Adirondacks http://wamc.org en Groups Meet to Discuss Common Adirondack Issues http://wamc.org/post/groups-meet-discuss-common-adirondack-issues <div></div><div>Representatives from municipalities, non-profits, environmental and other groups met in Long Lake this week to discuss cooperative efforts in the Adirondacks.</div><p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 22:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 95218 at http://wamc.org Groups Meet to Discuss Common Adirondack Issues Temporary Restraining Order Halts Adirondack Land Swap Mining Tests http://wamc.org/post/temporary-restraining-order-halts-adirondack-land-swap-mining-tests <div></div><div>A New York state judge has issued a temporary restraining order forcing NYCO Mineral Company to delay test drilling on Adirondack Forest Preserve land.&nbsp;</div><p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 16:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 95078 at http://wamc.org Temporary Restraining Order Halts Adirondack Land Swap Mining Tests Bus Crash That Killed Teen Brings Calls For Increased Safety http://wamc.org/post/bus-crash-killed-teen-brings-calls-increased-safety <p>A crash earlier this month that killed a teenage boy in the Adirondacks has brought calls on New York state government to increase oversight of the rafting and tubing industries.&nbsp;</p><p>The crash that killed 15-year-old tubing guide Hunter Scofield on July 5<sup>th</sup> in Lake Luzerne is still under state police investigation, and many are now working to prevent similar accidents.</p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 16:10:30 +0000 Lucas Willard 95076 at http://wamc.org Bus Crash That Killed Teen Brings Calls For Increased Safety Lake George Region Prepares For Holiday Weekend http://wamc.org/post/lake-george-region-prepares-holiday-weekend <p></p><p>The Fourth of July weekend is an important economic boon for one of upstate New York’s most popular vacation destinations.</p><p>Michael Consuelo, Executive Director of the Lake George Regional Chamber of Commerce, said Thursday afternoon, if you want to drive into town on Route 9, you’ll be sitting in bumper-to-bumper traffic.</p><p>“It’s very promising, a lot of folks on the street, Million Dollar Beach is pretty crowded. We’re getting ready for a very busy weekend and it seems like some folks have really taken advantage of this nice weather,” said Consuelo.</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 22:10:00 +0000 Lucas Willard 94089 at http://wamc.org Lake George Region Prepares For Holiday Weekend Report Updates Demographic Trends In Adirondacks http://wamc.org/post/report-updates-demographic-trends-adirondacks <p></p><p></p><p>A new report has been issued on the major trends affecting life in and the economy of the Adirondack Park. Thu, 15 May 2014 16:59:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 90514 at http://wamc.org Report Updates Demographic Trends In Adirondacks New York Obtains Additional Finch Pruyn Adirondack Lands http://wamc.org/post/new-york-obtains-additional-finch-pruyn-adirondack-lands <p></p><p></p><p>New York State has purchased an additional 8,451 acres of former timber company land in the Adirondacks. Wed, 12 Mar 2014 21:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 85707 at http://wamc.org New York Obtains Additional Finch Pruyn Adirondack Lands Governor Promotes Winter Tourism With Adirondack Challenge http://wamc.org/post/governor-promotes-winter-tourism-adirondack-challenge <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Lake Placid was filled with state legislators, regional and local officials and their families Sunday. They had accepted New York Governor Andrew Cuomo's challenge to try winter sports activities available in the North Country in order to showcase upstate recreational tourism opportunities. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 22:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 85532 at http://wamc.org Governor Promotes Winter Tourism With Adirondack Challenge New Adirondack Digital Tourism Platforms Unveiled http://wamc.org/post/new-adirondack-digital-tourism-platforms-unveiled <p></p><p></p><p>Adirondack tourism interests have launched two new digital platforms to entice people to visit the region. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 85297 at http://wamc.org New Adirondack Digital Tourism Platforms Unveiled Classifications For New Adirondack Lands Approved By Governor http://wamc.org/post/classifications-new-adirondack-lands-approved-governor <p></p><p></p><p>New York Governor Andrew Cuomo has approved the land classifications recommended by the Adirondack Park Agency for 42,000 acres of land acquired by the state in 2012. Tue, 11 Feb 2014 23:30:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 83662 at http://wamc.org Classifications For New Adirondack Lands Approved By Governor Winter Carnival Brings A Surge Of Tourists To Adirondack Village http://wamc.org/post/winter-carnival-brings-surge-tourists-adirondack-village <p></p><p></p><p>The Saranac Lake Winter Carnival concludes this weekend with a parade through the village and fireworks above an ice palace. WAMC’s North Country Bureau Chief Pat Bradley looks at the importance of annual event to the village and surrounding Adirondack communities. Fri, 07 Feb 2014 17:45:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 83385 at http://wamc.org Winter Carnival Brings A Surge Of Tourists To Adirondack Village