Food Stamps http://wamc.org en New Yorkers Unite Against Hunger http://wamc.org/post/new-yorkers-unite-against-hunger <p>With Thanksgiving approaching, New Yorkers have been bracing for the impact of cuts to the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program. That impact may not be as severe as initially thought...</p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 17:27:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 78549 at http://wamc.org New Yorkers Unite Against Hunger The Food Pantries And The Food Stamp Challenge http://wamc.org/post/food-pantries-and-food-stamp-challenge <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><a href="http://www.thefoodpantries.org/" style="line-height: 1.5;">The Food Pantries</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> are a dynamic network of </span>well‐stocked<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> food pantries nourishing our hungry neighbors in the Capital District. They are participating in the </span><a href="http://focuschurches.net/wp/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/Food-Stamp-Challenge-Pamphlet1.pdf" style="line-height: 1.5;">Food Stamps (SNAP) 101 and The Food Stamp Challenge</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> from November </span>4th<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> through November </span>8th<span style="line-height: 1.5;">.</span></p><p>Natasha Pernicka is the Executive Director of The Food Pantries and Marggie Skinner is the Board President. They join us to tell us more.</p><p> Fri, 01 Nov 2013 14:50:00 +0000 Joe Donahue 76842 at http://wamc.org The Food Pantries And The Food Stamp Challenge AARP & Hunger Action Network Offer Food Policy & SNAP Recommendations http://wamc.org/post/aarp-hunger-action-network-offer-food-policy-snap-recommendations <p></p> Fri, 11 Oct 2013 19:00:02 +0000 Dave Lucas 75428 at http://wamc.org AARP & Hunger Action Network Offer Food Policy & SNAP Recommendations House Bill Snips SNAP http://wamc.org/post/house-bill-snips-snap <p></p><p>47 million Americans are enrolled in SNAP, the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or "food stamps." &nbsp;Thursday, the GOP-led House passed a bill to cut spending for food stamps by $39 billion over 10 years.&nbsp;</p><p>The defeat of the 2013 Farm Bill in the House back in June came as a wakeup call to some as cuts to SNAP became a major hurdle to progress in getting Congress to bolster farm and food programs.</p><p>In July, the House approved a measure dropping nutrition programs from the farm bill. No Democrats voted in favor of the revised House bill.</p> Fri, 20 Sep 2013 19:09:02 +0000 Dave Lucas 74092 at http://wamc.org House Bill Snips SNAP Advocates Speak Out About SNAP http://wamc.org/post/advocates-speak-out-about-snap <p>Advocates for middle- and low-income families in New York are puzzled by the initiative in Congress to cut SNAP benefits. They want to save the food stamp program that keeps millions of Americans from going hungry.</p><p>This week the House will vote on a bill that would slash $40 billion from the SNAP program over a 10-year period. Advocates argue the cut would deny between 4 and 6 million people food stamps. The new legislation would also allow states to require SNAP recipients to work.</p><p></p> Tue, 17 Sep 2013 19:19:26 +0000 Dave Lucas 73807 at http://wamc.org Advocates Speak Out About SNAP CATO Report "The Work Versus Welfare Trade Off” http://wamc.org/post/cato-report-work-versus-welfare-trade <p></p><p>Social workers across New York are “rankled” by a report from the libertarian CATO Institute that says people on public assistance have little incentive to find work because they make more than they would with a minimum-wage job.</p> Tue, 03 Sep 2013 17:04:28 +0000 Dave Lucas 72768 at http://wamc.org CATO Report "The Work Versus Welfare Trade Off” New Food Hardship Data Impacts NY http://wamc.org/post/new-food-hardship-data-impacts-ny <p></p><p>"Food Hardship" is a growing problem in America.&nbsp; New data from FRAC - the Food Research and Action Center - shows 1 in 6 of us can't afford to buy enough food for ourselves or our families. Those studying FRAC's report blame the economy and say government isn't doing enough to fill a growing need.</p> Fri, 01 Mar 2013 17:06:54 +0000 Dave Lucas 58885 at http://wamc.org New Food Hardship Data Impacts NY Mayor Accepts Challenge to Live on Food Stamp Budget for a Week http://wamc.org/post/mayor-accepts-challenge-live-food-stamp-budget-week <p>This is National Hunger and Homelessness Awareness Week. Hunger-Free Vermont has challenged Vermonters to eat this week, nutritiously, on a food stamp budget.&nbsp; Among those who accepted is the mayor of Burlington and his family.<br> Tue, 13 Nov 2012 23:20:00 +0000 Pat Bradley 51940 at http://wamc.org Mayor Accepts Challenge to Live on Food Stamp Budget for a Week