Albany http://wamc.org en County Will Pay For City Building Collapse http://wamc.org/post/county-will-pay-city-building-collapse <p></p><p>The financially-strapped city of Albany will be spared the bill for clean-up after a house collapse.</p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 20:53:17 +0000 Dave Lucas 94474 at http://wamc.org County Will Pay For City Building Collapse Fischer: Albany Wrong Place For Undocumented Children http://wamc.org/post/fischer-albany-wrong-place-undocumented-children <p></p><p>A Capital Region Republican congressional candidate is disagreeing with a plan by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that could house the children of illegal immigrants in Albany. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 21:15:51 +0000 Lucas Willard 93992 at http://wamc.org Albany Celebrates Juneteenth http://wamc.org/post/albany-celebrates-juneteenth <p></p><p>This weekend marks the 10th Annual Albany Juneteenth Celebration. The free community event is planned for Sunday, in Washington Park.</p><p>Although the Emancipation Proclamation called for the liberation of Confederate slaves on Jan. 1, 1863, its effects weren't immediate.&nbsp; Two and a half years later, the emancipation took effect—when the Union army rode into Galveston to enforce President Lincoln's executive order.</p><p>Juneteenth has been sporadically celebrated in the South as a black independence day ever since June 1865, when slaves in Texas learned of their freedom.</p> Sat, 21 Jun 2014 16:14:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 93116 at http://wamc.org Albany Celebrates Juneteenth SUNY Plaza To Host Farmer's Market Year-Round http://wamc.org/post/suny-plaza-host-farmers-market-year-round <p>A year-round farmers’ market in has been launched in downtown Albany.</p><p>The farmers’ market at SUNY Plaza comes under Governor Andrew Cuomo's FreshConnect program, giving area farmers the opportunity to market their produce locally. It's also designed to bring fresh food to communities.</p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 23:40:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 92579 at http://wamc.org SUNY Plaza To Host Farmer's Market Year-Round 36th Freihofer's Run for Women Saturday In Albany http://wamc.org/post/36th-freihofers-run-women-saturday-albany <p>The 36th Freihofer's Run for Women is set for Saturday in Albany, featuring international stars, U.S. athletes and local runners. The focus will be on public safety.</p><p>Organizers stress it's not just a competition. It's a celebration of women. Women of all ages and abilities will compete Saturday:&nbsp; Event officials say more than 4,000 runners have signed up. Event Director George Regan:&nbsp;&nbsp; "We've been working very closely with Albany PD and with New York State Police and with other public safety agencies to ensure that everybody has an enjoyable and safe time."</p> Fri, 30 May 2014 19:32:07 +0000 Dave Lucas 91654 at http://wamc.org 36th Freihofer's Run for Women Saturday In Albany Upstate Artists Guild http://wamc.org/post/upstate-artists-guild <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>The <a href="http://www.upstateartistsguild.org/">Upstate Artists Guild</a> is a not-for-profit volunteer organization, open to all, which promotes the appreciation, practice, and enjoyment of art. Their mission is to promote art education and artistic endeavors throughout the community; to maintain a space in which to meet for the purpose of exhibitions, lectures, and instruction; and to work with the community to stimulate an interest in the arts.</p><p> Fri, 30 May 2014 15:12:00 +0000 Ray Graf 91610 at http://wamc.org Upstate Artists Guild Freihofer's Run For Women: Still Time To Register http://wamc.org/post/freihofers-run-women-still-time-register <p>The 36th Freihofer's Run for Women will take off on Saturday in Albany, featuring international stars, U.S. athletes and local runners.</p><p>Women of all ages and abilities will compete Saturday:&nbsp; Event Director George Regan says more than 4-thousand runners have signed up - the CapitalCare/CDPHPHealth &amp; Fitness Expo at the Empire State Plaza is accepting last minute registrations.&nbsp; "That's gonna be open from noon to seven. It's going to be in the convention hall of the Empire State Plaza, just below The Egg," says Regan.</p> Fri, 30 May 2014 13:58:49 +0000 Dave Lucas 91611 at http://wamc.org Freihofer's Run For Women: Still Time To Register What's Next For Albany Parking Permit Program? http://wamc.org/post/whats-next-albany-parking-permit-program <p></p> Mon, 19 May 2014 10:10:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 90734 at http://wamc.org What's Next For Albany Parking Permit Program? Albany To Experiment With Red Light Cameras http://wamc.org/post/albany-experiment-red-light-cameras <p>Red-light runners have become a dangerous norm in Albany. Now, city officials and state lawmakers want to bring red light cameras — which snap photos of vehicles illegally zipping under traffic signals — to Albany's most dangerous intersections.</p><p>The mayor says it's not about revenue, while the police chief stresses it's all about safety: a bill that allows for the City of Albany to adopt a local law establishing a "five-year demonstration period" during which red-light cameras would be mounted at strategic intersections where motorists routinely ignore traffic-control devices.</p> Fri, 16 May 2014 16:49:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 90606 at http://wamc.org Albany To Experiment With Red Light Cameras Albany Leaders Support Red Light Cameras http://wamc.org/post/albany-leaders-support-red-light-cameras <p></p> Fri, 16 May 2014 01:27:25 +0000 Dave Lucas 90562 at http://wamc.org Albany Leaders Support Red Light Cameras