SNAP http://wamc.org en NYC Food Bank In Albany http://wamc.org/post/nyc-food-bank-albany <p></p><p></p><p>Food Bank For New York City is in Albany today to participate in the first annual Anti-Hunger Advocacy Day.&nbsp; The advocates are joining colleagues from New York State’s seven other food banks. Officials plan to meet with State Legislators to discuss steps to preserve vital anti-hunger resources for New Yorkers.</p><p>Food Bank For New York City President &amp; CEO Margarette Purvis praises Governor Cuomo, saying he has worked to - quote - "... make sure that our neighbors are not left exposed to the cruel whims of Washington.”</p> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 16:52:24 +0000 Dave Lucas 84674 at http://wamc.org NYC Food Bank In Albany Food Bank Network Advocates Needs http://wamc.org/post/food-bank-network-advocates-needs <p><a href="http://www.foodbankwma.org/" target="_blank">The Food Bank of Western Massachusetts</a> is encouraging its member organizations to grab the ears of lawmakers and inform them of their needs.</p> Mon, 13 Jan 2014 23:26:00 +0000 Jim Levulis 81784 at http://wamc.org Food Bank Network Advocates Needs Food Pantries Strained By Federal Cuts http://wamc.org/post/food-pantries-strained-federal-cuts <p>With winter officially approaching, New York’s food pantries and soup kitchens are feeling the strain of feeding the hungry, especially after two key benefit cuts from the federal government. Fri, 20 Dec 2013 23:10:00 +0000 Karen DeWitt 80367 at http://wamc.org Food Pantries Strained By Federal Cuts Hunger Groups Ask Senator To Block Food Stamp Cuts http://wamc.org/post/hunger-groups-ask-senator-block-food-stamp-cuts <p></p><p></p><p>Anti-hunger groups are calling on one of New York's U.S. Senators to block cuts to food stamps.</p><p>Anti-hunger activists have launched a statewide campaign urging New York Senator Chuck Schumer to vote against any farm bill that includes cuts in food-stamp funding. They also want Schumer to push to restore recent cuts.</p> Mon, 16 Dec 2013 23:30:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 79980 at http://wamc.org Hunger Groups Ask Senator To Block Food Stamp Cuts Congressional Corner With Paul Tonko http://wamc.org/post/congressional-corner-paul-tonko-15 <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Food shortages have become an increasing problem across the country.</p><p>In today’s Congressional Corner, New York representative Paul Tonko tells WAMC’s Alan Chartock that funding for SNAP benefits should be restored.</p><p> Tue, 10 Dec 2013 15:50:00 +0000 Alan Chartock 79707 at http://wamc.org Congressional Corner With Paul Tonko Leahy Pushes for SNAP Funding http://wamc.org/post/leahy-pushes-snap-funding <p></p><p></p><p>The Farm Bill is the nation’s agricultural, nutrition and food policy vehicle. It provides funding for SNAP, the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program - also known as food stamps. Vermont U.S. Senator Patrick Leahy on Monday was at a community action agency to discuss his efforts to fight proposed cuts to SNAP and talk about legislation to expand incentives for businesses to donate to food banks. Tue, 03 Dec 2013 23:15:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 79080 at http://wamc.org Leahy Pushes for SNAP Funding New Yorkers Unite Against Hunger http://wamc.org/post/new-yorkers-unite-against-hunger <p>With Thanksgiving approaching, New Yorkers have been bracing for the impact of cuts to the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program. That impact may not be as severe as initially thought...</p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 17:27:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 78549 at http://wamc.org New Yorkers Unite Against Hunger AARP & Hunger Action Network Offer Food Policy & SNAP Recommendations http://wamc.org/post/aarp-hunger-action-network-offer-food-policy-snap-recommendations <p></p> Fri, 11 Oct 2013 19:00:02 +0000 Dave Lucas 75428 at http://wamc.org AARP & Hunger Action Network Offer Food Policy & SNAP Recommendations Senior Enrollment in SNAP Remains Low http://wamc.org/post/senior-enrollment-snap-remains-low <p>A recent event in Pittsfield, Massachusetts aimed to increase the number of seniors enrolled in government funded food assistance.</p> Thu, 26 Sep 2013 16:46:51 +0000 Jim Levulis 74405 at http://wamc.org Senior Enrollment in SNAP Remains Low House Bill Snips SNAP http://wamc.org/post/house-bill-snips-snap <p></p><p>47 million Americans are enrolled in SNAP, the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or "food stamps." &nbsp;Thursday, the GOP-led House passed a bill to cut spending for food stamps by $39 billion over 10 years.&nbsp;</p><p>The defeat of the 2013 Farm Bill in the House back in June came as a wakeup call to some as cuts to SNAP became a major hurdle to progress in getting Congress to bolster farm and food programs.</p><p>In July, the House approved a measure dropping nutrition programs from the farm bill. No Democrats voted in favor of the revised House bill.</p> Fri, 20 Sep 2013 19:09:02 +0000 Dave Lucas 74092 at http://wamc.org House Bill Snips SNAP