Albany http://wamc.org en Luther "Ticky" Burden Fundraisers Set http://wamc.org/post/luther-ticky-burden-fundraisers-set <p>Former New York Knicks guard <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Luther_Burden" target="_blank">Luther "Ticky" Burden</a> has been diagnosed with a rare heart disease and is being treated at a Manhattan hospital. Two local fundraisers are being held to give the NBA star a helping hand.</p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 20:22:35 +0000 Dave Lucas 95626 at http://wamc.org Luther "Ticky" Burden Fundraisers Set Oil Trains Under Political Microscope http://wamc.org/post/oil-trains-under-political-microscope <p>There have been several developments this week impacting oil trains, the subject of national and local debate.</p><p>The U.S. Department of Transportation on Wednesday issued new proposed rules on tankers transporting oil including quickly phasing out the use of old DOT-111 rail cars for moving crude oil and other hazardous liquids. The rules would include new operational requirements to lower operating speeds and enhance braking capabilities for high-hazard flammable trains.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 16:16:18 +0000 Dave Lucas 95606 at http://wamc.org Oil Trains Under Political Microscope Downtown Albany: Open For More Business http://wamc.org/post/downtown-albany-open-more-business <p></p><p>Vacant downtown Albany office buildings may soon be welcoming new tenants.</p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 23:59:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 95555 at http://wamc.org Downtown Albany: Open For More Business Capital City Battles Blight, Aging Infrastructure http://wamc.org/post/capital-city-battles-blight-aging-infrastructure <p>Like so many other cities across the nation, Albany has had to deal with urban blight and aging infrastructure. When an old house along the city's storied Clinton Avenue crumbled, the mayor took immediate action.</p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 16:17:21 +0000 Dave Lucas 95180 at http://wamc.org Capital City Battles Blight, Aging Infrastructure County Will Pay For City Building Collapse http://wamc.org/post/county-will-pay-city-building-collapse <p></p><p>The financially-strapped city of Albany will be spared the bill for clean-up after a house collapse.</p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 20:53:17 +0000 Dave Lucas 94474 at http://wamc.org County Will Pay For City Building Collapse Fischer: Albany Wrong Place For Undocumented Children http://wamc.org/post/fischer-albany-wrong-place-undocumented-children <p></p><p>A Capital Region Republican congressional candidate is disagreeing with a plan by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that could house the children of illegal immigrants in Albany. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 21:15:51 +0000 Lucas Willard 93992 at http://wamc.org Albany Celebrates Juneteenth http://wamc.org/post/albany-celebrates-juneteenth <p></p><p>This weekend marks the 10th Annual Albany Juneteenth Celebration. The free community event is planned for Sunday, in Washington Park.</p><p>Although the Emancipation Proclamation called for the liberation of Confederate slaves on Jan. 1, 1863, its effects weren't immediate.&nbsp; Two and a half years later, the emancipation took effect—when the Union army rode into Galveston to enforce President Lincoln's executive order.</p><p>Juneteenth has been sporadically celebrated in the South as a black independence day ever since June 1865, when slaves in Texas learned of their freedom.</p> Sat, 21 Jun 2014 16:14:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 93116 at http://wamc.org Albany Celebrates Juneteenth SUNY Plaza To Host Farmer's Market Year-Round http://wamc.org/post/suny-plaza-host-farmers-market-year-round <p>A year-round farmers’ market in has been launched in downtown Albany.</p><p>The farmers’ market at SUNY Plaza comes under Governor Andrew Cuomo's FreshConnect program, giving area farmers the opportunity to market their produce locally. It's also designed to bring fresh food to communities.</p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 23:40:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 92579 at http://wamc.org SUNY Plaza To Host Farmer's Market Year-Round 36th Freihofer's Run for Women Saturday In Albany http://wamc.org/post/36th-freihofers-run-women-saturday-albany <p>The 36th Freihofer's Run for Women is set for Saturday in Albany, featuring international stars, U.S. athletes and local runners. The focus will be on public safety.</p><p>Organizers stress it's not just a competition. It's a celebration of women. Women of all ages and abilities will compete Saturday:&nbsp; Event officials say more than 4,000 runners have signed up. Event Director George Regan:&nbsp;&nbsp; "We've been working very closely with Albany PD and with New York State Police and with other public safety agencies to ensure that everybody has an enjoyable and safe time."</p> Fri, 30 May 2014 19:32:07 +0000 Dave Lucas 91654 at http://wamc.org 36th Freihofer's Run for Women Saturday In Albany Upstate Artists Guild http://wamc.org/post/upstate-artists-guild <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>The <a href="http://www.upstateartistsguild.org/">Upstate Artists Guild</a> is a not-for-profit volunteer organization, open to all, which promotes the appreciation, practice, and enjoyment of art. Their mission is to promote art education and artistic endeavors throughout the community; to maintain a space in which to meet for the purpose of exhibitions, lectures, and instruction; and to work with the community to stimulate an interest in the arts.</p><p> Fri, 30 May 2014 15:12:00 +0000 Ray Graf 91610 at http://wamc.org Upstate Artists Guild