Governor Promotes Winter Tourism With Adirondack Challenge New Adirondack Digital Tourism Platforms Unveiled http://wamc.org/post/new-adirondack-digital-tourism-platforms-unveiled <p></p><p></p><p>Adirondack tourism interests have launched two new digital platforms to entice people to visit the region. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 85297 at http://wamc.org New Adirondack Digital Tourism Platforms Unveiled Classifications For New Adirondack Lands Approved By Governor http://wamc.org/post/classifications-new-adirondack-lands-approved-governor <p></p><p></p><p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo has approved the land classifications recommended by the Adirondack Park Agency for 42,000 acres of land acquired by the state in 2012. Tue, 11 Feb 2014 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 83662 at http://wamc.org Classifications For New Adirondack Lands Approved By Governor Winter Carnival Brings A Surge Of Tourists To Adirondack Village http://wamc.org/post/winter-carnival-brings-surge-tourists-adirondack-village <p></p><p></p><p>The Saranac Lake Winter Carnival concludes this weekend with a parade through the village and fireworks above an ice palace. WAMC’s North Country Bureau Chief Pat Bradley looks at the importance of annual event to the village and surrounding Adirondack communities. Fri, 07 Feb 2014 17:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 83385 at http://wamc.org Winter Carnival Brings A Surge Of Tourists To Adirondack Village Prop 5 Opponents Challenge DEC To Prove Enforcement Of State Laws http://wamc.org/post/prop-5-opponents-challenge-dec-prove-enforcement-state-laws <p></p><p></p><p>In November, New York voters approved a constitutional amendment that allows a mining company in the Adirondacks to expand its wollastonite mine onto 200 acres of forest preserve land in exchange for 1,500 acres of forest land. Groups that oppose the idea are asking the Department of Environmental Conservation to confirm that the agency will enforce all other relevant laws. Thu, 23 Jan 2014 23:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 82448 at http://wamc.org Prop 5 Opponents Challenge DEC To Prove Enforcement Of State Laws APA To Finalize Adirondack Land Classification http://wamc.org/post/apa-finalize-adirondack-land-classification <p></p><p></p><p>The Adirondack Park Agency will decide this week on the final classification for land the state recently obtained from the Nature Conservancy in the Adirondacks. Tue, 10 Dec 2013 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 79566 at http://wamc.org APA To Finalize Adirondack Land Classification Adirondack Officials Call for Passage of Two Statewide Ballot Questions http://wamc.org/post/adirondack-officials-call-passage-two-statewide-ballot-questions <p></p><p></p><p>On this year’s election day ballot in New York, there are two statewide propositions that impact the Adirondack Park. The Adirondack Association of Towns and Villages is urging voters to approve both of the measures. Tue, 22 Oct 2013 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 76107 at http://wamc.org Adirondack Officials Call for Passage of Two Statewide Ballot Questions Adirondack Lands Open for Public Recreational Use http://wamc.org/post/adirondack-lands-open-public-recreational-use <p></p><p></p><p>More than 11,000 acres of Adirondack lands opened for recreational use this week. It&rsquo;s the first time the lands have been accessible to the public in over 100 years. Thu, 03 Oct 2013 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 74826 at http://wamc.org Adirondack Lands Open for Public Recreational Use Seasonal Businesses Gearing Up For Last Hurrah Of Summer http://wamc.org/post/seasonal-businesses-gearing-last-hurrah-summer <p></p><p>As the Labor Day weekend approaches, businesses in the Southern Adirondacks are preparing for one last hurrah for the summer season, and a transition to lead the months ahead.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Labor Day weekend is traditionally seen as the end to the summer season. School starts and the large crowds disappear, but while many are hoping for a strong showing on one last long weekend under the sun, some are also looking ahead to the cooler months.</p> Thu, 29 Aug 2013 22:15:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 72518 at http://wamc.org Seasonal Businesses Gearing Up For Last Hurrah Of Summer