Westchester County http://wamc.org en Astorino Still Considering NY Gubernatorial Run http://wamc.org/post/astorino-still-considering-ny-gubernatorial-run <p></p><p>Westchester County Executive Robert Astorino says he has yet to decide whether to challenge Gov. Andrew Cuomo, even as he criticized the governor's performance.</p><p>The Republican says he expects to make a decision on whether to run in the next 60 days. Astorino is considered by Republicans to be one of their best candidates to take on the popular Democratic governor this year.&nbsp; Astorino visited Albany on Tuesday. He says he's been traveling the state and talking to donors, but is also considering the toll a campaign would take on his family.</p> Wed, 08 Jan 2014 00:54:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 81389 at http://wamc.org Astorino Still Considering NY Gubernatorial Run Westchester Offers Help In Navigating Health Insurance Marketplace http://wamc.org/post/westchester-offers-help-navigating-health-insurance-marketplace <p>A county health department in New York&rsquo;s Hudson Valley is the latest entity to announce help for residents with the new health insurance marketplace under President Obama&rsquo;s Affordable Care Act.</p> Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:26:58 +0000 Allison Dunne 74580 at http://wamc.org Westchester Offers Help In Navigating Health Insurance Marketplace Westchester Reports First Human Case of West Nile For 2013 http://wamc.org/post/westchester-reports-first-human-case-west-nile-2013 <p>A Hudson Valley county has its first human case of West Nile Virus this year.</p> Thu, 12 Sep 2013 12:27:57 +0000 Allison Dunne 73435 at http://wamc.org Westchester Reports First Human Case of West Nile For 2013 Bronx Man Is Convicted Of Robberies In The Hudson Valley http://wamc.org/post/bronx-man-convicted-robberies-hudson-valley <p>A New York City man has been convicted of firearm and robbery offenses, including in the Hudson Valley.</p> Mon, 26 Aug 2013 01:13:04 +0000 Allison Dunne 72190 at http://wamc.org August Is Prime For Bats Getting Inside Homes http://wamc.org/post/august-prime-bats-getting-inside-homes <p>August is generally the busiest month of the year when it comes to bats making their way inside homes. This year, it’s extra busy in one Hudson Valley county, while in another, they’re seeing more residents in need of rabies treatments.</p> Tue, 20 Aug 2013 02:09:58 +0000 Allison Dunne 71762 at http://wamc.org August Is Prime For Bats Getting Inside Homes HUD Deputy Secretary Wants Westchester Fair Housing Settlement Completed http://wamc.org/post/hud-deputy-secretary-wants-westchester-fair-housing-settlement-completed <p>It is the fourth anniversary of a fair and affordable housing settlement agreement between the federal government and Westchester County. U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development&nbsp;Deputy Secretary Maurice Jones spoke with WAMC’s Hudson Valley Bureau Chief Allison Dunne about an agreement he wants to push across the finish line.</p> Mon, 19 Aug 2013 19:31:57 +0000 Allison Dunne 71737 at http://wamc.org Court Dismisses Westchester Suit Against Federal Government http://wamc.org/post/court-dismisses-westchester-suit-against-federal-government <p>WHITE PLAINS, N.Y. (AP) — Westchester County has suffered a loss in federal court in its long battle over a fair housing settlement.</p> Fri, 16 Aug 2013 11:16:00 +0000 Allison Dunne 71554 at http://wamc.org Court Dismisses Westchester Suit Against Federal Government EPA, U.S. Attorney Sue Westchester Over Drinking Water http://wamc.org/post/epa-us-attorney-sue-westchester-over-drinking-water <p>A U.S attorney and the Environmental Protection Agency are suing Westchester County.</p> Wed, 07 Aug 2013 12:39:56 +0000 Allison Dunne 70901 at http://wamc.org EPA, U.S. Attorney Sue Westchester Over Drinking Water Westchester Police To Keep Eye On Parks http://wamc.org/post/westchester-police-keep-eye-parks <p>WHITE PLAINS – In light of acts of violence in public places in recent months, the Westchester County Department of Public Safety will be keeping a close watch on the county’s parks this summer.</p><p>Public Safety Commissioner George Longworth told county lawmakers the department will keep a close watch on those recreational facilities.</p><p>“We study each incident that occurs including the Boston Marathon event and we analyze intelligence information as it comes in and we make adjustments accordingly,” he said.</p> Thu, 30 May 2013 12:26:37 +0000 Hank Gross 65908 at http://wamc.org Westchester Police To Keep Eye On Parks Judge Says No To Westchester's Injunction Request http://wamc.org/post/judge-says-no-westchesters-injunction-request <p>A federal court judge Friday denied a request from Westchester County attorneys for a temporary restraining order in relation to an affordable housing settlement.</p> Sun, 28 Apr 2013 14:40:33 +0000 Allison Dunne 63331 at http://wamc.org