The Journal News http://wamc.org en Newspaper Chain Considers, Rejects Building Gun-owner Database http://wamc.org/post/newspaper-chain-considers-rejects-building-gun-owner-database <p></p><p>The publisher of a major newspaper chain has thrown cold water on a report that it was considering building state-by-state databases of people who have the right to carry concealed firearms.</p> Sun, 26 Jan 2014 17:01:00 +0000 Dave Lucas 82569 at http://wamc.org Newspaper Chain Considers, Rejects Building Gun-owner Database Publication Sues Putnam County Over Pistol Permit Info http://wamc.org/post/publication-sues-putnam-county-over-pistol-permit-info <p>A newspaper in the Hudson Valley that at the end of last year published an online, interactive gun map with the names and addresses of legal pistol permit holders has sued the lone county that refused to hand over information.</p> Thu, 10 Oct 2013 17:42:22 +0000 Allison Dunne 75337 at http://wamc.org Publication Sues Putnam County Over Pistol Permit Info Police Have Not Linked the Burglary to the Gun Map http://wamc.org/post/police-have-not-linked-burglary-gun-map <p></p><p>WHITE PLAINS, N.Y. (AP) — A suburban New York City home that was listed on a published map of pistol-permit owners in two Hudson Valley counties has been burglarized. But police say there's no direct evidence that the map led to the crime.</p> Mon, 14 Jan 2013 22:02:19 +0000 Allison Dunne 55714 at http://wamc.org Police Have Not Linked the Burglary to the Gun Map Putnam County Officials Say No to Releasing Gun Permit Records http://wamc.org/post/putnam-county-officials-say-no-releasing-gun-permit-records <p></p><p>Officials from Putnam County, supported by two state lawmakers, came together Thursday saying they will not release the names and addresses of legal, pistol permit holders in Putnam County, despite having been presented with a Freedom of Information Law request for the information. Their decision comes after The Journal News, a lower Hudson Valley newspaper, published such information from Rockland and Westchester Counties less than two weeks ago, using an online, interactive gun map. &nbsp;The issue has since become&nbsp;highly controversial.</p><p> Thu, 03 Jan 2013 23:57:21 +0000 Allison Dunne 55033 at http://wamc.org Putnam County Officials Say No to Releasing Gun Permit Records State Lawmakers Get Ready to Discuss Gun Records and Privacy http://wamc.org/post/state-lawmakers-get-ready-discuss-gun-records-and-privacy <p>The publication of an interactive gun map online by a media group in the Hudson Valley has prompted all sorts of reaction, locally and nationally. And now some state lawmakers say they expect to be discussing the matter of public information and gun-permit holders during the 2013 legislative session in Albany.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 28 Dec 2012 00:52:49 +0000 Allison Dunne 54651 at http://wamc.org Publication of Gun Map Stirs Debate http://wamc.org/post/publication-gun-map-stirs-debate <p>A newspaper and online publication in the Hudson Valley has made headlines coast-to-coast for an interactive map it published online. That map indicates the names and addresses of all pistol permit holders in Westchester and Rockland counties, with Putnam County to come. The publication of the map has elicited outcry, and started a national discourse on many topics, ranging from privacy to safety to the public’s right to know.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 27 Dec 2012 20:01:42 +0000 Allison Dunne 54629 at http://wamc.org Publication of Gun Map Stirs Debate Robert Marchant - The Journal News http://wamc.org/post/robert-marchant-journal-news <p>It’s been three weeks since Sandy caused damage up and down the Eastern Seaboard, including extensive damage in New York City and areas just north of the city in Westchester County.</p><p>Local governments and homeowners in Westchester County are still recovering from the storm as they work to dispose of pounds upon pounds of debris. WAMC’s Patrick Donges spoke with Robert Marchant, staff reporter at <a href="http://www.lohud.com">The Journal News</a>, from their Mount Kisco office.</p> Wed, 14 Nov 2012 18:14:35 +0000 51995 at http://wamc.org